Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Juillet 2014 :

Le 28 juillet 2014

Le jardin de William

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les lettres envoyées aux êtres chers en service à l’étranger permettaient à ces derniers de rester au courant des détails de la vie quotidienne chez eux. Voici une copie d’une lettre, datée du 20 juin 1915, écrite à Winnipeg par Isaac Cowie, un agent principal retraité de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. M. Crowie avait travaillé à divers postes de traite des fourrures entre 1867 et 1890.

M. Cowie conservait des copies dactylographiées d’un grand nombre de ces lettres. Son dossier contient plusieurs lettres échangées avec divers membres de sa famille, ainsi qu’avec des amis et des collègues. Ses deux fils, William et Victor, ont tous deux servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Cette lettre particulière avait été envoyée par M. Cowie à son fils, le soldat William Cowie, déployé pendant la guerre en Angleterre avec le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. La lettre fournit des détails sur l’état du jardin de William, que la famille Cowie avait planté et entretenait pendant son absence. M. Cowie a également envoyé des nouvelles au sujet de l’intrigue politique récente au Manitoba, à savoir le scandale de corruption lié à la construction du Palais législatif. Malheureusement, M. Crowie est décédé le 18 mai 1917 et n’a pas pu voir ces deux fils revenir de la guerre.

Pour en savoir plus sur les lettres de la famille Cowie, consultez notre billet de blogue du 29 décembre 2014.

Conseil de recherche : Tapez le mot clé « Isaac Cowie » dans Keystone pour obtenir des descriptions de ces documents. Pour voir la lettre susmentionnée et d’autres documents de M. Cowie conservés dans les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, visitez les Archives du Manitoba.

Commentaires en anglais seulement (1)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

Leesa Walker — 2014-10-24

The "Mary" referred to in this letter was my great-grandmother. She was adopted by Mr. Cowied and his family while they were stationed in Fort McMurray. Have tried for some time to get more info on her birth parents without much success.

Archives response:

Thank you for the comment. You are welcome to come to the Archives Research Room to explore the Isaac Cowie records and records related to Fort McMurray in our holdings. If you have not previously consulted them, you might find these records to be interesting and useful for your research. However, we cannot say whether you will find information about your ancestor's birth parents within them.

arrow up haut de page

Le 21 juillet 2014

Au jeu!

Jusqu’à la déclaration de la Première Guerre mondiale au début du mois d’août, la vie suivait son cours normal à Winnipeg. Les gens profitaient des activités estivales typiques comme le baseball, les pique-niques, les visites entre amis au chalet et les baignades au lac. Le photographe L. B. Foote a immortalisé plusieurs scènes de ce genre à Winnipeg. Venez visiter les Archives pour découvrir une sélection de ses photographies présentées à l’exposition Chez nous : Winnipeg, 1914-1915.

Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pendant les heures normales de bureau pour découvrir l’exposition vous-même ou participez à l’une de nos visites guidées. Inscrivez-vous à la prochaine visite qui aura lieu le 20 août, à 16 h.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 14 juillet 2014

Le nouveau magasin de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à Vancouver

En 1914, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson a ouvert un nouveau magasin à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) au coin des rues Georgia et Seymour. Le magasin a été construit derrière le vieux magasin de la rue Granville. Le magasin a été agrandi dans les années ultérieures, mais voici l’apparence qu’il avait vers la fin de la construction en 1914. Les plans de construction d’autres magasins de détail de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson ont été interrompus au début de la guerre.

Conseil de recherche : Pour trouver la description de cette photographie et d’autres images ayant trait au magasin de Vancouver, faites une recherche avancée sous « Listings » dans Keystone (en anglais seulement), en tapant le mot clé « Vancouver Store » dans le champ « Keyword » et en sélectionnant « Photographs, Documentary Art and Posters » sous « Format ».

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 7 juillet 2014

Une parade militaire

Photographie : Parade militaire du 61e bataillon, Winnipeg, novembre 1915. Reconnaissez-vous cette rue?

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 2 juillet 2014

Le patriotisme « de cuisine »

Êtes-vous curieux de savoir ce que les gens cuisinaient et mangeaient il y a 100 ans, pendant la Première Guerre mondiale? Gertrude C. Code était une Winnipegoise participant activement aux efforts de guerre des femmes. Voici un document qu’elle a aidé à rédiger et qui porte sur le « Kitchen Patriotism ».

Conseil de recherche : Recherchez le « Gertrude C. Code fonds » dans Keystone (en anglais seulement) pour en savoir plus sur Mme Code et sur les documents se trouvant aux Archives du Manitoba.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

July 2014 Posts:

28 July 2014

William’s Garden

During the First World War, letters sent to loved ones serving overseas connected them to the ordinary details of life at home. Shown here is a copy of a letter, dated 20 June 1915, written in Winnipeg by Isaac Cowie who was a retired Hudson’s Bay Company chief trader. He had worked at various fur trade posts from 1867 to 1890.

Cowie kept typewritten copies of many of his outgoing letters. Cowie’s records contain inward and outward correspondence with various family members, friends and colleagues. His two sons, William and Victor, both served in the First World War. This particular letter was to his son, Private William Cowie, who was stationed with the Canadian Expeditionary Force in England during the First World War. In it, he gives an update on the state of William’s garden, which the Cowie family had planted and tended in his absence. Cowie also sends news of the latest Manitoba political intrigue, namely the corruption scandal connected to the construction of the Parliament building. Sadly, Isaac Cowie died on 18 May 1917 and did not get to see his sons return from the war.

Isaac Cowie to William Cowie, 20 June 1915. Private correspondence outward, Isaac Cowie fonds. Archives of Manitoba, Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, E.86/67.

Search Tip: Use keywords “Isaac Cowie” in Keystone to see descriptions of these records. To view this letter and Cowie’s other records at the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, visit the Archives of Manitoba.

Feedback (1)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

Leesa Walker — 2014-10-24

The "Mary" referred to in this letter was my great-grandmother. She was adopted by Mr. Cowied and his family while they were stationed in Fort McMurray. Have tried for some time to get more info on her birth parents without much success.

Archives response:

Thank you for the comment. You are welcome to come to the Archives Research Room to explore the Isaac Cowie records and records related to Fort McMurray in our holdings. If you have not previously consulted them, you might find these records to be interesting and useful for your research. However, we cannot say whether you will find information about your ancestor's birth parents within them.

arrow upback to top

21 July 2014

Play Ball!

Until the First World War was declared in early August, life in Manitoba went on as usual. People enjoyed typical summertime activities like baseball, picnics, visiting with friends at the cottage and swimming at the lake. Photographer L.B. Foote captured many such scenes in Winnipeg. Come to the Archives to take in a selection of his photographs featured in At Home: Winnipeg, 1914-1915.

Crescent [Creamery] Baseball Team, 1914

enlarge image

Crescent [Creamery] Baseball Team, 1914. Archives of Manitoba, L.B. Foote fonds, Foote 1051.

Visit the Archives of Manitoba during regular hours to explore the exhibit on your own or you can come to one of our free public tours. Sign up for the next one on August 20th at 4:00 p.m.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

14 July 2014

Vancouver’s New HBC Store

In 1914 the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) opened a new store in Vancouver, B.C. at the corner of Georgia and Seymour. It was built behind the old store on Granville Street. It was added to in subsequent years but this is what it looked like during the later stages of construction in 1914. HBC’s plans for other retail construction projects were put on hold at the start of the war.

building

enlarge image

HBC’s Vancouver Store, at the corner of Georgia and Seymour, March 1914. Archives of Manitoba,
Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Hudson’s Bay House Library photograph collection subject files.
1987/363-V-110/1-5 Vancouver Store - Georgia & Granville, item 1.

Search Tip: To find the description of this photograph and others related to the Vancouver Store, do an advanced search of listings in Keystone. Use “Vancouver Store” as your Keyword and choose “photographs, documentary art and posters” for Format.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

7 July 2014

Military Parade

Photograph: "61st Battalion in Military Parade, Winnipeg, November 1915." Do you recognize this street?

soldiers in front of Bank of Montreal building

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba photograph collection, World War I 55

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

2 July 2014

Kitchen Patriotism

Are you curious about what people were cooking and eating one hundred years ago, during the First World War? Gertrude C. Code was a Winnipeg woman involved in women’s efforts to support the war. Here’s a pamphlet she helped write on “Kitchen Patriotism.”

Women's Canadian Club “Kitchen Patriotism” pamphlet

enlarge image

Kitchen Patriotism, ca.1917, Archives of Manitoba, Gertrude C. Code fonds.

Search Tip: Search the “Gertrude C. Code fonds” in Keystone to read more about Gertrude and the records held at the Archives of Manitoba.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top