

Manitoba Law Reform Commission

Board Members

<u>President</u> Grant Driedger, Steinbach

<u>Commissioners</u> Hon. Justice Shawn Greenberg, Winnipeg ⁽¹⁾ Janesca Kydd, Winnipeg ⁽²⁾ Mary Shariff, Winnipeg ⁽³⁾ Marc Marion, Winnipeg (bil.) ⁽⁴⁾ Dr. Laura Reimer, Winnipeg Hon. Justice Jennifer Pfuetzner, Winnipeg ⁽²⁾

⁽¹⁾ Judge
⁽²⁾ Lay Person
⁽³⁾ U of M Law Representatives
⁽⁴⁾ Lawyer

Mandate:

The Commission is established under *The Law Reform Commission Act* (the Act). Pursuant to sections 6 and 7(2) of the Act:

Authority:

The Law Reform Commission Act

Responsibilities:

6 The duties of the commission are to inquire into and consider any matter relating to law in Manitoba with a view to making recommendations for the improvement, modernization and reform of law, including, without limiting the generality of the foregoing:

- a) The removal of provisions of the law that are outdated or inconsistent;
- b) The maintenance and improvement of the administration of justice;
- c) The review of judicial and quasi-judicial procedures under any Act; The development of new approaches to, and new concepts of, law in keeping with and responsive to the changing needs of society and of individual members of society; and
- d) Any subject referred to it by the minister of Justice

7(2) In the performance of its duties, the commission may:

 a) Institute and direct research, as it considers necessary, including studies and research relating to the laws and legal systems and institutions of other jurisdictions in Canada or elsewhere; (b) receive and consider any proposals for the reform of the law that may be made or referred to it by any body or person; b) Undertake any study pursuant to its duties as a joint project of the commission and any one or more other law reform commissions, agencies or bodies in Canada or elsewhere, and enter into such contractual or other arrangements as it considers necessary to carry out a joint project, including arrangements for the provision of personnel or other resources of the commission to any such commission, agency or body; and may do such other things and take such other measures as the commission considers advisable for the achievement of its objects.

Membership:

The commission shall be composed of not less than five (5) and not more than seven (7) commissioners appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council on the recommendation of the minister:

- (a) At least one of whom shall be a judge of the Court of Queen's Bench;
- (b) At least one of whom shall be a full-time member of the Faculty of Law of the University of Manitoba;
- (c) At least one of whom shall be a barrister and solicitor entitled to practise in the province, and who is not in the full-time employ of the Government of Manitoba or any agency thereof; and
- (d) At least one of whom is not a lawyer.

The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint one of the members of the commission, who shall be a lawyer, as president of the commission.

Length of Terms:

A commissioner is to hold office during good behaviour for a term which may not exceed three (3) years. A commissioner whose term of office has expired may be reappointed and continues to hold office until a successor is appointed.

Desirable Expertise:

Must have an interest in reforming law in a wide range of areas, the ability to read, digest, reflect upon, and discuss draft reports, often quite complex, prepared by the Commission's legal counsel and contract researchers, and poses a robust amount of common sense.

Time Commitment and Meetings:

The Commission meets in Winnipeg seven to eight times per year, meetings beginning late in the afternoon and lasting usually two hours. Additional time is required for meeting preparation and review of relevant material.

Location: Virtual or In-person (405 Broadway, Winnipeg)

Remuneration:

President:	\$15,000 per year
Commissioners:	\$7,500 per year