Manitoba Government News Release:
Information Services, Room 29, Legislative Building, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0V8 Telephone: (204) 
945-3746 Fax: (204) 945-3988


November 16, 2001



Premier Gary Doer today announced the appointment of 34 members from Manitoba business, labour and other key stakeholder groups to a new advisory body on provincial economic issues.

"The establishment of the Premier's Economic Advisory Council will be an important opportunity for dialogue on crucial economic issues and creative thinking on the challenges and strengths of Manitoba as we move further into this new century," said Doer.

The Premier's Economic Advisory Council will be co-chaired by Paul Moist, president of the Manitoba division of the Canadian Union of Public Employees, and Bob Silver, president of Western Glove. Winnipeg management consultant Pat Britton has been hired as executive co-ordinator of the council.

The premier said that the council's work would likely start by building on the work done during last year's Manitoba Century Summit in areas such as skills training, immigration policy, investment, and research and development.

The Manitoba Century Summit brought leaders from Manitoba business, labour, community and government together to discuss strategies to expand economic opportunities and future prosperity in the province. It was the first time in 14 years a meeting of its kind had taken place.

"I am pleased these talented and capable Manitobans have agreed to join the council and contribute even more to the continued successes of our province," said Doer.

- 30 -


Premier's Economic Advisory Council


Paul Moist, President, CUPE Manitoba

Bob Silver, President, Western Glove

Other Representatives

Costas Ataliotis, Owner, Maple Leaf Distillers, Winnipeg

Jim August, CEO, North Portage-Forks Development Corporation, Winnipeg

Lea Baturin, Communications, Electrical, and Paperworkers Union, Winnipeg

Anita Campbell, Director of Friendship Centre, Thompson, Manitoba

Cecile Cassista, Canadian Auto Workers, Winnipeg

David Chartrand, President, Manitoba Métis Federation, Winnipeg

Jerry Cianflone, Owner Pizza Hotline, Winnipeg

Elaine Cowan, CEO, Anokiiwin Training Institute, and former President, Aboriginal Business Leaders, Winnipeg

Marielle Decelles-Brentnall, Telecom Options Inc., Winnipeg

Myrtle deMuelles, Business Woman, Churchill

Rob Despins, Director, Marketing Systems, Standard Aero, and Chair, Manitoba Division, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association, Winnipeg

Sylvia Farley, Manitoba Federation of Labour, Winnipeg

Albert Friesen, President, Genesis Venture Inc., Winnipeg

David Friesen, President and CEO, Friesens Corporation, Altona

Chris Hamblin, former Vice-president, Keystone Agricultural Producers, Morris

Leonard E. Harapiak, Director, South Winnipeg Technical Institute, Winnipeg

Gary Hopper, Mayor, Town of The Pas

Maria Soares, Union of Needle Trades, Industrial & Textile Employees, Local 459, Winnipeg

Joanne C. Keselman, Vice-president , Research, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg

Sherman L. Kreiner, President and CEO, Crocus Investment Fund, Winnipeg

Chuck Loewen, Founder, President and CEO, Online Business Systems, Winnipeg

Florfina Marcelino, Publisher/Editor, Philippine Times, Winnipeg

Irene Merie, Past Chair of the Board, Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce, and CEO, Executive Computer Training, Winnipeg

Reid Minish, Part Owner and Manager, Northern Specialty, Swan River

Ashish R. Modha, President and CEO, Mondetta Clothing Company, Winnipeg

Marcel Moody, Co-Manager, Nisichawaysihk Cree Nation, Nelson House

Roslyn Nugent, Secretary/Treasurer, Bayridge Lumber and Forest Products, Winnipeg

Peter Olfert, Manitoba Government Employees Union, Winnipeg

Manisha Pandya, Chartered Accountant, Thompson

Harvey Secter, Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg

Ian Smith, Director General, National Research Council, Institute for Bio-Diagnostics, Winnipeg

Guy Sumida, Denturist, Brandon