

PRAYERS

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

On motion of Hon. Mr. SALE, Bill (No. 27) – The Tobacco Damages and Health Care Costs Recovery Act/Loi sur le recouvrement du montant des dommages et du coût des soins de santé imputables au tabac, was read a First Time and had its purposes outlined.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. LAMOUREUX – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to consider the need to seek clarification on why the Government did not act on fixing the Crocus fund back in 2001 and to urge the Premier and his Government to cooperate in making public what really happened. (H. Gill, W. Gill, B. Anderson and others)

Mrs. ROWAT – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Transportation and Government Service to consider providing sufficient resources to enhance driver and vehicle safety on Highway 10 and to consider upgrading Highway 10. (J. Ménard, F. Scott, B. Johnson and others)

Mrs. STEFANSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Premier of Manitoba and the Minister of Health to consider providing CancerCare Manitoba with the appropriate funding necessary so that they may provide leading edge care for patients in the same manner as other provinces and to consider accelerating the process by which new cancer treatment drugs are approved so that more Manitobans are able to be treated in the most effective manner possible. (D. Fodchuk, N. Ziegler, D. Vukosav and others)

Following Oral Questions, Mr. LAMOUREUX rose on a point of order regarding the length of the responses provided by the Honourable First Minister.

And Mr. DERKACH and Hon. Mr. DOER having spoken to the point of order,

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker ruled that there was no point of order.

From his decision, Mr. LAMOUREUX appealed to the House,

And the Question being put, "Shall the ruling of the Chair be sustained?" It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

Aglugub	McGifford
Allan	Melnick
ALTEMEYER	NEVAKSHONOFF
ASHTON	OSWALD
BJORNSON	Robinson
Brick	Rondeau
DEWAR	SALE
Doer	SANTOS
IRVIN-ROSS	SCHELLENBERG
ЈНА	SELINGER
Korzeniowski	Smith
Lemieux	STRUTHERS
Mackintosh	SWAN
MALOWAY	WOWCHUK
MARTINDALE	

NAY

CULLEN	HAWRANIK
Derkach	LAMOUREUX
Driedger	MAGUIRE
DYCK	MITCHELSON
EICHLER	Penner
Faurschou	Reimer
GERRARD	STEFANSON
GOERTZEN	TAILLIEU16

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Ms. KORZENIOWSKI, Mrs. DRIEDGER, Ms. BRICK, Messrs. MAGUIRE and NEVAKSHONOFF made Members' Statements.

During Members Statements, Mr. LAMOUREUX rose on a point of order regarding the Adjournment Motion moved by the Honourable Member for Charleswood during her statement and requested that the Question be put.

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker ruled that there was no point of order.

From his decision, Mr. LAMOUREUX appealed to the House,

And the Question being put, "Shall the ruling of the Chair be sustained?" It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

Aglugub	McGifford
Allan	Melnick
ALTEMEYER	NEVAKSHONOFF
BJORNSON	Robinson
Brick	Rondeau
DEWAR	SALE
DOER	SANTOS
IRVIN-ROSS	SCHELLENBERG
JHA	Selinger
Korzeniowski	SMITH
Lemieux	STRUTHERS
Mackintosh	SWAN
MALOWAY	WOWCHUK27
MARTINDALE	
NAY	
Cullen	LAMOUREUX
Driedger	MAGUIRE
Duran	

Cullen	LAMOUREUX
Driedger	MAGUIRE
DYCK	MITCHELSON
EICHLER	Penner
Faurschou	Reimer
Gerrard	Rowat
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON
HAWRANIK	TAILLIEU16

The House then adjourned at 5:01 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Friday, March 17, 2006.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.