Printer Friendly

Taxicab Board

To view PDF files, you must have a copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is available as a free download.

Get  Acrobat Reader


The Taxicab Board ensures citizens in Winnipeg receive quality taxicab service that meets the public need at reasonable cost through the administration of a system of economic regulation.


The Taxicab Board conducts public hearings on matters relating to industry and users.  Establish, review and revise the number of taxicab licences required by the public convenience and necessity.  The board regulates rates charged by the industry, issues taxicab licences, taxicab driver licences and regulates licence transfers as well provides training for taxicab drivers.  The Taxicab Board establishes vehicle standards and inspects taxicabs for vehicle condition and meter accuracy.  The board investigates and resolves complaints against taxicab operators and drivers for breaches of regulations and service failures when warranted.  Also, maintains a liaison between the Board and the taxicab industry, governments and other affected groups.

Board Members

  • Bruce Buckley – Chairperson
  • George Gershman – Member
  • Navjit Singh Sidhu – Member
  • Sylvia Farley - Member
  • Justin Swandel – Winnipeg City Council
  • Patrol Sergeant Rick Zurba – Winnipeg Police Service


All enquiries and correspondence related to the board should be directed to:

Joan Wilson, Secretary of the Taxicab Board

The Taxicab Board

200-301 Weston Street
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3H4
Phone: (204)945-8919
Fax: (204)948-2315