

# THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE

for the

Third Session of the Thirty-Eighth

# MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Monday, November 22, 2004

1:30 p.m.

# Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

AGLUGUB, Cris L.	NDP	The Maples
ALLAN, Hon. Nancy	NDP	St. Vital
ALTEMEYER, Rob	NDP	Wolseley
ASHTON, Hon. Steve	NDP	Thompson
BJORNSON, Hon. Peter	NDP	Gimli
BRICK, Marilyn	NDP	St. Norbert
CALDWELL, Drew	NDP	Brandon East
CHOMIAK, Hon. David Walter	NDP	Kildonan
*CULLEN, Cliff	PC	Turtle Mountain
CUMMINGS, Glen	PC	Ste. Rose
DERKACH, Len	PC	Russell
DEWAR, Gregory	NDP	Selkirk
DOER, Hon. Gary	NDP	Concordia
DRIEDGER, Myrna	PC	Charleswood
DYCK, Peter George	PC	Pembina
EICHLER, Ralph	PC	Lakeside
FAURSCHOU, David	PC	Portage la Prairie
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	River Heights
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
HAWRANIK, Gerald	PC	Lac du Bonnet
HICKES, Hon. George	NDP	Point Douglas
IRVIN-ROSS, Kerri	NDP	Fort Garry
JENNISSEN, Gerard	NDP	Flin Flon
JHA, Bidhu	NDP	Radisson
KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	NDP	St. James
LAMOUREUX, Kevin	LIB	Inkster
LATHLIN, Hon. Oscar	NDP	The Pas
LEMIEUX, Hon. Ron	NDP	La Verendrye
LOEWEN, John	PC	Fort Whyte
MACKINTOSH, Hon. Gord	NDP	St. Johns
MAGUIRE, Larry	PC	Arthur-Virden
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARTINDALE, Doug	NDP	Burrows
McGifford, Hon. Diane	NDP	Lord Roberts
MELNICK, Hon. Christine	NDP	Riel
MITCHELSON, Bonnie	PC	River East
MURRAY, Stuart	PC	Kirkfield Park
<b>NEVAKSHONOFF</b> , Thomas G.	NDP	Interlake
OSWALD, Hon. Theresa	NDP	Seine River
PENNER, Jack	PC	Emerson

REID, Daryl Gary **NDP** Transcona PC Southdale **REIMER**, Jack ROBINSON, Hon. Eric NDP Rupertsland PC Carman ROCAN, Denis RONDEAU, Hon. Jim NDP Assiniboia ROWAT, Leanne PC Minnedosa SALE, Hon. Tim NDP Fort Rouge SANTOS, Conrad NDP Wellington **SCHELLENBERG**, Harry NDP Rossmere SCHULER, Ron PC Springfield NDP **SELINGER**, Hon. Gregory F. St. Boniface SMITH, Hon. Scott NDP Brandon West PC Tuxedo STEFANSON. Heather STRUTHERS, Hon. Stan NDP Dauphin-Roblin

\*SWAN, Andrew NDP Minto
TAILLIEU, Mavis PC Morris

WOWCHUK, Hon. Rosann NDP Swan River

### \* Members Elect

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Ms. Beverley Bosiak, Deputy Clerk

Ms. JoAnn McKerlie-Korol, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Rick Yarish, Clerk Assistant

# THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE THIRD SESSION OF THE THIRTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE ON NOVEMBER 22, 2004

- 1. The Premier, Honorary Aides-de-camp and Officer Escort meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** and **invited guests** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, Officer Escort and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes his seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Civilian Aide delivers the Throne Speech to His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp, the Officer Escort, the Premier and the Provincial Court Judges. **ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING**.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the lyrics of "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Speaker informs the House that:

Mr. Joel VOTH;

Ms. Kristy RYDZ;

Ms. Jennifer BERNARDO;

Mr. Stephen LEAVITT;

Mr. Amos WIEBE:

Ms. Andrea BERGER;

Ms. Julene BUYS; and

Ms. Heather MORGAN

have been appointed Pages for the Third Session of the Thirty-Eighth Legislature.

# 11. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

### 12. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

# 13. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks exit the Chamber.