Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Novembre 2015 :

Le 30 novembre 2015

Découvrir le navire Discovery

Pendant et après la Première Guerre mondiale, le navire d’exploration polaire de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, le Discovery, a joint la flotte de centaines de bâtiments de la Compagnie qui servait à acquérir et à transporter des marchandises d’un pays allié à l’autre. Il avait été construit pour se frayer un chemin dans les eaux glacées de l’océan Arctique, mais pendant la guerre, sa mission était bien différente.

Voici un exemple de document sur les « steamer movements » (déplacements de navire à vapeur) des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Il contient des renseignements sur un voyage du Discovery à destination de Rotterdam, Pays-Bas au printemps 1919. Dans la section « cargaison », il est inscrit… bacon! 2 426 caisses de bacon pour être exact.

Conseil de recherche : Utilisez le mot-clé « Discovery » dans la banque de données Keystone pour lire les descriptions de documents qui portent sur ce navire et rendez-vous à la salle de lecture des Archives du Manitoba pour consulter les histoires des navires des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 23 novembre 2015

Outils de recherche des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson – Histoires de navires

Aux Archives du Manitoba, nous vous offrons un éventail « d’outils de recherche » pour vous aider à trouver des documents et des renseignements, y compris des documents qui portent sur les navires de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Les histoires des navires ont été rédigées par le personnel des Archives il y a de nombreuses années. Elles fournissent une courte présentation du navire qui comprend une description physique, l’histoire du navire, les zones et les périodes de service et le nom des capitaines. Elles offrent également un résumé d’une partie des documents afférents dans nos fonds d’archives.

L’exemple ci-dessous est l’histoire du navire Discovery, un navire à propulsion mécanique à trois-mâts. Conçu à l’origine pour résister aux rigueurs de l’exploration polaire, le Discovery a eu une existence unique pleine de rebondissements. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, le navire a joint la flotte marchande de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et a ravitaillé les gouvernements alliés en vivres et en matériel. Il participera plus tard à la célèbre expédition de Shackleton et sera utilisé dans le cadre de recherches scientifiques dans les mers du Sud.

Parmi les documents dans nos fonds d’archives qui renferment des renseignements sur les années de service du Discovery dans la flotte de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, on retrouve, entre autres, des journaux de bord, des listes d’équipage, des lettres et des photographies.

Conseil de recherche : Utilisez le mot-clé « Discovery » dans la banque de données Keystone pour lire les descriptions de documents qui portent sur ce navire et rendez-vous à la salle de lecture des Archives du Manitoba pour consulter les histoires des navires des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 16 novembre 2015

Nellie McClung « … cette femme extraordinaire de l’Ouest… »

Il est intéressant de noter qu’alors que la guerre faisait rage sur le front occidental, les femmes du Manitoba luttaient pour obtenir le droit de vote. Aux Archives du Manitoba, nous nous sommes demandé quelle pouvait être l’opinion des soldats sur le mouvement des suffragettes. Par conséquent, nous avons examiné des lettres personnelles de soldats écrites en décembre 2015 et au début de 1916. Nous n’avons trouvé aucune référence précise concernant l’obtention du droit de vote par les femmes en 1916, mais nous avons trouvé deux lettres de soldats où l’on mentionnait Nellie McClung. Ces mentions pourraient témoigner de la grande attention accordée à la fois à Mme McClung et au mouvement pour le suffrage des femmes à l’époque au Manitoba.

Dans une lettre du 13 janvier 1916 à son amie Edna Chapman, Dick Richardson écrivait qu’il avait entendu dire que « one of Mrs. Nellie McClung’s sons » serait bientôt envoyé en Angleterre avec la 5th Universities Company. (Ces lettres rappellent également les liens étroits entre les évènements de l’époque : les suffragettes avaient des fils à la guerre.)

Entre temps, Edgar Russenholt, déployé au camp Bramshott, en Angleterre, dans une lettre du 30 décembre 1915 à sa sœur, décrivait en termes élogieux cette dernière et Nellie McClung :

« Your [sic] working too hard. As for your life being useless to anyone I think you are right now doing one of the greatest works possible for any person – on a par with Mrs. McClung. I mean it. I’ve never seen or heard that greatest of all Western women, but I am convinced that my sister is possessed of equal ability, every time. »

Conseil de recherche : Saisissez « Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds » ou « Edgar S. Russenholt fonds » dans la banque de données Keystone pour en savoir plus sur ces deux collections. Toutes les lettres (écrites par Dick Richardson) du fonds Edna M. Chapman Robson ont été numérisées et peuvent être consultées dans Keystone.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 9 novembre 2015

Souvenirs de la Première Guerre mondiale aux Archives du Manitoba

Les Archives du Manitoba poursuivent leurs efforts de mise en valeur des archives datant de la Première Guerre mondiale, soit de 1914 à 1918. Nous vous invitons, au cours des jours qui précèdent le jour du Souvenir, à en apprendre davantage sur la guerre et ceux qui y ont participé.

  • Faites une recherche dans l’index. Les Archives du Manitoba ont créé un index électronique de 1 092 soldats manitobains tués durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Cet index a été créé à partir d’une série de fiches établies par le gouvernement du Manitoba afin de documenter les pertes humaines subies par le Manitoba pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. L’index original a été fait pendant et après la guerre, mais il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive. Par conséquent, l’index électronique n’est pas non plus une liste complète des Manitobains tués pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. (Lisez l’article du 29 juin de notre blogue pour en savoir plus sur l’index.)
  • Lisez quelques lettres. Les Archives ont numérisé trois collections de lettres de soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale. Saisissez dans la banque de données Keystone « Battershill family fonds », « Jack Winter Quelch fonds » et « Edna Chapman Robson fonds », et cliquez sur « digital copies » pour trouver les lettres. (Lisez l’article du 13 juillet de notre blogue pour en savoir plus.)
  • Assistez à notre lecture publique. Nous organisons une activité le mardi 10 novembre à 19 h à la salle de lecture des Archives du Manitoba. La veille du jour du Souvenir, nous présenterons une lecture de lettres originales écrites par des soldats manitobains qui ont combattu durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Ces lettres proviennent des collections d’Archives du Manitoba.
Affiche pour une activité La Première Guerre mondiale dans les Lettres

agrandir l'image

Affiche lit :

Please join us at the Archives of Manitoba for The First World War in Letters. The Archives is hosting an event featuring the reading of letters from the First World War. These letters were written by Manitoba soldiers and are from the collections of the Archives of Manitoba.

When: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 7:00 pm.

Where: Archives Research Room, Archives of Manitoba, 200 Vaughan Street, Winnipeg

Refreshments will be served.

Email for details: gpsa@gov.mb.ca. Follow us on Twitter: @MBGovArchives

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 2 novembre 2015

« The First World War in Letters » : une activité offerte au public aux Archives du Manitoba (en anglais seulement)

« I cannot think of anything to write about that does not in one way or another swing round to the great sorrowful war. There is not a gleam of hope in sight but perhaps we have walked so long in darkness that we have ceased to look for the dawn. »

Frank Leathers, le 29 novembre 1917 (Archives du Manitoba, Frank Leathers fonds, P2992/7)

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous pour une activité destinée au public le 10 novembre 2015 à 19 h à la salle de lecture des Archives du Manitoba! La veille du jour du Souvenir, nous présenterons une lecture de lettres originales écrites par des soldats manitobains qui ont combattu durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Ces lettres proviennent des collections d’Archives du Manitoba.

Affiche pour une activité La Première Guerre mondiale dans les Lettres

agrandir l'image

Affiche lit :

Please join us at the Archives of Manitoba for The First World War in Letters. The Archives is hosting an event featuring the reading of letters from the First World War. These letters were written by Manitoba soldiers and are from the collections of the Archives of Manitoba.

When: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 7:00 pm.

Where: Archives Research Room, Archives of Manitoba, 200 Vaughan Street, Winnipeg

Refreshments will be served.

Email for details: gpsa@gov.mb.ca. Follow us on Twitter: @MBGovArchives

Pendant la guerre, les lettres échangées avec le front étaient la principale forme de communication entre les soldats et leurs familles et amis chez eux. Les soldats écrivaient des lettres depuis les tranchées, les lits d’hôpitaux et les casernes d’entraînement. Ils écrivaient à leur mère et à leur père, à leurs frères et sœurs, à leurs amis et à leurs bien-aimés.

Beaucoup de collections de lettres de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale ont été données aux Archives du Manitoba. Ces lettres constituent des témoignages percutants qui conservent les pensées et les émotions de soldats durant la guerre.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

November 2015 Posts:

30 November 2015

Discovering the Discovery

During the First World War and after, HBC's polar explorer, the Discovery, joined HBC's fleet of hundreds of ships to carry out its business as purchaser and transporter of supplies to and from Allied governments. It had originally been built to plough through ice-laden waters in the Arctic but during the war, it served a very different purpose.

photo of Discovery ship sailing in icy waters

enlarge image

Hudson's Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba.
Hudson's Bay House Library photograph collection subject files,
Photo of Discovery, 1987/363-D-15-4.

Here is an example of a “steamer movements” record from the holdings of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. The record documents a voyage of the Discovery to Rotterdam, the Netherlands, in Spring of 1919. Listed under cargo is… bacon! 2426 cases to be exact.

photo of a voyage record for the ship Discovery, dated August 2, 1919. Pages shows information about inward and outward telegrams and letters, charter parties and extracts sent, cargo listing, and an overview of the steamer's movements
enlarge image
   full size

Excerpted page from the Hudson's Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba,
Movements Department voyage record, C-D, 1918-1921, HBCA RG22/11/4.

Search Tip: Use keyword “Discovery” in Keystone to see descriptions of records about the ship and come to the Archives of Manitoba Research Room to access HBCA ships history information sheets.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

23 November 2015

HBCA Search Tools – Ships Histories

We have a variety of “search tools” at the Archives of Manitoba to help you find records and information, including records related to Hudson’s Bay Company ships. Ships’ histories were created by archives staff many years ago. They provide a brief overview of the ship, including a physical description, history, area of service, years of operation and names of masters. They also provide a snapshot of some (but not all) related records in our holdings.

The example below is a ships history for the three-masted steamer Discovery. Originally designed to withstand the rigors of polar exploration, the Discovery also came to have a unique and colourful history. During the First World War, the ship joined HBC’s merchant fleet and served overseas, transporting goods and supplies to Allied governments. It would later participate in Shackleton’s famed expedition and be used for scientific research in the South Seas.

Records in our holdings which document the Discovery’s service to HBC include ship logs, crew lists, correspondence, photographs and more.

ship history information sheet for Discovery

enlarge image

HBCA ship history information sheet for Discovery.

Search Tip: Use keyword “Discovery” in Keystone to see descriptions of records about the ship and come to the Archives of Manitoba Research Room to access HBCA ships’ histories.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

16 November 2015

Nellie McClung “…that greatest of all Western women…”

It is notable that at the same time that war was raging on the Western Front, women in Manitoba were campaigning for the right to vote. Here at the Archives, we wondered what soldiers might have thought about the suffrage movement, so we had a look at soldiers’ personal letters written in December 1915 and early 1916. We didn’t find any specific reference to women winning the vote in 1916, but we did find two different soldiers’ letters in which Nellie McClung was mentioned. This is perhaps a testament to the profile of both McClung and the women’s suffrage movement in Manitoba at the time.

In a letter dated 13 January 1916 to his friend Edna Chapman, Dick Richardson wrote that he had heard that “one of Mrs. Nellie McClung’s sons” would soon be shipped to England as part of the 5th Universities Company. (This is also a reminder of how inter-connected the events of the day were: suffragists were also sending their sons to war.)

Letter from Dick Richardson to Edna Chapman, January 12, 1916

enlarge image

Archives of Manitoba, Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds,
Letter from Dick Richardson to Edna Chapman, January 12, 1916, P6011A/2.

Meanwhile, stationed at Bramshott Camp in England, in a 30 December 1915 letter to his sister, Edgar Russenholt wrote glowingly of both Nellie McClung and his sister:

“Your [sic] working too hard. As for your life being useless to anyone I think you are right now doing one of the greatest works possible for any person – on a par with Mrs. McClung. I mean it. I’ve never seen or heard that greatest of all Western women, but I am convinced that my sister is possessed of equal ability, every time.”

Excerpt of letter from Edgar Russenholt telling his sister she is on par with Nellie McClung

excerpt from pages 7-8

Letter from Edgar Russenholt to his sister

entire letter (10 images)

Archives of Manitoba, Edgar S. Russenholt fonds, Edgar Russenholt correspondence, 1915, P2828/3.

Search Tip: Search “Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds” or “Edgar S. Russenholt fonds” in Keystone for more information about these two collections. All of the letters (written by Dick Richardson) in the Edna M. Chapman Robson fonds have been digitized and can be read through Keystone.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

9 November 2015

Remembering the First World War at the Archives of Manitoba

The Archives continues its efforts to highlight records created during the time of the First World War, 1914-1918. Leading up to this Remembrance Day, we invite you to you learn more about the war and those who were involved.

  • Search our index. The Archives of Manitoba has created an electronic index of 1092 of the Manitoba soldiers killed in the First World War. This index was generated from a series of index cards created by the Government of Manitoba for the purpose of documenting Manitoba casualties of the First World War. The original index was made during and after the war but was not a complete record. As a result, this electronic index is also not a complete list of Manitobans killed in the First World War. (Read our June 29 blog for more about the index.)
  • Read some letters. The Archives has digitized 3 collections of letters from First World War soldiers. Search Keystone for the Battershill family fonds, the Jack Winter Quelch fonds and the Edna Chapman Robson fonds and click “digital copies” to find the letters. (Read our July 13 blog for more details.)
  • Attend our public reading. We are hosting an event on Tuesday, November 10 at 7 pm in the Archives Research Room. On the eve of Remembrance Day, we will feature readings from original letters written by Manitoban soldiers who served in the First World War. These letters are from the collections of the Archives of Manitoba.
poster for First World War in Letters event

enlarge image

The First World War in Letters: A reading of letters from Manitoba soldiers

Poster reads:

Please join us at the Archives of Manitoba for The First World War in Letters. The Archives is hosting an event featuring the reading of letters from the First World War. These letters were written by Manitoba soldiers and are from the collections of the Archives of Manitoba.

When: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 7:00 pm.

Where: Archives Research Room, Archives of Manitoba, 200 Vaughan Street, Winnipeg

Refreshments will be served.

Email for details: gpsa@gov.mb.ca. Follow us on Twitter: @MBGovArchives

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

2 November 2015

The First World War in Letters: A Public Event at the Archives

“I cannot think of anything to write about that does not in one way or another swing round to the great sorrowful war. There is not a gleam of hope in sight but perhaps we have walked so long in darkness that we have ceased to look for the dawn.”

Frank Leathers, November 29, 1917 (Archives of Manitoba, Frank Leathers fonds, P2992/7)

Please join us at the Archives for a public event on November 10, 2015 at 7 pm in the Archives Research Room! On the eve of Remembrance Day, we will feature readings from original letters written by Manitoban soldiers who served in the First World War. These letters are from the collections of the Archives of Manitoba.

poster for First World War in Letters event

enlarge image

The First World War in Letters: A reading of letters from Manitoba soldiers

Poster reads:

Please join us at the Archives of Manitoba for The First World War in Letters. The Archives is hosting an event featuring the reading of letters from the First World War. These letters were written by Manitoba soldiers and are from the collections of the Archives of Manitoba.

When: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 7:00 pm.

Where: Archives Research Room, Archives of Manitoba, 200 Vaughan Street, Winnipeg

Refreshments will be served.

Email for details: gpsa@gov.mb.ca. Follow us on Twitter: @MBGovArchives

During the war, letters sent to and from the front were the main form of communication between soldiers and their families and friends back home. Soldiers wrote letters from the trenches, from hospital beds and from training barracks. They wrote to mothers and fathers, sisters and brothers, friends and sweethearts.

Many collections of letters from the First World War have been donated to the Archives of Manitoba. These letters are a powerful record of individual soldiers, recording their thoughts and feelings during the war.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top