

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

FOURTH SESSION, THIRTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

PRAYERS 10:00 O'CLOCK A.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. LAMOUREUX – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to consider the need to seek clarification on why the Government did not act on fixing the Crocus fund back in 2001 and to urge the Premier and his Government to cooperate in making public what really happened. (J. E. Walker, D. Walker, D. Walker and others)

Mrs. STEFANSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Premier of Manitoba and the Minister of Health to consider providing CancerCare Manitoba with the appropriate funding necessary so that they may provide leading edge care for patients in the same manner as other provinces and to consider accelerating the process by which new cancer treatment drugs are approved so that more Manitobans are able to be treated in the most effective manner possible. (M. Phaneuf, P. Huberdeau, J. Marchadour and others)

Following Oral Questions, Hon. Mr. GERRARD rose on a Matter of Privilege and moved:

THAT this matter be referred to a Standing Committee of the Legislature.

And Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH and Mr. DERKACH having spoken.

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker informed the House he would take the matter under advisement.

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Messrs. SCHELLENBERG, DYCK, CALDWELL, CULLEN and SWAN made Members' Statements.

During Orders of the Day, Mr. DERKACH rose on a point of order requesting the Government to call a public inquiry into the Crocus Fund scandal.

And Mr. LAMOUREUX having spoken to the point of order,

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker ruled that there was no point of order.

From his decision, Mr. DERKACH appealed to the House,

And the Question being put, "Shall the ruling of the Chair be sustained?" It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

AGLUGUB ALLAN ALTEMEYER	Martindale Melnick Nevakshonoff
BJORNSON	OSWALD
Brick	Reid
CALDWELL	ROBINSON
DEWAR	RONDEAU
Doer	SALE
IRVIN-ROSS	SANTOS
JENNISSEN	SCHELLENBERG
JHA	SELINGER
Korzeniowski	SMITH
LEMIEUX	SWAN
MACKINTOSH	WOWCHUK29
MALOWAY	
NAY	
CULLEN	Lamoureux
CUMMINGS	MAGUIRE
DERKACH	MITCHELSON
DYCK	Murray
EICHLER	PENNER
FAURSCHOU	REIMER
Gerrard	STEFANSON
GOERTZEN	TAILLIEU16

The House then adjourned at 12:35 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Monday, March 13, 2006.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.