Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Septembre 2014 :

Le 29 septembre 2014

« Boys, Our Hearts Are With You »

La chanson « Boys, Our Hearts are With You » a été composée par Loreley Mills en 1916 et interprétée par les Khaki Girls of Winnipeg. La partition de musique se trouve ici, aux Archives. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les Khaki Girls ont fait partie de la Women’s Volunteer Reserve et ont joué pour les troupes postées à Camp Sewell. Une photo des Khaki Girls figure sur la couverture de la partition.

Par ailleurs, Camp Sewell a été rebaptisé Camp Hugues en 1915, et se situe à 10 km à l’ouest de Carberry, au Manitoba. Il a servi de camp d’entraînement pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, et est maintenant un lieu historique national.

Conseil de recherche : cherchez « Khaki Girls of Winnipeg » dans Keystone (en anglais seulement) pour plus de renseignements.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 22 septembre 2014

Conseil de recherche : comment utiliser la base de données Keystone pour effectuer des recherches sur la Première Guerre mondiale

Dans un article de blogue antérieur, nous avons inclus des conseils de recherche pour trouver des documents liés à la Première Guerre mondiale dans notre base de données Keystone (en anglais seulement).

Vous pouvez essayer de limiter votre recherche par mot-clé en sélectionnant des dates de guerre dans l’outil de recherche avancée pour les descriptions d’archives . Par exemple, si vous vous intéressez aux rôles des femmes pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, vous pouvez utiliser « women » comme mot-clé et indiquer « 1914-1918 » ou « 1914-1919 » dans la fourchette de dates.

Vous pouvez aussi chercher le mot-clé « war » et utiliser « 1914-1918 » ou « 1914-1919 » comme fourchette de dates dans la recherche avancée pour les descriptions d’archives . Cela vous évitera de chercher parmi tous les noms datant de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Vous pouvez utiliser la fourchette de dates dans la base de données des listes et des images . En recherchant le mot-clé « war » dans la fourchette de dates « 1914-1919 », on trouve quelques résultats intéressants. Bon nombre des dossiers obtenus sont liés à la Première Guerre mondiale, mais les résultats comprennent aussi des photos d’une lutte à la corde en 1918.

Enfin, n’oubliez pas de consulter la base de données Keystone régulièrement. Nous y entrons constamment de nouvelles descriptions et de nouvelles listes. En ce moment, nous nous concentrons sur les dossiers liés à la Première Guerre mondiale. En attendant, nous détenons d’autres dossiers que vous pouvez explorer en personne aux Archives ou sur lesquels vous pouvez nous demander des renseignements. Nous avons hâte d’avoir de vos nouvelles!

Commentaires en anglais seulement (1)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

Evelyn Le 23 septembre 2014 (en anglais seulement)

My Uncle (Charles Joseph Mckay) was in first and second world war he died in 1993 at the age of 98 yrs old, PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS Anything thanks

Archives du Manitoba (en anglais seulement)

Thank you for your question about your uncle, Charles Joseph McKay. If your uncle lived in Manitoba then it is possible that he might appear in records in our holdings; however, we do not have a master name index to check so some research would be required on your part to determine what we have about him. If you are able to come to the Archives to pursue this research, we can assist you more when you come in with records in our holdings. If you are not able to pursue the research yourself, we have suggestions for research from a distance on our website.

Official military records of people who fought in the First and Second World Wars are within federal jurisdiction and are maintained by the Library and Archives Canada in Ottawa. On their website they explain the process for obtaining copies of military service records and they have a range of online resources you can explore on the topic.

arrow up haut de page

Le 15 septembre 2014

Testaments des soldats

Les Archives du Manitoba détiennent le registre des homologations du Manitoba, y compris les testaments et les dossiers de succession des personnes décédées au Manitoba. Il arrive souvent que des personnes viennent le consulter pour trouver des renseignements sur leurs ancêtres. Le registre des homologations est également une très bonne ressource permettant d’élargir la recherche de particuliers et de familles au fil de l’histoire de la province, y compris les Manitobains ayant perdu la vie pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Voici trois pages du dossier d’homologation d’Alexander Gold. Deux d’entre elles sont des lettres informant sa mère de sa mort, écrites par le lieutenant Jack M. McEachern et le soldat William Hunter, qui se sont battus à ses côtés. La troisième est le testament de Gold collé à un bout de papier, accompagné d’un autre bout de papier montrant son écriture, et a été consigné en tant que « Pièce A » dans le dossier. Ces documents ont servi de preuves de décès pour l’homologation de son testament.

Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur les testaments des Archives du Manitoba, consultez notre Guide des registres des homologations. Il contient des index de noms pour la plupart des régions du Manitoba. Nous en rajouterons d’autres à mesure que nous les terminerons. L’index de Saint-Boniface a été ajouté en juin.

Conseil de recherche : pour plus de renseignements concernant les recherches sur les testaments du Manitoba, consultez le Guide d’utilisation des registres des homologations sur notre site Web.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 8 septembre 2014

Répercussions imprévues

On peut trouver des renseignements sur les effets de la Première Guerre mondiale de manière inattendue. Par exemple, cette lettre sur l’assurance maritime et les risques liés à la guerre, écrite par F. C. Ingrams, secrétaire de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, à H. E. Burbidge, commissaire des magasins, fait partie d’une série nommée « Correspondance avec les commissaires des magasins » datant de 1890 à 1923. La série contient principalement de la correspondance concernant la gestion et les activités des points de vente de la Compagnie, notamment des dossiers sur le personnel, les comptes de la Compagnie, les inspections des magasins et les questions foncières. Il était pourtant peu probable que l’on trouve une lettre traitant de la décision de s’assurer contre les risques qu’engendre la guerre dans cette série. Cela permet de rappeler que lorsque vous faites des recherches sur les impacts de la guerre, il vous faudra peut-être élargir vos stratégies de recherche.

Conseil de recherche : cherchez « Correspondence with Stores Comissionners » dans Keystone (en anglais seulement) pour plus de renseignements.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 2 septembre 2014

La réponse à l’appel de la mère patrie

Cette affiche panoramique illustre « l’armée canadienne quittant le port pour se joindre aux forces britanniques contre l’Allemagne pendant la Grande Guerre ». Elle faisait partie d’un supplément du Family Herald and Weekly Star de Montréal, au Canada, en octobre 1914. L’affiche mesure environ 110 cm sur 30 cm et a été offerte aux Archives par Mme William Sandy, de Winnipeg, peu avant 1975. La reproduction ici présente a été créée à partir d’un négatif en noir et blanc.

Conseil de recherche : cherchez « Canada’s Rally to the Empire » dans Keystone (en anglais seulement) pour plus de renseignements.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

September 2014 Posts:

29 September 2014

“Boys, Our Hearts Are With You”

The song "Boys, Our Hearts Are With You" was composed by Loreley Mills in 1916 and performed by the Khaki Girls of Winnipeg. The sheet music is here at the Archives. During the First World War the Khaki Girls performed for troops stationed at Camp Sewell as part of the Women's Volunteer Reserve. The Khaki Girls are pictured on the cover of the sheet music.

Incidentally, Camp Sewell was re-named Camp Hughes in 1915 and is located 10 km west of Carberry, MB. It served as a training camp during the First World War and is now a national historic site.

Archives of Manitoba, “Boys, Our Hearts Are With You” by the Khaki Girls of Winnipeg

Search Tip:  Search “Khaki Girls of Winnipeg” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

22 September 2014

Search Tip: How to use the Keystone database for First World War research

In an earlier blog post, we included search tips for finding records related to the First World War in our Keystone database.

You can try limiting a keyword search by the dates of the war in the advanced search for archival descriptions. For example, if you’re interested in women’s roles during the First World War, you could use “women” as a keyword and insert “1914-1918” or “1914-1919” in the date range.

You could search the keyword “war” and use “1914-1918” or “1914-1919” as the date range in the advanced search for archival descriptions. This would save you from searching all the different names for the First World War.

You can use the date range in the listings/images database. A search for the keyword “war” and the date range “1914-1919” provides some interesting results. Many of these records relate to the First World War, but the results also include photographs of a tug of war in 1918.

Finally, don’t forget to search the Keystone database regularly. We’re constantly entering more descriptions and listings. Right now we’re focusing on records related to the First World War. Until that work is done, there are more records in our holdings which you can explore in person at the Archives or can contact us about. We look forward to seeing and/or hearing from you!

Feedback (1)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

Evelyn September 23, 2014

My Uncle (Charles Joseph Mckay) was in first and second world war he died in 1993 at the age of 98 yrs old, PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS Anything thanks

Archives of Manitoba

Thank you for your question about your uncle, Charles Joseph McKay. If your uncle lived in Manitoba then it is possible that he might appear in records in our holdings; however, we do not have a master name index to check so some research would be required on your part to determine what we have about him. If you are able to come to the Archives to pursue this research, we can assist you more when you come in with records in our holdings. If you are not able to pursue the research yourself, we have suggestions for research from a distance on our website.

Official military records of people who fought in the First and Second World Wars are within federal jurisdiction and are maintained by the Library and Archives Canada in Ottawa. On their website they explain the process for obtaining copies of military service records and they have a range of online resources you can explore on the topic.

arrow upback to top

15 September 2014

Soldiers’ wills

The Archives of Manitoba holds Manitoba probate records, including wills and estate files for individuals who died in Manitoba. They are often consulted by family members looking for information about their ancestors. Probate records are also a great resource for broader research of individuals and families over the course of Manitoba’s history, including Manitobans killed in the First World War.

Shown here are three pages from the probate file for Alexander Gold. Two are letters written to his mother telling her of his death, from Lieutenant Jack M. McEachern and from Private William Hunter who fought alongside him. The other is Gold’s will, glued to a piece of paper, together with another piece of paper showing his handwriting, submitted as ‘exhibit A’ in the file. These documents were used as proof of his death in the process of probating his will.

Archives of Manitoba, ATG 0064A, St. Boniface estate files, GR0461, File 843, Alexander Gold.

If you are interested in finding out more about wills at the Archives of Manitoba, have a look at our Guide to Probate Records. Included are name indexes for most regions in Manitoba – more will come as they are completed. The index for St. Boniface was added in June.

Search Tip:  See the Guide to Probate Records on our website for more information on researching wills in Manitoba.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

8 September 2014

Unanticipated impacts

Information about the impacts of the First World War can be found in unanticipated places. For instance, this letter about marine insurance and war risks from Hudson’s Bay Company Secretary F. C. Ingrams to Stores Commissioner, H. E. Burbidge, is part of a series called “Correspondence with Stores Commissioners” dated 1890-1923. Most of the series is made up of correspondence concerning the management and operations of HBC saleshops, including files on staffing, store accounts, store inspections, and land matters. One might not expect to find a letter outlining the decision to insure against risks incidental to war in a place like this. This is a good reminder that when researching the impacts of the war, you might want to be broad in your research strategies.

Letter from  F. C. Ingrams, Secretary, to Herbert E. Burbidge, Stores Commissioner

enlarge image

Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba, Correspondence with Stores Commissioners. F. C. Ingrams to H.E. Burbidge, 14 August 1914 (HBCA. A.12-S 520-1 folio 31)

Search Tip: Search “Correspondence with Stores Commissioners” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

2 September 2014

Answering the Call of the Motherland

This panoramic poster depicts the “Canadian army setting sail to join British forces operating against Germany in the War of Nations.” It was part of a supplement to The Family Herald and the Weekly Star, Montreal, Canada in October, 1914. The poster is approximately 1.1 m x 30 cm and was donated to the Archives by Mrs. William Sandy of Winnipeg, sometime before 1975. The reproduction shown here was created from a black and white negative.

poster with illustration of Canadian military ships

enlarge image full-size image

Archives of Manitoba, “Canada’s Rally to the Empire,” N9077.

Search Tip:  Search “Canada’s Rally to the Empire” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top