FREE Mental Health First Aid training

The Selkirk Mental Health Centre is hosting Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) training workshops. MHFA is a 14 hour workshop, delivered over 2 days or 4 evenings.

Selkirk Mental Health Centre will cover the cost of this workshop if you can explain how this education would help you provide assistance to someone you know that is struggling with mental health problems.

Dates:

Thursday, June 22, 2017 & Friday, June 23, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 20, 2017 & Friday, July 21, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 24, 2017 & Friday, August 25, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, September 21, 2017 & Friday, September 22, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Monday, October 23, 2017 & Tuesday, October 24, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 & Wednesday, November 22, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Location:

Selkirk Mental Health Centre
Administration Building
Main Floor Lounge or Classroom #1, Lower Level


One in three Canadians will experience a mental health problem at some point in their life. The earlier a problem is detected and treated, the better the outcome. Mental Health First Aid Canada gives people the skills to provide that early help that is so important in recovery.

Mental Health First Aid is the help provided to a person developing a mental health problem or experiencing a mental health crisis.

Mental Health Problems

  • Substance Abuse
  • Depression
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Psychosis

Crisis Situations

  • Overdoses
  • Suicidal Behaviour
  • Panic Attacks/Acute Stress Reaction
  • Acute Psychosis

The MHFA Canada program aims to improve mental health literacy, and provide the skills and knowledge to help people better manage potential or developing mental health problems in themselves, a family member, a friend or a colleague.

The program does not teach people how to be therapists. It does teach people how to:

  • Recognize the signs and symptoms of mental health problems.
  • Provide initial help.
  • Guide a person towards appropriate professional help.

If you would like to learn more about these workshops or if you would like to register:

Once the application is approved, you will be contacted about course dates and availability.