

PRAYER

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

On motion of Hon. Mrs. STEFANSON, Bill (No. 2) – The Legislative Assembly Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'Assemblée législative, was read a First Time and had its purposes outlined.

Hon. Mr. SCHULER presented:

Annual Report of the Crown Corporations Council for the year ending December 31, 2015.

(Sessional Paper No. 6)

Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation, Quarterly Report, Twelve Months ending February 29, 2016.

(Sessional Paper No. 7)

Pursuant to Rule 27(1), Messrs. YAKIMOSKI, KINEW, MICHALESKI and MICKLEFIELD and Mrs. KLASSEN made Members' Statements.

The House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Motion of Mr. REYES:

THAT the following address be presented to Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor:

We, the Members of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba thank your Honour for the gracious speech addressed to us at this First Session of the Forty-First Legislature of Manitoba.

And the proposed amendment moved by Ms. MARCELINO (Logan) as follows:

THAT the Motion be amended by adding the following words at the end:

But this House regrets that the Provincial Government failed to:

(a) recognize the diversity of this great province by failing to present a positive and inclusive vision for all Manitobans; and

- (b) acknowledge and commit to implementing the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission; and
- (c) commit to ensuring a successful and participatory national inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls; and
- (d) commit to keeping public and social services public to prevent corporations from profiting on the backs of the poorest people of this province; and
- (e) commit to protecting and enhancing the rights of LGBTTQ* persons; and
- (f) commit to protecting and enhancing the rights of workers; and
- (g) commit to protecting and enhancing supports for persons living with disabilities; and
- (h) commit to keeping the province's valuable Crown Corporations public; and
- (i) commit to focus on environmental and water protections, expand the network of protected areas or fight climate change with innovation and green jobs; and
- (j) commit to take steps to increase the minimum wage and to bring the incomes of all Manitoba families above the poverty line; and
- (k) commit to eliminating the wait list for child care by adding 12,000 more spaces for families, and expanding Manitoba's workforce of early childhood educators; and
- (1) commit to focusing on prevention and supportive programs for early years learning; and
- (m) commit to investing more in community schools, early childhood hubs, and after-school programs in the inner city and in northern Manitoba; and
- (n) commit to ramping up the First-Year Now initiative to ensure high school students earn university and college credits to get a head start on their careers; and
- (o) commit to expanding community based programs that help skilled newcomers get good jobs in their chosen careers across Manitoba; and
- (p) commit to a plan that ensures all Manitoba students learn about the histories, languages, cultures and traditional knowledge of Indigenous peoples; and
- (q) acknowledge that Indigenous communities must be full partners in efforts to support and keep families together; and
- (r) commit to keeping post-secondary accessible to any student who wishes to attend by keeping tuition fees low and limiting increases to the rate of inflation; and

- (s) commit to partnering with post-secondary institutions to make campuses a safer place for all students with policies to prevent, and respond to, sexual violence and sexual harassment; and
- (t) commit to mixed use housing for students with partners like Brandon University and the University of Winnipeg; and
- (u) commit to increasing the number of women apprentices in the skilled trades; and
- (v) commit to partnering with the University College of the North to build a new trades training centre to help students take advantage of the good jobs created by Manitoba Hydro; and
- (w) commit to an expansion of the Women's Health Clinic, more access to midwives and an expansion of the Fertility Treatment Tax Credit; and
- (x) commit to enhancing funding to seniors' centres and working with partners to develop more seniors' housing, and improve palliative care services; and
- (y) commit to relocating the rails that divide our city and free up the land for developments that will create jobs, housing and other opportunities; and
- (z) commit to implementing the recommendations from the Task Force on Education Outcomes for Children in Care.

As a consequence of these and many other failings, the Provincial Government has thereby lost the trust and confidence of the people of Manitoba and this House.

And the proposed sub-amendment moved by Ms. LAMOUREUX as follows:

THAT the motion be amended by adding after clause (z) the following clauses:

- (aa) commit timely construction of the road network connecting communities on the east side of Lake Winnipeg; and
- (bb) commit to improving and enhancing the Provincial nominee program and the process of bringing immigrants to Manitoba; and
- (cc) commit to putting the highest possible priority on the establishment of a dedicated stroke unit in Manitoba; and
- (dd) commit to addressing the urgent need for First Nations housing; and
- (ee) commit to implement, together with First Nations and Metis people in Manitoba, a plan to improve nutrition and to decrease diabetes in our Province.

And the debate continuing on the sub-amendment,

And Messrs. MALOWAY, EWASKO and SELINGER, Hon. Ms. SQUIRES, Messrs. MICHALESKI and BINDLE and Hon. Mr. PALLISTER having spoken.

And the Question being put on the sub-amendment. It was negatived, on the following division:

YEA

ALLUM	LINDSEY
ALTEMEYER	MALOWAY
CHIEF	MARCELINO (Logan)
Fontaine	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
Gerrard	SARAN
KINEW	Selinger
KLASSEN	SWAN
LAMOUREUX	WIEBE

NAY

BINDLE	MAYER
CLARKE	Michaleski
Cox	Micklefield
CULLEN	Morley-Lecomte
CURRY	PALLISTER
EICHLER	Pedersen
Ewasko	Piwniuk
FIELDING	Reyes
Friesen	SCHULER
GOERTZEN	Smith
GRAYDON	Smook
GUILLEMARD	SQUIRES
Helwer	STEFANSON
ISLEIFSON	Teitsma
JOHNSON	WHARTON
JOHNSTON	WISHART
LAGASSÉ	WOWCHUK
LAGIMODIERE	YAKIMOSKI
MARTIN	

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was negatived, on the following division:

YEA

Allum	MALOWAY
Altemeyer	MARCELINO (Logan)
Chief	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
Fontaine	SARAN
Kinew	SELINGER
Lathlin	SWAN
Lindsey	WIEBE
NAY	
BINDLE	Lamoureux
CLARKE	Martin
COX	Mayer
CULLEN	Michaleski
CURRY	Micklefield
EICHLER	Morley-Lecomte
EWASKO	Pallister
FIELDING	Pedersen
FRIESEN	Piwniuk
GERRARD	Reyes
GOERTZEN	Schuler
GRAYDON	Smith
GUILLEMARD	Smook
Helwer	Squires
Isleifson	Stefanson
Johnson	Teitsma
Johnston	Wharton

WISHART

WOWCHUK

YAKIMOSKI......40

And the Question being put on the main motion. It was agreed to, on the following division:

KLASSEN LAGASSÉ

LAGIMODIERE

YEA

BINDLE	MAYER
Clarke	Michaleski
Cox	Micklefield
Cullen	MORLEY-LECOMTE
CURRY	Pallister
Eichler	Pedersen
Ewasko	Piwniuk
FIELDING	Reyes
Friesen	SCHULER
GOERTZEN	Smith
GRAYDON	Smook
GUILLEMARD	SQUIRES
Helwer	STEFANSON
ISLEIFSON	TEITSMA
Johnson	WHARTON
JOHNSTON	WISHART
LAGASSÉ	WOWCHUK
LAGIMODIERE	YAKIMOSKI
MARTIN	

NAY

LINDSEY
MALOWAY
MARCELINO (Logan)
MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
SARAN
SELINGER
SWAN
WIEBE

The House then adjourned at 4:52 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Monday, May 30, 2016.

Hon. Myrna DRIEDGER, Speaker.