

PRAYER

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. ROWAT – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister of Healthy Living, Youth and Seniors to consider implementing a universal hearing screening program accessible to parents of all newborns in Manitoba. (D. Poirier, D. Gerrior, D. Ely and others)

Hon. Mr. GERRARD – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Premier consider advocating and partnering with the Federal Government to ensure all First Nations communities have access to clean running water for all their homes and to consider working closely with the Federal Government and First Nations communities to address and erase the massive water infrastructure gap that exists on many First Nations communities in Manitoba. (M. Carriere, A. Moore, L. Martinuzzi and others)

Mr. MAGUIRE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation to recognize the serious safety concerns and adverse socioeconomic impact caused by the loss of the Coulter Bridge and to consider making it an urgent priority to restore traffic across the Souris River, either via a temporary or a permanent bridge. (K. Hannah, J. McKinney, R. McGregor and others)

Hon. Mr. SWAN presented:

Annual Report of the Civil Legal Services for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2011.

(Sessional Paper No. 8)

Annual Report of Legal Aid Manitoba for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2011.

(Sessional Paper No. 9)

Annual Report of the Manitoba Human Rights Commission for the year ending December 31, 2010.

(Sessional Paper No. 10)

Annual Report of the Chief Judge of the Provincial Court Concerning Complaints about Judicial Conduct for the year ending December 31, 2010.

(Sessional Paper No. 11)

Hon. Ms. HOWARD, Chairperson of the Special Committee of Seven Persons, presented its First Report, which was read as follows:

Meetings:

Your Special Committee of Seven Persons presents the following as its First Report.

Your Committee prepared the following list of the proportional representation of Members by party to compose the Standing Committees ordered by the House:

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

CROWN CORPORATIONS (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

HUMAN RESOURCES (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS (11) Government Members: 7

Official Opposition Members: 4

JUSTICE (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS (11) Government Members: 7

Official Opposition Members: 4

PRIVATE BILLS (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

PUBLIC ACCOUNTS (11) Government Members: 6

Official Opposition Members: 4 Independent Members: 1

RULES OF THE HOUSE (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 3

Independent Members: 1

SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT (11) Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

STATUTORY REGULATIONS & ORDERS (11)

Government Members: 7 Official Opposition Members: 4

On motion of Hon. Ms. HOWARD, the Report of the Committee was received.

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Ms. SELBY, Mrs. ROWAT, Mr. PETTERSEN and Mrs. STEFANSON made Members' Statements.

The House resumed the Adjourned Debate on the Proposed Motion of Ms. CROTHERS:

THAT the following address be presented to His Honour the Lieutenant Governor:

We, the Members of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba thank your Honour for the gracious speech addressed to us at this First Session of the Fortieth Legislature of Manitoba.

And the debate continuing on the main motion.

And Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Mr. SWAN, Mr. JHA and Hon. Messrs. MACKINTOSH and SELINGER having spoken.

And the Question being put on the main motion. It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

Allan	Maloway
ALLUM	MARCELINO (Logan)
ALTEMEYER	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
ASHTON	NEVAKSHONOFF
Bjornson	OSWALD
BRAUN	Pettersen
CALDWELL	Robinson
CHIEF	Rondeau
CROTHERS	SARAN
DEWAR	Selby
HOWARD	Selinger
IRVIN-ROSS	STRUTHERS
JHA	SWAN
Kostyshyn	WHITEHEAD
Lemieux	WIEBE
MACKINTOSH	WIGHT

NAY

Briese	MAGUIRE
Cullen	McFadyen
Driedger	MITCHELSON
EICHLER	Pedersen
Ewasko	Rowat
Friesen	SCHULER
Gerrard	Smook
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON
GRAYDON	TAILLIEU
HELWER	WISHART20

The House then adjourned at 4:36 p.m., Tuesday, November 1, 2011.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.