Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Octobre 2015 :

Le 26 octobre 2015

Compte à rebours pour le 100e anniversaire du droit de vote des femmes : Acte constitutif de la Political Equality League, 1914

Dans notre entrée de blogue du 23 février 2015, nous avons parlé du recueil des procès-verbaux de la Political Equality League. Dans le cadre de la poursuite du compte à rebours pour le 100e anniversaire du droit de vote des femmes au Manitoba, nous présentons maintenant l’acte constitutif de la League de 1914.

La Political Equality League a été fondée à Winnipeg en 1912 pour faire campagne en faveur du droit de vote des femmes au Manitoba. Ses membres éminents comprenaient Lillian Beynon Thomas et Alfred Vernon Thomas, Dre Mary Crawford, F. J. Dixon et Winona Dixon (née Flett), E. Cora Hind, Nellie McClung, Francis Marion Beynon, Dre Amelia Yeomans et Anne Anderson Perry.

L’acte constitutif de 1914 établit le nom officiel de la League (« The Political Equality League of Manitoba »), ses objectifs, ses dirigeants, ses comités, ses membres, les droits d’adhésion, les réunions et l’affiliation (la League reconnaissait l’importance d’établir des filiales).

L’acte constitutif de la League énonce quatre objectifs :

  • « to unite all those in sympathy with the movement to gain political equality for the women of Manitoba »
  • « to disseminate knowledge with regard to the legal status of women under present conditions »
  • « to stimulate public opinion, by all lawful means, to the point of demanding political equality for women » et
  • « to promote the organization of affiliated Leagues. »

Pour en savoir plus sur « Compte à rebours avant le 100e anniversaire du suffrage des femmes » consultez nos billets de blogue du 26 janvier 2015, du 23 février 2015, du 19 mai 2015, du 22 juin 2015, du 14 septembre 2015, et du 13 octobre 2015.

Conseil de recherche : Saisissez « Political Equality League » dans Keystone pour en savoir plus.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 19 octobre 2015

L’assemblée générale de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et la Croix de Victoria

Dans son discours à l’assemblée générale (appelée « general court ») des administrateurs de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson du 2 août 1916, le gouverneur R. M. Kindersley faisait état de tous les secteurs d’activité de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, notamment la traite de fourrure, les terres et les magasins. Comme c’était le cas avec tous les rapports présentés pendant les années de guerre, il soulignait les répercussions de la guerre sur les activités de la Compagnie sur le plan financier et personnel. Toutefois, dans ce rapport, il s’est brièvement écarté du sujet pour mentionner un employé du Stores Department qui s’était enrôlé.

Daniel Gardiner, âgé de 20 ans, travaillait comme garçon d’ascenseur au magasin de Calgary. Il a reçu la Croix de Victoria avant de succomber aux blessures qu’il a subies au moment de réaliser l’acte de bravoure qui lui a valu cette distinction. Comme il est indiqué dans le rapport, les personnes présentes à l’assemblée générale ont pris un moment pour applaudir le jeune homme.

Conseil de recherche : Vous pouvez vous rendre aux Archives pour lire les procès-verbaux des assemblées générales annuelles de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Pour les trouver, faites une recherche dans le catalogue de la bibliothèque des HBCA en saisissant « Report of the Governor and Committee of the Hudson’s Bay Company to the shareholders ».

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 13 octobre 2015

Compte à rebours pour le 100e anniversaire du droit de vote des femmes : « How the Vote Was Won »

Les femmes et les hommes du Manitoba ont travaillé pendant de nombreuses années pour l’obtention du droit de vote des femmes. Comme il a été mentionné dans des billets de blogue précédents, la longue campagne comprenait des réunions, des collectes de signatures pour des pétitions et la rédaction de lettres. En janvier 1914, les membres de la Political Equality League ont adopté une approche différente et ont mis en scène une pièce satirique intitulée « How the Vote Was Won » au Walker Theatre de Winnipeg (maintenant le Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts). Cette pièce a connu un franc succès et a été reprise en avril 1914, toujours au Walker Theatre. La pièce d’avril comprenait « A Women’s Parliament », qui mettait en vedette plus de 50 femmes éminentes de Winnipeg, et le Assiniboine Male Quartette, qui chantait des chansons liées au suffrage. Le prix des billets allait de 0,25 $ pour un siège au balcon jusqu’à 1 $ pour un siège dans une loge ou dans la fosse.

La publicité pour le spectacle du 16 avril 1914 (ci-dessous) est tirée d’un programme du Walker Theatre qui fait partie de la collection Nathan Arkin aux Archives du Manitoba. Nathan Arkin était un homme d’affaires de Winnipeg qui travaillait à préserver et à promouvoir l’histoire canadienne. Sa collection compte aussi beaucoup d’autres programmes du Walker Theatre ainsi que des programmes d’événements tenus par la Manitoba Music Teachers Association, le Winnipeg Orchestral Club, la Winnipeg Oratorio Society, la Philharmonic Society et la Celebrity Concert Series.

Pour en savoir plus sur « Compte à rebours avant le 100e anniversaire du suffrage des femmes » consultez nos billets de blogue du 26 janvier 2015, du 23 février 2015, du 19 mai 2015, du 22 juin 2015, et du 14 septembre 2015.

Conseil de recherche : Saisissez « Nathan Arkin » ou « Walker Theatre » dans Keystone pour en savoir plus.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 5 octobre 2015

L'effort de guerre du Manitoba prend son envol

Le 4 octobre 1915, le gouvernement du Manitoba a rendu un décret en conseil autorisant le trésorier provincial à acheter un « aeroplane » prêt au combat, destiné à l’Imperial Government’s Royal Air Corps. Le gouvernement a affecté une somme entre douze et quinze mille dollars à ce projet, et a recommandé que l’avion soit piloté par George C. Mills, un pilote manitobain qui avait reçu un entraînement en vol au camp Curtiss Aviation, à San Diego, en Californie.

Ci-dessous se trouve une copie de la demande officielle faite par le trésorier provincial pour l’achat de l’aéronef, et le décret en conseil original autorisant l’achat.

Conseil de recherche : Saisissez « Orders-in-Council » dans Keystone pour en savoir plus sur ces documents.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

October 2015 Posts:

26 October 2015

Counting Down to the 100th Anniversary of Women's Suffrage: The Political Equality League Constitution, 1914

In our blog post of 23 February 2015, we featured the minute book of the Political Equality League. As we continue the countdown to the 100th anniversary of women’s suffrage in Manitoba, we are presenting the League’s constitution from 1914.

The Political Equality League was founded in Winnipeg in 1912 to campaign for women’s suffrage in Manitoba. Prominent members included Lillian Beynon Thomas and Alfred Vernon Thomas, Dr. Mary Crawford, F. J. Dixon and Winona Dixon (nee Flett), E. Cora Hind, Nellie McClung, Francis Marion Beynon, Dr. Amelia Yeomans and Anne Anderson Perry.

The 1914 constitution sets out the League’s official name (“The Political Equality League of Manitoba”), its objectives, officers, committees, membership, dues, meetings and affiliation (the League recognized the importance of establishing branches).

The League’s constitution outlines four objectives:

  • “to unite all those in sympathy with the movement to gain political equality for the women of Manitoba”;
  • “to disseminate knowledge with regard to the legal status of women under present conditions”;
  • “to stimulate public opinion, by all lawful means, to the point of demanding political equality for women”; and
  • “to promote the organization of affiliated Leagues.”
cover of The Political Equality League of Manitoba Constitution 1914

enlarge (2 images)

Page 2 and page 3 of The Political Equality League of Manitoba 1914 Constitution booklet. Page 3 outlines the objectives of the League.

enlarge (5 images)

Archives of Manitoba, Political Equality League of Manitoba fonds, Constitution, P192/3.

The Political Equality League, and other organizations and individuals, worked hard throughout 1914 and 1915 to reach these goals and, in January 1916, Manitoba women were the first in Canada to get the vote.

See previous posts about “Counting Down to the 100th Anniversary of Women’s Suffrage” from 26 January 2015, 23 February 2015, 19 May 2015, 22 June 2015, 14 September 2015, and 13 October 2015.

Search Tip: Search “Political Equality League” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

19 October 2015

Hudson's Bay Company’s General Court and the Victoria Cross

In Governor R.M. Kindersley’s speech to the general court of the directors of the Hudson’s Bay Company, dated August 2, 1916, he reported on all the areas of business for the Hudson’s Bay Company, including fur trade, land, and saleshops. Like all the reports given during the war years, he stressed the impact that war had on the company’s business in terms of finances and personnel. In this report, however, he deviates briefly from the business at hand to mention a Stores Department employee who enlisted.

Daniel Gardiner, age 20, had worked as an elevator operator at the Calgary store. He received the Victoria Cross before succumbing to wounds received while performing his act of bravery that earned him the decoration. As noted in the report, those in attendance at the general court took a moment to applaud the young man.

photo of a page in HBC minutes book

enlarge image

Minutes of the annual general court of HBC directors and shareholders, 2 August 1916.
HBCA Library Call Number: FC 3207.1 R4/ra 1904-16

Search Tip: You can come to the Archives to read the minutes of the HBC’s annual general courts. To find them, search the HBCA Library Catalogue for “Report of the Governor and Committee of the Hudson’s Bay Company to the shareholders”.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

13 October 2015

Counting Down to the 100th Anniversary of Women's Suffrage: “How the Vote Was Won”

Manitoba women and men worked for many years to get the vote for women. As discussed in earlier blog posts, the long campaign included holding meetings, collecting signatures for petitions and letter writing. In January 1914 members of the Political Equality League took a different tack and staged a satirical production called “How the Vote Was Won” at Winnipeg’s Walker Theatre (now the Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts). It was very successful and was restaged in April 1914, also at the Walker. The April production included “A Women’s Parliament” featuring over fifty “prominent” Winnipeg women and the Assiniboine Male Quartette singing suffrage songs. Ticket prices ranged from 25 cents in the gallery to $1.00 in a box or the orchestra section.

The advertisement for the 16 April 1914 show (pictured below) is taken from a Walker Theatre program which is part of the Nathan Arkin collection at the Archives of Manitoba. Nathan Arkin was a Winnipeg businessman who worked to preserve and promote Canadian history. His collection also contains many other Walker Theatre programs as well as programs of events held by the Manitoba Music Teachers Association, the Winnipeg Orchestral Club, the Winnipeg Oratorio Society, the Winnipeg Philharmonic Society and the Celebrity Concert Series.

photo of cover of Walker Theatre program and advertisement for events at the Walker Theatre

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba, Nathan Arkin collection, Walker Theatre program 1914, P7543/1.

See previous posts about “Counting Down to the 100th Anniversary of Women’s Suffrage” from 26 January 2015, 23 February 2015, 19 May 2015, 22 June 2015, and 14 September 2015.

Search Tip: Search “Nathan Arkin” or “Walker Theatre” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

5 October 2015

Manitoba's War Effort Takes Flight

On October 4, 1915, the Manitoba government issued an Order-in-Council authorizing the provincial treasurer to purchase a combat-ready “aeroplane” for supply to the Imperial Government’s Royal Air Corps. The government allotted a sum between twelve and fifteen thousand dollars to the project, and made a recommendation that the plane be flown by a Manitoba pilot, George C. Mills, who had received flight training at the Curtiss Aviation camp in San Diego, California.

Shown below is a copy of the official request made by the provincial treasurer to purchase the aircraft, and the original Order-in-Council authorizing the purchase.

typed letter from Edward Brown, Provincial Treasurer, to His Honour the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council requesting the Government of Manitoba purchase an areoplane of the type required and recommending George Mills to be the Aviator in Charge

enlarge image

handwritten Order-in-Council authorizing the purchase of the areoplane and recommendation of George Mills to be the Aviator in Charge, signed by T.C. Norris

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba, EC 0003A, Orders-in-Council, GR1530, Order-in-Council #24834, 1915, G881.

Search Tip: Search “Orders-in-Council” in Keystone for more information on these records.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top