Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Décembre 2014 :

Le 29 décembre 2014

Nouvelles du front

À Noël, pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les familles  pensent à leurs êtres chers qui accomplissent leur mission outremer dans les forces armées. Ils envoient des lettres, des cartes et des colis, et les soldats, en retour, envoient des lettres et des cartes à leurs proches au Manitoba. Le fonds Isaac Cowie fait partie des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson et comprend la correspondance entre Isaac et son fils Billy (parfois nommé Bill, Billy Boy ou Willy). Voici une lettre du 30 décembre 1915 écrite par Billy à son père et la réponse de celui-ci le 25 janvier 1916.

La lettre de Billy est difficile à lire à cause des fautes de grammaire et d'orthographe. Il commence sa lettre ainsi : « Dear Dad » « Just a wee note to let you know that I am well… » et informe son père du temps qu'il fait par ces mots : « offell [sic] here and it is cold too. » Billy remercie ensuite son père et d'autres membres de la famille au sujet du contenu d'un colis envoyé récemment (il contient des cigarettes, un mouchoir, du gâteau, des chaussettes et du tabac).

Dans sa réponse, le père parle du temps qu'il fait ainsi que de membres de la famille, vivant à Winnipeg et en Angleterre, dont Billy a demandé des nouvelles. Il termine en mentionnant le Free Press et en disant qu'ils le lisent chaque jour pour avoir des nouvelles de Billy et de son bataillon. « there is a list of the Canadian casualties every morning in the paper, which we look at the first thing before breakfast and are relieved to see that your name is not there. »

Remarque : dans la lettre du 25 janvier 1916, des notes manuscrites à la marge renvoient à certains éléments de la lettre. Ces notes ne sont pas datées, mais nous pensons qu'il s'agit de renseignements complémentaires ajoutés ultérieurement par un membre de la famille, avant le don des lettres aux Archives.

Pour en savoir plus sur les lettres de la famille Cowie, consultez notre billet de blogue du 28 juillet 2014.

Conseil de recherche : afin de lire d'autres lettres d'Isaac et William Cowie, rendez-vous à la salle de recherche des Archives. On peut trouver la description du fonds Isaac Cowie dans Keystone en cherchant à l'aide des mots clés « Isaac Cowie. »

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 22 décembre 2014

Noël sur le front

Les Archives du Manitoba possèdent de nombreuses collections de lettres écrites par des soldats au front. Ces lettres étaient envoyées aux familles, aux amis et aux amies de cœur restés au Manitoba. Les lettres écrites à Noël traduisent souvent le mal du pays ressenti par les soldats et décrivent la façon dont Noël se passe dans les tranchées.

Dick Richardson, de Grenfell, en Saskatchewan, a écrit à son amie Edna Chapman, de Ninga, au Manitoba. Tous deux étudiaient au Manitoba Agricultural College. On voit ici deux pages de la lettre écrite par Dick à Edna le 2 janvier 1917. Elles mentionnent les « vœux » de Noël échangés avec des soldats allemands. Il s'agit du dernier Noël de Dick, qui est tué sur la crête de Vimy quelques mois plus tard.

Dick écrit :

Christmas Day was spent much the same as any other with me for I was in the trenches then, except that Fritz and we exchanged greetings in so friendly a manner that would have opened the eyes of peaceful Canadians. I don’t think it would do to go into detail.

Conseil de recherche : Cherchez « Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds » dans Keystone pour trouver d'autres renseignements sur Edna et Dick et pour consulter les images numérisées de ces documents.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 15 décembre 2014

Quel cadeau! 50 000 sacs de  farine de blé de force no 1 du Manitoba

En septembre 1914, le gouvernement du Manitoba fait don de 50 000 sacs de blé du Manitoba au gouvernement impérial afin de contribuer à l'effort de guerre en fournissant de la nourriture à la Grande-Bretagne. Cette farine est constituée de blé de force no 1 du Manitoba.

Les Archives du Manitoba possèdent un souvenir de ce don, sous la forme d'un sac de farine qui fait partie de la collection Ethel Hart. Née en Angleterre vers 1878, Ethel Hart immigre au Manitoba vers 1912 et gère le magasin général de Griswold, au Manitoba, avant de déménager à Winnipeg où elle décède en 1967. Son intéressante collection, qui comprend le sac de farine, des photographies de Griswold et des environs – y compris la réserve autochtone voisine – ainsi que plusieurs objets liés à T. C. Norris, premier ministre du Manitoba de 1915 à 1922, a été donnée aux Archives par Ethel Hart en 1966 et par sa succession en 1967.

Conseil de recherche : cherchez « Manitoba flour sack » ou « Ethel Hart » dans Keystone pour en savoir plus.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 8 décembre 2014

À la croisée des chemins

En 1914, lorsque la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson commence son « commerce de guerre » en Europe, certains responsables de la compagnie se mettent à réévaluer le fonctionnement traditionnel du commerce des fourrures. Confrontés à l'arrêt de la vente de fourrure en Europe à cause de la guerre, ils commencent à réfléchir avec plus d'attention au marché nord-américain de la fourrure. Bientôt, des plans visant l'organisation de ventes aux enchères de fourrure aux États-Unis sont élaborés, afin de réduire les frais d'expédition.

Les réactions sont mitigées durant cette période de transition et de restructuration. On voit ici une lettre du 3 octobre 1914, envoyée par Norman H. Bacon, le commissaire chargé du commerce des fourrures (Fur Trade Commissioner) de la compagnie, au président du comité canadien (Canadian Committee). Convaincu que les consommateurs nord-américains ne s'intéressent guère à la fourrure, il juge que les ventes aux enchères à New York ont peu de chances de réussir ( « cannot see much prospect of success »).

Deux ans plus tard, son opinion est tout autre. Dans une lettre qu'il envoie au gouverneur de la Compagnie, M. Kindersley, en 1916, Norman Bacon déclare que la valeur des exportations vers les États-Unis est maintenant cinq à six fois plus élevée que celle des exportations vers la Grande-Bretagne (« five to six times in value to those taken by Great Britain ») et que le fait de ne pas s'adapter à la situation est très dommageable pour la compagnie (« certainly putting the company at an enormous disadvantage »)

Conseil de recherche : pour trouver de la correspondance connexe, cherchez Keystone « General Correspondence re Fur Trade Commissioner. »

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Le 1er décembre 2014

Sur le front intérieur : que se passe-t-il avec le service de tramways de Winnipeg?

La Grande Guerre apporte des changements dans la vie de nombreux Manitobains, voire de toute la population. Des documents conservés aux Archives du Manitoba illustrent un grand nombre de ces changements. Par exemple, la correspondance des soldats, lesquels, tout en accomplissant leur mission outremer, n'en restent pas moins des fils, des frères et des maris. D'autres documents montrent que de nombreuses activités quotidiennes continuent de se dérouler au Canada. Les enfants se rendent à l'école et les adultes au travail. Les municipalités, les villes, les villages et le gouvernement du Manitoba continuent à fonctionner et à offrir d'importants services.

La Manitoba Public Utilities Commission, créée en 1912, poursuit ses activités pendant toute la durée de la Première Guerre mondiale. La commission réglemente les activités des services publics au Manitoba, y compris le télégraphe, le téléphone, les chemins de fer ou les tramways, l'eau, le gaz, le chauffage, l'éclairage ou l'énergie, ainsi que les élévateurs à grains. Les recueils de procès-verbaux, les carnets de commandes et les rapports de la commission illustrent bien les activités de celle-ci.

Les domaines dont relèvent ces documents ont beau être obsolètes — par exemple, les tramways ont disparu des rues de Winnipeg depuis 1955 —, un grand nombre des problèmes dont on discutait à l'époque demeurent très proches des réalités des Manitobains en 2014. Lisez ces procès-verbaux de mars 1915 au sujet des tramways à Winnipeg. Les usagers des transports en commun y retrouveront sans aucun doute des thèmes familiers!

Conseil de recherche : cherchez « Public Utilities Commission » dans Keystone pour trouver d'autres documents.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

arrow up haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

December 2014 Posts:

29 December 2014

Just a wee note…

At Christmas time during the First World War, families would have been thinking of their loved ones who were overseas serving in the armed forces. They sent letters, cards and parcels and the soldiers sent letters and cards home in return. The Isaac Cowie fonds are found in the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives and include correspondence between Isaac and his son Billy (sometimes called Bill, Billy Boy or Willy). Included here are a letter dated 30 December 1915 from Billy to his father and the response dated 25 January 1916 from his father.

Billy’s letter is difficult to read due to his grammar and spelling levels. He starts his letter to “Dear Dad” with “Just a wee note to let you know that I am well…” and informs his father that the weather is “offell [sic] here and it is cold too.” He goes on to thank his father and other family members for items sent recently in a parcel (cigarettes, handkerchief, cake, socks and tobacco case).

Archives of Manitoba, Hudson’s Bay Company Archives.
Isaac Cowie fonds. Letter from William Cowie to Isaac Cowie, 30 December 1915 (E.86/69).

His father’s response comments on the weather as well as family members in both Winnipeg and England that Billy had asked about both. Lastly, he mentions the Free Press and how they check it every day for new of Billy or his battalion, “there is a list of the Canadian casualties every morning in the paper, which we look at the first thing before breakfast and are relieved to see that your name is not there.”

Note: On the 25 January 1916 letter there are handwritten notes in the margin pointing to details in the letter. These notes are undated but we believe they were added by a family member later as additional information sometime before they were donated to the Archives.

Letter from  Isaac Cowie to William Cowie, 25 January 1916

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba, Hudson’s Bay Company Archives.
Isaac Cowie fonds. Letter from Isaac Cowie to William Cowie, 25 January 1916 (E.86/67).

To read more about the Cowie family letters, read our blog post from 28 July 2014.

Search Tip: To read more of Isaac and William Cowie’s letters, come to the Archives Research Room. The description of the Isaac Cowie fonds can be found in Keystone for by searching with keywords “Isaac Cowie.”

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

22 December 2014

Christmas at the Front

The Archives of Manitoba has many collections of letters written by soldiers at the front. Letters were sent home to families, friends and sweethearts in Manitoba. Letters written at Christmastime often give a sense of homesickness as well as a description of what Christmas was like in the trenches.

Dick Richardson, of Grenfell, Saskatchewan, wrote to his friend Edna Chapman, from Ninga, Manitoba, a fellow student at the Manitoba Agricultural College. Shown here are two pages from Dick’s letter to Edna written on January 2, 1917 and referring to Christmas Day “greetings” with German soldiers. This would be Dick’s last Christmas as he was killed at Vimy Ridge a few months later.

Dick writes:

“Christmas Day was spent much the same as any other with me for I was in the trenches then, except that Fritz and we exchanged greetings in so friendly a manner that would have opened the eyes of peaceful Canadians. I don’t think it would do to go into detail.”

Archives of Manitoba, Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds,
Letter from Dick Robinson to Edna Chapman, January 2, 1917, P6011a.

Search Tip: Search “Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds” in Keystone for more information about Edna, Dick and to view the digitized images of these records.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

15 December 2014

What a gift! 50,000 bags of Manitoba No. 1 hard wheat flour

In September 1914 the Manitoba Government offered a gift of 50,000 bags of Manitoba flour to the Imperial Government to help with the war effort by providing food to Britain. The flour was made from Manitoba No.1 hard wheat.

The Archives of Manitoba holds a souvenir flour sack representing this gift, as part of the Ethel Hart collection. Ethel Hart was born in England ca. 1878, immigrated to Manitoba ca. 1912 and operated the general store in Griswold, Manitoba before moving to Winnipeg where she died in 1967. Her interesting collection was given to the Archives by Ethel Hart in 1966 and from her estate in 1967. It includes:

  • the flour sack
  • photographs of Griswold and area including the nearby Aboriginal reserve
  • several items related to T. C. Norris (the Premier of Manitoba from 1915-1922 who was originally from Griswold, Manitoba)
flour sack labelled '1914, Manitoba's War Gift to Imperial Government, 50,000 Bags No 1 Flour, made from Manitoba Hard Wheat, 98 lbs, Canada'

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba, Ethel Hart collection,
Souvenir flour sack representing the 50,000 bags of flour made from Manitoba hard wheat
presented as Manitoba's war gift to the Imperial Government, D311/2.

Search Tip: Search “Manitoba flour sack” or “Ethel Hart” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

8 December 2014

At a Crossroads

In 1914, at the launch of Hudson Bay Company’s wartime business in Europe, some people within the company were beginning to re-evaluate its long-time fur trade operations. Faced with a halting of fur sales in Europe due to war, these individuals began to consider the North American fur market more seriously. Plans were soon made to organize fur auctions in the United States to reduce freight and shipping costs.

Reactions during this time of transition and re-structuring were mixed. Shown here is a letter from the company’s Fur Trade Commissioner Norman H. Bacon to the chair of the Canadian Committee dated 3 October 1914. Convinced that North Americans had little interest in buying furs, Bacon warns that auctions in New York “cannot see much prospect of success”.

Excerpted pages from Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba.
Sir Augustus Nanton’s correspondence, General correspondence re Fur Trade Commissioner
(RG2/2/2, folios 43-43d)

Two years later, his position is completely reversed. In a letter to Hudson’s Bay Company’s Governor Kindersley in 1916, Bacon reports that exports to the United States are now “five to six times in value to those taken by Great Britain” and that a failure to adapt to the situation was “certainly putting the company at an enormous disadvantage”.

Excerpted pages from Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba.
Sir Augustus Nanton’s correspondence, General correspondence re Fur Trade Commissioner
(RG2/2/2, folios 146-150)

Search Tip: To find related correspondence, search Keystone for “General Correspondence re Fur Trade Commissioner.”

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top

1 December 2014

On the Home Front: What’s Up with the Winnipeg Streetcar Service?

The Great War brought changes to the lives of many, if not all, Manitobans. Records held at the Archives of Manitoba document many of those changes, for example, the letters sent to and from soldiers — sons, brothers and husbands — serving overseas. Other records demonstrate that many everyday activities continued at home. People went to school and to work; municipalities, towns, cities and the province of Manitoba continued to operate and offer important services.

The Manitoba Public Utilities Commission, established in 1912, continued its work throughout the First World War. The commission regulated public utilities in Manitoba including telegraph, telephone, railway or tramway transportation, water, gas, heat, light or power, and grain elevators. The commission’s minute books, order books and reports provide a clear picture of the commission’s work.

While the subject matter in the records is somewhat different from today — there haven’t been any streetcars in Winnipeg since 1955 – many of the problems discussed are very familiar to Manitobans in 2014. Read these minutes from March 1915 about streetcars in Winnipeg. Transit users will, no doubt, recognize some of the issues discussed!

document, Public Utilities Commission minute book no. 1

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba, PUB 0020, GR11890, Public Utilities Commission minute book no. 1, 1912–1922.

Search Tip: Search the “Public Utilities Commission” in Keystone to find more of their records.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

arrow upback to top