Comités - Questions les plus fréquemment posées

Salle de comités

COMMENT LES MEMBRES DES COMITÉS PERMANENTS SONT-ILS CHOISIS?

Au début de la première session de chaque législature, un comité spécial composé de sept membres présente un rapport, lequel recommande les noms des personnes qui siégeront aux divers comités. Une fois le rapport adopté, les comités sont établis.

PEUT-ON REMPLACER UN MEMBRE PAR UN AUTRE?

Au début de chaque réunion de comité, le whip ou son délégué doit présenter par écrit au greffier du comité la liste des membres qui siégeront au comité au cours de cette réunion. Les remplacements peuvent être effectués pendant les réunions.

QUI PRÉSIDE LES RÉUNIONS?

Les travaux de chaque comité sont dirigés par un président. À la première réunion ou dans le cas d’une vacance, le premier sujet à l’ordre du jour est l’élection d’un président.

QUEL EST LE RÔLE DU PRÉSIDENT?

Le président maintient l’ordre et décide de toute question relative au règlement, sous réserve d’un appel devant le comité.

LE PRÉSIDENT PEUT-IL VOTER?

Il peut le faire uniquement s’il y a égalité des voix, et dans ce cas son vote est décisif.

LIEUX ET HEURES DES RÉUNIONS

Les réunions des comités ont généralement lieu au Palais législatif, mais elles ont à diverses reprises été organisées en région rurale par le passé.

QUI CONVOQUE LES RÉUNIONS?

Après avoir consulté le leader de l’opposition à l’Assemblée, le leader du gouvernement à l’Assemblée établit le calendrier des réunions une fois que le projet de loi a fait l’objet de la deuxième lecture.

INSCRIPTION COMME INTERVENANT

Une fois que le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une première lecture, les membres du public peuvent s’inscrire, en téléphonant au Bureau du greffier au (204) 945-3636, pour prendre la parole à l’étape de l’étude en comité.

Les renseignements suivants devront être fournis : nom de l’intervenant, adresse, coordonnées, inscription en qualité de simple citoyen ou de représentant d’une organisation (dans ce cas, nom de l’organisation) et titre et numéro du projet de loi.

INTERVENANTS DE L’EXTÉRIEUR

Dès son arrivée, l’intervenant devrait informer le greffier, le président du comité ou le personnel présent qu’il vient de l’extérieur de la ville. En général, le président demande aux membres du comité si les intervenants de l’extérieur doivent être entendus au début des débats.

AVIS DE RÉUNION

Il n’est pas possible de déterminer combien de temps à l’avance la date d’une réunion de comité sera fixée. Cependant, un avis de deux jours doit être donné à l'Assemblée de la première réunion où un comité permanent ou un comité spécial se penchera sur un projet de loi, lorsque des citoyens sont inscrits sur la liste des intervenants au moment où la date de la réunion est arrêtée.

COMMUNICATION AVEC LES INTERVENANTS INSCRITS

Les noms des intervenants sont inscrits sur une « liste des intervenants » dans l’ordre chronologique des inscriptions. Lorsqu’une réunion a été annoncée par le leader du gouvernement à l’Assemblée, le personnel du bureau du greffier informe dès que possible les intervenants de la date, de l’heure et du lieu de la réunion.

QU’ARRIVE-T-IL SI UN INTERVENANT NE SE PRÉSENTE PAS QUAND ON L’APPELLE?

Sauf avec consentement unanime des membres du comité, son nom sera reporté à la fin de la liste. Si l’intervenant est absent une deuxième fois quand on l’appelle, on supprime son nom de la liste.

LIMITE DE TEMPS DES DISCOURS

Chaque intervenant a droit à dix minutes pour faire un exposé et à cinq minutes pour répondre aux questions du comité. De façon exceptionnelle et avec le consentement unanime du comité, le président peut accorder à un intervenant qui a déjà pris la parole plus de temps pour faire sa présentation et répondre aux questions.

VINGT COPIES DES DOCUMENTS ÉCRITS

Si vous souhaitez soumettre une version écrite de votre exposé oral pour l’accompagner (facultatif), nous vous prions de nous en fournir 20 copies.

PUIS-JE SOUMETTRE UN MÉMOIRE AU LIEU DE FAIRE UN EXPOSÉ ORAL?

Si vous ne pouvez pas assister à la réunion, vous pouvez envoyer un mémoire sur le projet de loi à l’adresse suivante :

Greffier des comités
450, Broadway, bureau 251
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0V8

Vous pouvez aussi envoyer votre exposé par télécopieur au (204) 945-0038 ou par courriel à committees@leg.gov.mb.ca.

Remarque : pour qu’un exposé écrit soit inclus dans le compte rendu textuel des séances du comité, celui-ci doit l’autoriser. Les membres du comité chargé d’examiner le projet de loi doivent avoir reçu l’exposé avant d’avoir terminé leurs délibérations.

PEUT-ON ASSISTER AUX DÉBATS?

Les membres du public peuvent assister aux débats. Les réunions se tiennent dans les salles 254 et 255 du Palais législatif. Ces deux salles sont accessibles en fauteuil roulant.

TRANSCRIPTION DES DÉBATS

Les intervenants peuvent prendre connaissance des procès-verbaux des débats d’un comité en consultant le site Web de l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba (http://www.gov.mb.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.fr.html) ou en se rendant à la bibliothèque de l’Assemblée.

QUE SE PASSE-T-IL ENSUITE?

Après examen d’un projet de loi, le président du comité fait rapport des conclusions de celui-ci à l’Assemblée. Suivent alors l’étape du rapport, l’approbation et la troisième lecture, puis la sanction royale.

Pour de plus amples détails, veuillez consulter la Feuille d'information n° 4 intitulée Comment se font les lois.

Committees - Frequently Asked Questions

Committee Room

HOW ARE STANDING COMMITTEES SELECTED?

At the start of the first session of each Legislature, a Special Committee of seven Members submits a report recommending the proportional representation of Members by party to serve on the various Committees. On adoption of the Report, the Committees are established.

ARE SUBSTITUTIONS ALLOWED?

At the start of each committee meeting, the Whip or the Whip’s designate must provide in writing to the Committee Clerk the membership list of Members to serve on the committee for that particular meeting.  Membership substitutions can be made during the meetings.

WHO PRESIDES OVER THE MEETINGS?

Every committee has a Chairperson.  At the first meeting of a Committee or in the case of a vacancy, the first order of business is the election of a Chairperson.

THE CHAIRPERSON'S ROLE

The Chairperson maintains order and decides all questions of order, subject to an appeal to the Committee.

CAN THE CHAIRPERSON VOTE?

Only when votes are tied, can a Chairperson cast the deciding vote.

MEETING LOCATION AND TIME

Committee meetings are usually held at the Legislative Building.  There have been a number of occasions in the past, however, where meetings have been held in rural areas.

WHO CALLS THE MEETINGS?

After consulting with the Opposition House Leader, the Government House Leader schedules the meetings after the Bill receives Second Reading.

REGISTRATION TO MAKE A PRESENTATION

Once the Bill receives First Reading, members of the public may register to speak at committee stage by calling the Office of the Clerk (204) 945-3636.

Required registration information includes: the presenter's name, address, contact information, whether or not the presenter is a private citizen or is speaking on behalf of an organization – which organization – as well as the name and number of the Bill.

OUT OF TOWN PRESENTERS

Upon arrival, out of town presenters should notify the Committee Clerk or staff present that they are from out of town. The Chairperson will usually request that the Committee decide whether or not to hear from out of town presenters first.

NOTICE OF MEETING

There is no way of knowing how far in advance a Committee meeting will be scheduled. If presenters are registered to speak to a bill, two calendar days’ notice must be given during sittings of the Legislature of the first meeting considering the Bill. Intersessionally, ten days’ notice is required for the first meeting, and five days’ notice for subsequent meetings.

CONTACTING REGISTERED PRESENTERS

Presenters are placed on a "list of presenters," in order of registration. Once the Government House Leader has called a meeting, presenters are contacted by staff in the Office of the Clerk as soon as possible and informed of the meeting's date, time and location.

WHAT IF A PRESENTER IS ABSENT WHEN HIS/HER NAME IS CALLED AT THE MEETING?

Except by unanimous consent, the names of absent presenters' are dropped to the end of the list.  If the presenter is absent when called a second time, that name is removed from the list.

TIME LIMITS

Each presenter is allowed a maximum of 10 minutes to make a presentation, and an additional 5 minutes to respond to questions from Members of the Committee.  As an exception, the Chairperson may, with the unanimous consent of the Committee, allow a presenter who has spoken for 10 minutes more time to present and to respond to questions.

20 COPIES OF WRITTEN MATERIALS

Should you wish to provide a written version to accompany your oral presentation (optional), we request that you provide us with 20 copies of that material. 

CAN I SEND A WRITTEN SUBMISSION IN LIEU OF MAKING AN ORAL PRESENTATION?

If you cannot attend the meeting you may send a written submission on the Bill to:

Clerk of Committees
Room 251 – 450 Broadway
Winnipeg MB
R3C 0V8

You may also fax your submission to (204) 945-0038, or send it by email to:
committees@leg.gov.mb.ca.

It should be noted that in order for a written presentation to be included in the Committee Hansard, consent from the Committee must be granted.  Also, written submissions must be received before the Committee considering the Bill concludes its deliberations so that it may be provided to Committee Members.

NO PRESENTATIONS AFTER MIDNIGHT

Unless unanimous agreement is given by the committee, presentations will not be heard after midnight.

VIEWING PROCEEDINGS

The public may watch the proceedings of a Committee meeting in Rooms 254 and/or 255 of the Legislative Building.  Both rooms are wheelchair accessible.

NO INTERSESSIONAL MEETINGS

It has been established that unless agreed to by the Government and Opposition House Leaders, Standing Committees cannot meet to hear public presentation on legislation during the following months: January, February, June, July and August.

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

Presenters may access committee manuscripts on line by accessing the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba website at http://www.gov.mb.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.html or by viewing copies at the Legislative Library.

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

Once a Committee considers a Bill, the Chairperson reports all findings to the House.  This is followed by the Report Stage, Concurrence and Third Reading, and Royal Assent.

Please see Fact Sheet No. 4:  "How Laws are Made", for further details.