Manitoba Government News Release:
Information Services, Room 29, Legislative Building, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0V8 Telephone: (204) 
945-3746 Fax: (204) 945-3988

April 13, 1999




- - -

Government Appoints

Ukraine Advisory Committee

To build and strengthen future relations between Manitoba and Ukraine, Manitoba Premier Gary Filmon today announced the formation of a Manitoba/Ukraine Secretariat.

The secretariat will be responsible for developing and implementing strategies and action plans related to a 1997 Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between Manitoba and Ukraine. The secretariat will also monitor developments in the Ukraine economy.

"Since our province signed the MOU, we have forged a strong relationship with Ukraine," said the premier. "We have worked hard to identify business, community and social opportunities between Ukraine and our province, and this latest step will assist us even further."

The Manitoba/Ukraine MOU has identified 11 priority sectors where future co-operation and development can be pursued: economic development; energy; construction and infrastructure; agriculture; sustainable development and environment; science and technology; tourism; transportation; education; culture and sports; and public administration.

Rural Development Minister Len Derkach, minister responsible for the MOU, has also appointed a number of prominent Manitobans to a new advisory committee. The committee will assist and advise in the implementation of priorities identified in the MOU. Members will serve a two- year term.

"The advisory committee will provide a strong voice for our province and our Ukrainian community," said Derkach. "As Ukraine continues toward a free market economy, our private and public sectors are prepared to assist during the transition."

- 30 -





Olga Fuga CM

Dr. Lou Melosky CM

Committee members:

Lesia Szwaluk

Tom Bryk

Sophia Kachor

Ostap Hawaleshka

Dr. George Chuchman

Harry Giesbrecht

Helen Mayba

Mychajlo Tetarenko

Walter Klymkiw

Orest (Bill) Lewycky

Lesia Krawchenko

Ken J. Romaniuk

Nick Diakiw

Oksana Rozumna

Hubert Kleysen

Olenka Kravets

Jim Orzechowski

Orysia Hull

Eugene Cherwick

Chrys Iwanchuk QC

Lew J. Figol