

## LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

\_\_\_\_\_

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 26

#### FIFTH SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

On motion of Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK, Bill (No. 22) – The Elections Amendment Act (Signatures Required for Nomination Document)/Loi modifiant la Loi électorale (nombre de signatures exigées sur les documents de mise en candidature), was read a First Time and had its purposes outlined.

Hon. Mr. ALLUM presented:

Annual Report of the The Manitoba Student Aid Program for the program year ending July 31, 2015.

(Sessional Paper No. 16)

Annual Report of The Public Schools Finance Board for the year ending June 30, 2015. (Sessional Paper No. 17)

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Messrs. SWAN, EWASKO, MARCELINO (Tyndall Park) and EICHLER and Hon. Mr. GERRARD made Members' Statements.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge that the Provincial Government improve the safety at the pedestrian corridor at the intersection of PTH# 206 and Cedar Avenue in Oak Bank by considering such steps as highlighting pavement markings to better indicate the location of the shoulders and crosswalk, as well as installing a lighted crosswalk structure. (A. Sward, K. Kosheluk, B. Graham and others)

Mr. PEDERSEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro to immediately provide a written explanation to all Members of the Legislative Assembly regarding what criteria were used and the reasons for selecting the preferred routing for the Minnesota-Manitoba Transmission Line including whether or not this routing represented the least intrusive option to residents of Tache, Springfield, St. Anne, Stuartburn, Piney and La Broquerie. (D. Anderson, J. Wiebe, R. Brink and others)

Mr. EWASKO - Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Ministers of Family Services, Education and Advanced Learning, and Health consider making funding available to address the current waiting list for ABA Services. (F. Kenbrut, E. Jones, D. Paterson and others)

Mr. SMOOK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro to immediately provide a written explanation to all Members of the Legislative Assembly regarding what criteria were used and the reasons for selecting the preferred routing for the Minnesota-Manitoba Transmission Line including whether or not this routing represented the least intrusive option to residents of Tache, Springfield, St. Anne, Stuartburn, Piney and La Broquerie. (R. Hayward, T. McFaren, C. Kohl and others)

Mrs. DRIEDGER - Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro to immediately provide a written explanation to all Members of the Legislative Assembly regarding what criteria were used and the reasons for selecting the preferred routing for the Minnesota-Manitoba Transmission Line including whether or not this routing represented the least intrusive option to residents of Tache, Springfield, St. Anne, Stuartburn, Piney and La Broquerie. (J. Korman, S. Korman, D. Serceau and others)

Mrs. MITCHELSON - Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to develop and evolve community based brain injury services that include but are not limited to: case management services known also as service navigation; safe and accessible housing in the community; proctor or coach type assistance for community re-integration programs; improved access to community based rehabilitation services; and improved transportation especially for people living in rural Manitoba and to encompass financial and emotional supports for families and other caregivers in the model that is developed. (L. Vickery, S. Semenko, M. Bender and others)

Mr. GOERTZEN moved the following Opposition Day Motion:

That the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Federal Government to conduct a national referendum prior to changing from a first past the post voting system for federal elections to another system, to determine the will of Manitobans and all Canadians regarding their preferred system of voting.

And a debate arising,

And Messrs. Goertzen, Swan, Friesen, Gaudreau, Smook and Maloway, Mrs. Driedger, Mr. RONDEAU, Hon. Mr. GERRARD, Mr. SCHULER and Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was negatived, on the following division:

# Wednesday, March 9, 2016

### YEA

BRIESE CULLEN DRIEDGER EICHLER EWASKO FRIESEN GOERTZEN GRAYDON HELWER	MITCHELSON PALLISTER PEDERSEN PIWNIUK ROWAT SCHULER SMOOK STEFANSON WISHART
MARTIN	
NAY	
ALLAN	MACKINTOSH
ALLUM	MALOWAY
ALTEMEYER	MARCELINO (Logan)
ASHTON	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
BLADY	MELNICK
BRAUN	NEVAKSHONOFF
CALDWELL	OSWALD
Сноміак	PETTERSEN
Crothers	ROBINSON
DEWAR	RONDEAU
GAUDREAU	SARAN
HOWARD	SELINGER
IRVIN-ROSS	STRUTHERS
JHA	SWAN
LATHLIN	WIEBE

The House then adjourned at 5:04 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Thursday, March 10, 2016.

LEMIEUX

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.

WIGHT......32