OSPC: About Pension Legislation in MB

Pension Commission of Manitoba

The Pension Commission of Manitoba is an independent, decision-making body who hears appeals of orders of the Superintendent of Pensions. It also sets the rules that govern the hearing process. The commission also reviews applications for surplus refunds under the act and advises the Minister of Manitoba Finance on pension policy matters.

Commission Members

The commission has at least five and not more than nine members, including a chair and vice-chair. Commission members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. The commission has exclusive authority to exercise the powers conferred under The Act.

The Commission

Commission members

Vice-Chair: Tim McGorman has 30 years of experience as a consultant and actuary and is responsible for actuarial and investment consulting in all types of pension and other retirement programs. Tim was appointed to the Manitoba Pension Commission in 2010 and currently serves as the Vice Chair of the Manitoba Pension Commission. Tim is a member of CFA Society Winnipeg and is the Chair of the Prairie Regional Council of the Association of Canadian Pension Management (ACPM). He is a past member of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) Pension Plan Financial Reporting Committee (PPFRC) and currently serves on the Designated Group that is reviewing the CIA's Commuted Value Standards of Practice. Tim Graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons.) degree and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, and has also obtained the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Zbigniew Gryz was appointed to the Commission in March 2011. Mr. Gryz holds a Doctorate of Philosophy, PhD (Sociology) from Carleton University. He is a Personal Financial Planner and served two 3-year terms on the Insurance Council of Manitoba.

Barbara Hanchard is responsible for the management and administration of the University of Manitoba's group insurance plans and three pension plans covering a total of 5,200 active members. She is secretary to the University Pension Committee and Staff Benefits Committee. Before joining the University in 1988, Barbara worked for a major life insurance company.

Charly Pazdor is a consulting actuary and the Managing Principal in Eckler Winnipeg's office with expertise in retirement plans and self-insured disability plans. His experience includes 23 years as a consulting actuary and 14 years with a major life insurance company. Mr. Pazdor is a member of the Professionalism Management Education Committee of the Society of Actuaries and a frequent presenter at the Fellowship Admissions Course. He has served on a number of Committees and Task Forces for the Canadian Institute of Actuaries. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Manitoba and has been a qualified Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries since 1986.

Michelle Redekopp is a partner with MLT Aikins practising in the area of corporate and commercial law. She was called to the bar in 1994 and has served on several boards including the Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute Board of Directors, the Manitoba Chamber Small Business Committee and the Pension Commission of Manitoba (1997-1999).

Henry Shyka was appointed to the Commission in September 2015. Mr. Shyka retired in July 2014 following a 25 year career as a Staff Officer with the Manitoba Teachers Society. At the Society, Mr. Shyka provided service to members in the areas of personnel, collective bargaining, benefits, and acted as the business agent for the Winnipeg Teachers Association. He sat on the Teachers Retirement Allowances Board (T.R.A.F.) for a period of 12 years; serving as vice-chair for 3 years prior to his retirement.

Top of page