Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Mars 2017 :

Le 30 mars 2017

Le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy : cartes des tranchées

Les Archives du Manitoba ont une petite collection de cartes des tranchées de la Première Guerre mondiale qui fait partie de la collection de cartes des Archives du Manitoba (« map collection » en anglais seulement). Ces cartes ont été données aux Archives en 1982 par la Société des alcools du Manitoba. On ignore comment ces cartes se sont retrouvées en sa possession, mais nous sommes certes heureux de les avoir aux Archives.

Les cartes des tranchées sont une précieuse source de documentation sur l’évolution de la guerre. Elles montrent le déplacement de la position de la ligne de front et de son réseau de tranchées ainsi que les noms donnés aux tranchées et autres points de repère.

Ces cartes de la zone entourant Vimy montrent plusieurs points de repère et tranchées avec des noms canadiens. La carte ci-dessous intitulée « Canada Road » indique un chemin Winnipeg et un chemin Brandon.


agrandir
   l'image dans sa taille

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
“Canada Road” trench map of the area around Avion, Mericourt and Sallaumines, 1917, MD4-3 Map 5.


agrandir
   l'image dans sa taille

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
“France” trench map, 1917,
MD4-3 Map 8.

Il est intéressant de noter que les couleurs utilisées pour signaler les tranchées allemandes et britanniques ont changé au début de 1918. Les tranchées britanniques qui étaient bleues sont devenues rouges (comme dans les deux premières cartes au-dessus), tandis que les allemandes qui étaient rouges sont devenues bleues. Un avertissement de ce changement figure sur la quatrième carte ci-dessous :

« NOTE CHANGE OF COLOUR British Trenches RED German Trenches BLUE. »


agrandir
   l'image dans sa taille

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
“Vimy” trench map, 1917,
MD4-4 Map 1.


agrandir
   l'image dans sa taille

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
[Map of area around Arras France]
“Edition 10 e (Local)”, 1918,
MD4-4 Map 5.

Ces cartes illustrant la zone autour de la crête de Vimy ont été dessinées après la bataille de la crête de Vimy, certaines à l’automne 1917 et une en 1918. Des soldats canadiens les avaient peut-être emportées sur les lignes de front.

Conseil de recherche : Pour trouver des cartes supplémentaires, cherchez « trench map » dans la collection de cartes de la base de données Keystone des Archives du Manitoba.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 27 mars 2017

Un soldat du Manitoba : une carte postale pour maman

La correspondance de cette semaine ne comprend qu’une carte postale en service actif (aussi appelée carte postale whiz bang) envoyée par George à sa mère le 30 mars 1917. George utilise la carte postale pour dire qu’il va bien et qu’il a reçu une lettre et un colis.

La carte a été estampillée à East Kildonan le 30 avril, treize jours après la mort de George en France. (George a été blessé à la crête de Vimy et est mort de ses blessures le 17 avril 1917. Les blogues du mois prochain contiennent plus de détails à ce sujet.)

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les cartes postales whiz bang dans notre blogue du 8 juin 2015.

Avant de la whizbang du 30 mars 1917 Retour de la whizbang du 30 mars 1917
agrandir (2 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Field Service Post Card from George Battershill,
March 30, 1917,
#872, P7471/5.

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, cherchez « Battershill family fonds » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Toutes les lettres de George Battershill ont été numérisées. Vous pouvez les lire à partir de la base de données (si vous n’avez pas la patience d’attendre semaine après semaine!).

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 23 mars 2017

Le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy : le journal d’un soldat

Les journaux personnels des soldats sont d’excellents comptes rendus de la guerre. Dans un journal, un soldat pouvait écrire abondamment sur ce qu’il voyait et faisait au front. Le Manitobain George Henry Hambley a tenu un journal détaillé pendant toute sa participation à la Première Guerre mondiale. (Hambley était cavalier dans le Canadian Light Horse et a servi en France, en Belgique et en Allemagne, combattant dans les batailles d’Ypres, de Mons, de Cambrai et de la crête de Vimy. Lisez notre blogue du 22 avril 2015 pour en savoir davantage.)

Hambley consigne son expérience de la guerre avec beaucoup de détails dans son journal, non seulement en mots mais avec des dessins, photographies, poèmes, chansons et cartes. Dans son troisième journal (sur les treize qu’il a écrits pendant la Première Guerre mondiale), il note ses expériences juste avant et durant la bataille de la crête de Vimy, il y a presque 100 ans.

Hambley n’a pas combattu à cheval dans la bataille, ayant été affecté temporairement à une brigade de mitrailleurs.

Le 29 mars 1917, il écrit :

« Have been doing some practising at carrying cases of cartridges – Each box weighs 100 lbs and they are giving us what they call a ‘tump line’ to carry them with so far we have only been in for practise and it is tough work, a strap on the head. »

Le 6 avril :

« The six of us volunteered – Wadams Yates Bohney Thompson Jorgenson and myself to come up here and are put on the guns one man to each machine gun »

Le dimanche 8 avril, veille du début de la bataille:

« We again worked on the gun pits the Borden’s Battery had in 8 guns – I am No. 4 man on No. 2 gun. »

Le 9 avril, premier jour de la bataille, Hambley note :

« Monday morning exactly at 5:30 the bombardment started in earnest – every gun at once and the effect was most wonderful – Fritzes’ line was being blown in all directions and in a few minutes over came enormous strings of Fritzes with gestures of putting up their hands – our boys crowded to meet them and one young fellow I saw had his helmet snatched from his head before he even got near our trenches – for a souvenir. After an hours terrific pounding we opened up with the machine guns – the barrage lifted to farther back on the lines of trenches and our boys came streaming across the top mostly in a leisurely happy humour – possibly due to their rum. We could see thousands of men as far as eye would reach on the rolling ground all headed in one directions walking leisurely enough with their rifles slung on their shoulders and their long hungry looking bayonets protruding above their heads. »

Hambley a continué de tenir un journal pendant le reste de la Première Guerre mondiale et la plus grande partie du vingtième siècle jusqu’à sa mort en 1983. Vous pouvez les lire dans la salle de lecture des Archives. Nous exposerons également le troisième journal d’Hambley à la cérémonie soulignant le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy le 12 avril 2017. 

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, cherchez « George Hambley » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 20 mars 2017

Un soldat du Manitoba : « Remember me to anybody that I know »

Dans la lettre de cette semaine à sa mère, George dit qu’ils ont quitté la ville et sont « on the move again ». Il lui dit que l’argent qu’elle a envoyé a été très apprécié :

« those Franc notes you send come in handy + help to keep starvation away from the door. »

C’est la dernière lettre de la collection adressée à la mère de George et elle a été écrite quelques semaines avant sa mort. (Il y a deux cartes postales en service actif adressées à sa mère, envoyées après cette lettre).

Il termine la lettre en disant :

« Remember me to anybody that I know + don’t forget lots of parcels eats + sox. »

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, cherchez « Battershill family fonds » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Toutes les lettres de George Battershill ont été numérisées. Vous pouvez les lire à partir de la base de données (si vous n’avez pas la patience d’attendre semaine après semaine!).

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 15 mars 2017

Les Manitobains à la bataille de la crête de Vimy

Le 100e anniversaire de la bataille de la crête de Vimy est le mois prochain, du 9 au 12 avril. La bataille de la crête de Vimy a été une grande victoire pour le Canada. C’était la première fois que les quatre divisions du Corps canadien combattaient ensemble comme une seule unité. De nombreux Manitobains ont pris part à la bataille; beaucoup y sont morts. Divers documents d’archives, y compris lettres, journaux personnels, photographies et cartes, nous donnent des descriptions variées, personnelles, de la bataille.

Nous vous invitons à en apprendre davantage sur cette bataille dans les mots de quelques Manitobains qui y étaient.

  • Depuis un an, ce blogue présente des lettres envoyées à sa famille par le simple soldat George Battershill, d’East Kildonan. George Battershill a été blessé le premier jour de la bataille de Vimy et est mort de ses blessures le 17 avril 1917. Le blogue consiste en billets hebdomadaires présentant les lettres qu’il a écrites chaque semaine il y a 100 ans. Les blogues des prochaines semaines présenteront ses dernières lettres à sa famille, puis les lettres écrites par les membres de sa famille après sa mort.
  • Nous avons d’autres collections de lettres écrites par des soldats. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements dans notre base de données Keystone. Vous pouvez consulter ces documents dans notre salle de lecture.
    • Charles et Herb Francis étaient deux frères qui ont servi pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Vous trouverez leurs lettres dans le fonds Sarah Margaret Francis.
    • Avant d’être présentateur météo, Ed Russenholt a combattu à Vimy, où il a écrit des lettres à sa famille. Vous les trouverez dans le fonds Edgar S. Russenholt.
    • Stanley Bowen a écrit des lettres à sa fiancée. Vous les trouverez dans le fonds Stanley Bowen.
  • Nous avons également des journaux personnels de soldats sur leur expérience à Vimy. Vous pouvez aussi consulter ces documents dans notre salle de lecture.
    • Clarence Boswell a servi dans les Winnipeg Rifles et est devenu avocat à Winnipeg après son retour de la guerre. Vous trouverez son journal de 1917 dans le fonds Clarence Montague Boswell.
    • Robert Dennistoun, lui aussi avocat, était stationné en Angleterre pendant les événements de Vimy et son journal contient ses observations sur la bataille vue de là. Vous trouverez son journal de 1917 dans le fonds Robert Maxwell Dennistoun.
    • Le révérend George Hambley a été un auteur prolifique de journaux personnels, remplissant ses carnets de dessins et documents éphémères. Vous trouverez son journal de 1917 dans le fonds George Henry Hambley.

Les Archives du Manitoba mettront en vedette ces documents et d’autres reliés à Vimy à une cérémonie soulignant le 100e anniversaire de cette bataille en avril. Consultez ce blogue ou notre compte Twitter (@MBGovArchives) pour avoir plus de détails!

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, cherchez « Vimy » pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les documents connexes.

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 13 mars 2017

Un soldat du Manitoba : lettre ouverte par le censeur

Cette semaine, nous n’avons qu’une seule lettre écrite par George à sa mère. L’enveloppe dans laquelle elle a été envoyée l’accompagne et, comme bien d’autres, elle porte un collant indiquant qu’elle a été ouverte par le censeur.

On remettait aux soldats ces enveloppes vertes qui comprenaient la déclaration suivante que devait signer l’expéditeur : « I certify on my honour that the contents of this envelope refer to nothing but private and family matters. » Les enveloppes vertes n’étaient pas soumises à la censure du régiment du soldat, mais pouvaient être ouvertes plus tard dans leur acheminement.

Dans cette lettre, George écrit à sa mère qu’il est encore dans la ville française où il se trouve depuis quelques semaines. Il s’attend à ce qu’ils soient déplacés sous peu. Il est fort possible que George participe alors aux préparatifs de la crête de Vimy. 

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, cherchez « Battershill family fonds » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Toutes les lettres de George Battershill ont été numérisées. Vous pouvez les lire à partir de la base de données (si vous n’avez pas la patience d’attendre semaine après semaine!).

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 6 mars 2017

Un soldat du Manitoba : le 20e anniversaire de George

Cette semaine, la correspondance de George Battershill comprend deux lettres à sa mère et deux à son père. La dernière des quatre lettres a été écrite à sa mère par George le 10 mars, jour de son 20e anniversaire.

Il écrit :

« Just a line to let you know that I did not forget that the 10th is my birthday – and I received your most welcome letter of Feb 15, + the money came in handy. Well Mother this is the first birthday away from home + I hope it is the last. I am fed up with this damn war + everybody in general. » 

« I am not writing very much now because it is such a treat to get away from the line for awhile that a fellow nearly goes crazy. … It is nearly a year since I left home, the 27th of this mon., + it seems just like 10 years. »

la 6 mars 1916 lettre avec 1 page et une enveloppe
agrandir (4 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Letter from George Battershill,
March 6, 1917,
#849-851A, P7471/5.

la 6 mars 1916 lettre avec 3 pages
agrandir (3 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Letter from George Battershill,
March 6, 1917,
#852-854, P7471/5.

la 7 mars 1916 lettre avec 3 pages
agrandir (3 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Letter from George Battershill,
March 7, 1917,
#855-857, P7471/5.

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, cherchez « Battershill family fonds » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Toutes les lettres de George Battershill ont été numérisées. Vous pouvez les lire à partir de la base de données (si vous n’avez pas la patience d’attendre semaine après semaine!).

Commentaires (0)

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

From April 2016 to April 2017, this blog will feature the First World War letters of one Manitoba soldier, George Battershill, of East Kildonan. Most of the letters were written to his mother or to his father. The blog will follow the letters that George wrote in the same week, one hundred years ago.

March 2017 Posts:

30 March 2016

100th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge: Trench maps

The Archives of Manitoba has a small collection of trench maps from the First World War which are part of our Archives of Manitoba map collection. These particular maps were donated to the Archives in 1982 by the Manitoba Liquor Control Commission. We do not know how these maps came to be in their possession, but we are glad to have them at the Archives.

Trench maps are an interesting source for documenting the changing face of the war. They show the shifting position of the front line and the associated military trenches. They also show the names given to trenches and other landmarks.

These maps from the area surrounding Vimy show several landmarks and trenches with Canadian names. The Canada Road map below includes both a Winnipeg Road and a Brandon Road.


enlarge
   full size

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
“Canada Road” trench map of the area around Avion, Mericourt and Sallaumines, 1917, MD4-3 Map 5.


enlarge
   full size

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
“France” trench map, 1917,
MD4-3 Map 8.

It is interesting to note that the colours used for the German and British trenches was changed early in 1918. The British trenches were blue and then became red (as in the first two maps above); while the German trenches went from red to blue. Warning of this change is noted on the 4th map below:

“NOTE CHANGE OF COLOUR British Trenches RED German Trenches BLUE.”


enlarge
   full size

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
“Vimy” trench map, 1917,
MD4-4 Map 1.


enlarge
   full size

Archives of Manitoba,
Archives of Manitoba map collection,
[Map of area around Arras France]
“Edition 10 e (Local)”, 1918,
MD4-4 Map 5.

These maps show the area around Vimy Ridge but they were drawn after the Battle of Vimy Ridge, some in the fall of 1917 and one in 1918. They may have been carried by Canadian soldiers to the front lines.

Search Tip: Search the “trench map” in the Archives of Manitoba map collection in Keystone to find additional maps.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

27 March 2016

One Manitoba Soldier: A postcard for Mother

This week’s letters include only a field service postcard (also known as a whiz bang postcard) sent by George to his mother on March 30, 1917. George uses the postcard to indicate that he is well and has received both a letter and a parcel.

The postcard is postmarked in East Kildonan on April 30, thirteen days after George died in France. (George was injured at Vimy Ridge and died of his wounds on April 17, 1917. Read more in next month’s blog posts.)

Find out more about whiz bang postcards in our 8 June 2015 blog post.

front of whizbang from March 30, 1917 back of whizbang from March 30, 1917
enlarge (2 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Field Service Post Card from George Battershill,
March 30, 1917,
#872, P7471/5.

Search Tip: Search the Battershill family fonds in Keystone for more information. All of the George Battershill letters have been digitized and can be read from the database (if you can’t wait for the weekly installments!).

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

23 March 2016

100th Anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge: A soldier's diary

Soldiers’ diaries are excellent records of wartime. In a diary a soldier could write extensively about what he saw and did at the Front. Manitoban George Henry Hambley kept a detailed diary throughout his participation in the First World War. (Hambley was a trooper in the Canadian Light Horse who served in France, Belgium, and Germany, fighting in the battles of Ypres, Mons, Cambrai, and Vimy Ridge. Read more in our blog post from 22 April 2015.)

Hambley documents his experience of the war in great detail in his diaries, not just in words but with drawings, photographs, poems, songs and maps. In his third diary (of thirteen that he wrote during the First World War) he records his experiences leading up to and during the Battle of Vimy Ridge, almost 100 years ago.

Hambley was dismounted from his horse for the battle and temporarily assigned to a Machine Gun brigade.

On 29 March 1917 he writes:

“Have been doing some practising at carrying cases of cartridges – Each box weighs 100 lbs and they are giving us what they call a ‘tump line’ to carry them with so far we have only been in for practise and it is tough work, a strap on the head.”

On 6 April:

“The six of us volunteered – Wadams Yates Bohney Thompson Jorgenson and myself to come up here and are put on the guns one man to each machine gun”

On Sunday 8 April, the night before the battle started:

“We again worked on the gun pits the Borden’s Battery had in 8 guns – I am No. 4 man on No. 2 gun.”

On 9 April, the first day of the battle, Hambley recorded:

“Monday morning exactly at 5:30 the bombardment started in earnest – every gun at once and the effect was most wonderful – Fritzes’ line was being blown in all directions and in a few minutes over came enormous strings of Fritzes with gestures of putting up their hands – our boys crowded to meet them and one young fellow I saw had his helmet snatched from his head before he even got near our trenches – for a souvenir. After an hours terrific pounding we opened up with the machine guns – the barrage lifted to farther back on the lines of trenches and our boys came streaming across the top mostly in a leisurely happy humour – possibly due to their rum. We could see thousands of men as far as eye would reach on the rolling ground all headed in one directions walking leisurely enough with their rifles slung on their shoulders and their long hungry looking bayonets protruding above their heads.”

Hambley continued to write in his diaries for the rest of the First World War and most of the twentieth century until his death in 1983. These can be read in the Archives Research Room. We will also be displaying Hambley’s third diary at our event to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Vimy Ridge on 12 April 2017.

Search Tip: Search “George Hambley” in Keystone for more information.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

20 March 2016

One Manitoba Soldier: “Remember me to anybody that I know”

In this week’s letter to his mother, George reports that they have left the town and are “on the move again”. He tells her that the money she sent was much appreciated:

“those Franc notes you send come in handy + help to keep starvation away from the door.”

This is the last letter in the collection addressed to George’s mother and it was written a few weeks before his death. (There are two field service postcards addressed to his mother, sent after this letter).

He ends the letter by saying:

“Remember me to anybody that I know + don’t forget lots of parcels eats + sox.”

Search Tip: Search the Battershill family fonds in Keystone for more information. All of the George Battershill letters have been digitized and can be read from the database (if you can’t wait for the weekly installments!).

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

15 March 2016

Manitobans at the Battle of Vimy Ridge

The 100th anniversary of the Battle of Vimy Ridge is next month, April 9-12. The Battle of Vimy Ridge represented a major victory for Canada. It was the first time that all four divisions of the Canadian Corps fought together as a unit. Many Manitobans fought in the battle; many died there. Archival records — including letters, diaries, photographs and maps — give us varied, personal accounts of the battle.

We invite you to you learn more about the battle through the words of some Manitobans who were there.

  • For the last year, this blog has been featuring letters sent home by Private George Battershill of East Kildonan. George Battershill was injured on the first day of battle at Vimy, and died of his wounds on April 17, 1917. The blog consists of weekly posts featuring the letters he wrote 100 years ago each week. The coming weeks’ blogs will feature his last letters home and then letters written by family members after his death.
  • We have other collections of letters written by soldiers. Find more information in our Keystone database. These records can be viewed in our Research Room.
  • We also have diaries and journals from soldiers documenting their Vimy experiences. These records can also be viewed in our Research Room.
    • Clarence Boswell served with the Winnipeg Rifles and returned home to be a lawyer in Winnipeg. Find his journal from 1917 in the Clarence Montague Boswell fonds.
    • Robert Dennistoun, also a lawyer, was stationed in England during the events at Vimy and his journal documents his observations from there. Find his journal from 1917 in the Robert Maxwell Dennistoun family fonds.
    • Rev. George Hambley was a prolific journal writer, filling his notebooks with drawings and ephemera. Find his journal from 1917 in the George Henry Hambley fonds.

The Archives of Manitoba will be featuring these and other records related to Vimy at an event commemorating the 100th Anniversary this April. Watch this blog or our twitter account (@MBGovArchives) for further details!

Search Tip: Search “Vimy” in Keystone to find more information about related records.

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

13 March 2016

One Manitoba Soldier: Opened by censor

This week includes just one letter written by George to his mother. Together with the letter is the envelope it was sent in. Like many, it has a sticker on it indicating that it was opened by the censor.

The green envelopes were given to soldiers and included a declaration that the sender needed to sign indicating “I certify on my honour that the contents of this envelope refer to nothing but private and family matters.” Green envelopes were not subject to the censorship by the soldier’s regiment but could be opened further up the line.

In this letter, George writes to his mother that he continues to stay in the French town where he’s been for a few weeks. He expects that they may be moved out soon. It is quite possible that George is participating in preparations for Vimy Ridge at this time.

Search Tip: Search the Battershill family fonds in Keystone for more information. All of the George Battershill letters have been digitized and can be read from the database (if you can’t wait for the weekly installments!).

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

6 March 2016

One Manitoba Soldier: George's 20th birthday

This week’s letters from George Battershill, include two written to his mother and two to his father. The last of the four letters was written to George’s mother on March 10th, his 20th birthday.

He writes:

 “Just a line to let you know that I did not forget that the 10th is my birthday – and I received your most welcome letter of Feb 15, + the money came in handy. Well Mother this is the first birthday away from home + I hope it is the last. I am fed up with this damn war + everybody in general.”

“I am not writing very much now because it is such a treat to get away from the line for awhile that a fellow nearly goes crazy. … It is nearly a year since I left home, the 27th of this mon., + it seems just like 10 years.”

March 6, 1917 letter with 2 pages and an envelope
enlarge (4 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Letter from George Battershill,
March 6, 1917,
#849-851A, P7471/5.

March 6, 1917 letter with 3 pages
enlarge (3 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Letter from George Battershill,
March 6, 1917,
#852-854, P7471/5.

March 7, 1917 letter with 3 pages
enlarge (3 images)

Archives of Manitoba,
Battershill family fonds,
Letter from George Battershill,
March 7, 1917,
#855-857, P7471/5.

Search Tip: Search the Battershill family fonds in Keystone for more information. All of the George Battershill letters have been digitized and can be read from the database (if you can’t wait for the weekly installments!).

Feedback (0)

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top