

### LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 31

#### FOURTH SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 10:00 O'CLOCK A.M.

Mrs. DRIEDGER moved:

THAT Bill (No. 201) – The Centennial of Manitoba Women's Right to Vote Act/Loi sur le centenaire de l'obtention du droit de vote par les Manitobaines, be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee of this House.

And a debate arising,

And Mrs. DRIEDGER, Hon. Ms. IRVIN-ROSS, Mr. CULLEN, Ms. HOWARD, Messrs. PEDERSEN and BJORNSON and Hon. Ms. CROTHERS having spoken,

And Hon. Ms. WIGHT speaking at 11:00 a.m. The debate was allowed to remain in her name.

\_\_\_\_\_

In accordance with Rule 31(9), the Opposition House Leader announced that the Provincial Government Mismanagement Hurting Manitoba's Mining Industry Resolution will be considered next Thursday, May 21, 2015.

Mr. GOERTZEN moved:

Resolution No. 2: Severance Payments Costing Manitoba Families

WHEREAS in the fall of 2014 the First Minister faced a revolt from senior Members of the Provincial Government Caucus and Cabinet; and

WHEREAS the Premier agreed to a leadership contest at the NDP convention in March of 2015, which he subsequently won by only 33 votes; and

WHEREAS in a December 2014 memo to the Provincial Government political staff the First Minister's now former Chief of Staff indicated that political staff would be free to work on leadership campaigns of their choosing; and

WHEREAS according to media reports the Premier stated "we believe everybody should be able to exercise their civil rights as citizens to participate in an electoral leadership contest", subsequently, a number of political staff took leaves of absence to work on campaigns of their choosing; and

WHEREAS after the Premier secured his leadership by a 51 per cent to 49 per cent margin, the Premier's office began firing government staff who worked on leadership campaigns other than his own and, according to media reports the Premier stated "people have civil rights but we also have an organization to run"; and

WHEREAS the Premier's office offered substantial severance payments in exchange for silence of departing employees, including \$146,047 to the Premier's Chief of Staff, but have not fully disclosed all severance packages.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Provincial Government be urged to immediately release all details related to severance payments, secondment costs and leaves of absence resulting from the leadership race so that Manitobans know how much the government has paid in political payouts that cannot be used for frontline services like healthcare and education.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Mr. ASHTON, Messrs. MARTIN, WIEBE and RONDEAU and Hon. Ms. WIGHT having spoken,

And Mr. ALTEMEYER speaking at 12:00 p.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

On motion of Hon. Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF, Bill (No. 24) – The Wildlife Amendment and Fisheries Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la conservation de la faune et la Loi sur la pêche, was read a First Time and had its purposes outlined.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. ROWAT – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government and the Minister of Children and Youth Opportunities to ensure that the rights of all Manitoba children are respected and that the opinions of children are taken into consideration when decisions that affect them are made and to correct the tragic systemic flaws that have failed Manitoba children in the recent past. (S. Bohn, S. Drenkew, J. Skromeda and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge that the Provincial Government improve the safety at the pedestrian corridor at the intersection of PTH# 206 and Cedar Avenue in Oak Bank by considering such steps as highlighting pavement markings to better indicate the location of the shoulders and crosswalk, as well as installing a lighted crosswalk structure. (J. Gutoski, T. Klepatz, M. Faspey and others)

Mr. EWASKO – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government and the Minister of Health to ensure that the Beausejour District Hospital and Primary Care Centre have a primary care physician available on weekends and holidays to better provide area residents with this essential service. (M. True, S. Prysiogniuk, A. Kryk and others)

Mr. GRAYDON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Premier to immediately consider calling an election so that Manitobans can decide who is best placed to govern in the best interests of Manitobans. (G. Fuchs, G. Maynard, G. Scull and others)

Mr. SMOOK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro to immediately provide a written explanation to all Members of the Legislative Assembly regarding what criteria were used and the reasons for selecting the preferred routing for the Minnesota-Manitoba Transmission Line including whether or not this routing represented the least intrusive option to residents of Tache, Springfield, St. Anne, Stuartburn, Piney and La Broquerie. (B. Webber, D. McLean, E. Bouchard and others)

Mr. PEDERSEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge that the Provincial Government immediately direct Manitoba Hydro to engage with MBLC/CAEPLA in order to negotiate a fair business agreement that addresses the many legitimate concerns of farm families affected by the BiPole III transmission line. (R. Ehnes, C. Deborek, J. Bouyer and others)

\_\_\_\_\_

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Mr. SMOOK, Hon. Mr. CALDWELL, Mrs. ROWAT, Mr. BJORNSON and Hon. Ms. CROTHERS made Members' Statements.

\_\_\_\_

The House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Motion of Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK:

THAT Jennifer HOWARD, Member for the Electoral Division of Fort Rouge, be Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House and Deputy Speaker.

And the debate continuing,

And Mr. GOERTZEN having spoken.

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

#### YEA

ALLAN	LATHLIN
ALLUM	MACKINTOSH
ALTEMEYER	MALOWAY
ASHTON	MARCELINO (Logan)
BJORNSON	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
BLADY	MARTIN
Braun	MITCHELSON
BRIESE	NEVAKSHONOFF
CALDWELL	PEDERSEN
CHIEF	PIWNIUK
CROTHERS	ROBINSON
CULLEN	RONDEAU
DEWAR	ROWAT
Driedger	SARAN
EICHLER	SCHULER
EWASKO	SELBY
FRIESEN	SELINGER
GAUDREAU	SMOOK
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON
GRAYDON	STRUTHERS
HELWER	SWAN
HOWARD	WIEBE
IRVIN-ROSS	WIGHT
JHA	WISHART49
Kostyshyn	
NAY	
	GERRARD1

Hon. Mr. SELINGER moved:

THAT Jim MALOWAY, Member for the Electoral Division of Elmwood, be Deputy Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House.

And Hon. Mr. SELINGER and Mr. GOERTZEN having spoken.

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

# **Thursday, May 14, 2015**

### YEA

ALLAN	LATHLIN
ALLUM	MACKINTOSH
ASHTON	MALOWAY
BJORNSON	MARCELINO (Logan)
Braun	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
CALDWELL	NEVAKSHONOFF
CROTHERS	ROBINSON
DEWAR	RONDEAU
GAUDREAU	SARAN
Gerrard	SELINGER
HOWARD	STRUTHERS
IRVIN-ROSS	SWAN
JHA	Wiebe
Kostyshyn	WIGHT28
	NAY
Briese	Martin
CULLEN	PEDERSEN
Driedger	PIWNIUK
EICHLER	ROWAT
EWASKO	SCHULER
FRIESEN	SMOOK
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON
GRAYDON	WISHART17
HELWER	

The House then adjourned at 4:58 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, May 19, 2015.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.