## The BUILDING Foundations Bursary Program

- 10<sup>th</sup> Anniversary celebration!



For the tenth consecutive year Manitoba Housing recognized post-secondary students who receive a rental subsidy through Manitoba Housing by awarding \$1000 bursaries to selected students attending a post-secondary program in a public or private post-secondary college or university in Manitoba. Manitoba Housing knows the vital role education plays in improving lives and making Manitoba the most improved province!

A celebration with family and friends to honour the ten Bursary recipients was held on Friday, November 24, 2017 in Room 200, Legislative Building.

Recipients were selected from a pool of applicants, based on a combination of academic excellence and volunteering in the community. Seven of the ten recipients have declared Indigenous ancestry. Of the ten recipients, one is enrolled in Red River Community College, one is enrolled in Yellowquill College, while eight are attending university programs - one at U of Manitoba, four at U of Winnipeg, one at Brandon University, one at University College of the North in The Pas and one at University College of the North in Thompson.

Manitoba Housing entered into an agreement in 2010 with The Winnipeg Foundation to administer and help grow the bursary funds. To celebrate this milestone tenth anniversary, Manitoba Housing has been able to increase the number of bursaries being awarded to ten annually, thanks to the efforts of the Winnipeg Foundation investing the bursary fund and all those who donated to grow the bursary fund!

The 2017 BUILDINGFoundations Bursary Recipients shown in the photo with Family Services Minister Scott Fielding, Deputy Minister of Families Jay Rodgers, Manitoba Housing CEO Steven Spry and Winnipeg Foundation CEO Rick Frost, are: Haedar Naso, Chris McNarland, William Kidd, Brittany Daniels, Kaylyn Blacksmith Cardinal, Tammy Wolfe, Allison Wood, Denise Sinclair. Shown separately: Elizabeth Linklater and Presley Vrisk.





