Clerk of the Executive Council

Clerk of the Executive Council

Don Leitch is Manitoba’s Clerk of the Executive Council, Secretary of Cabinet and Head of Manitoba’s Public Service.

Manitoba’s Public Service

The Government of Manitoba includes departments, agencies, Crown corporations and other reporting entities. Its core government workforce of over 12,000 people makes up Manitoba’s Public Service. The public service:

Learn more about our strategy for transforming Manitoba’s Public Service

Learn more about working in Manitoba’s Public Service

best employers image

Manitoba’s Clerk of the Executive Council

Don Leitch, the Clerk of Executive Council, is the Deputy Minister to the Premier, Secretary of Cabinet and Head of Manitoba’s Public Service. He is responsible to the Premier and all ministers for the effective operation of their respective departments.

Don has served on numerous boards, commissions, and task forces provincially and nationally, including the boards of the Forks-North Portage Development Corporation, the International Institute for Sustainable Development, The Multiple Sclerosis Society, and the Poverty Reduction Council at the United Way of Winnipeg.

Don served as a Deputy Minister in British Columbia with responsibility for economic development, international investment and trade, small business, and tourism. He also led the initiative to establish Travel Alberta as a Crown Corporation and was its first CEO. Most recently, Don served as President and CEO of the Business Council of Manitoba from 2014-2020.

For over a decade Don has been on the International Advisory Committee of the Royal Winnipeg Ballet. In June 2017, Leitch was elected Chair of the Board of Directors of the RWB.

Don was awarded the 2000 Lieutenant Governor’s Gold Medal for Excellence in Public Administration (Manitoba), and the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal.

Meet the team

The Clerk of Executive Council and Secretary of Cabinet is supported in his role by a Deputy Secretary of Cabinet and leads an executive team that includes 14 deputy ministers and the secretary to Treasury Board. The Deputy Ministers:

Contact Manitoba’s Deputy Ministers