Header Side Menu Content Footer
Government of Manitoba
Disabilities Issues Office

Accessibility Advisory Council

MONDAY, APRIL 23, 12:00 P.M. – 3:00 P.M.

Present: Jim Derksen (Chairperson), Yvonne Peters (Vice-Chairperson),  Judy Redmond, Diane Scribe Niiganii, Chris Summerville, Lanny McInnes, Diane Driedger, Jim Baker, Doug Momotiuk, Scott Jocelyn, Karen Pirnie, John Wyndels

Absent (with regrets): Eileen Clarke

The Agenda and Minutes of the Meeting on April 10 were approved by all members without changes.

The Council went over the public discussion paper, which had been recently completed.  Several members of the Council had comments on the paper, but found it to be clearly-written and well done in a tight time frame.

The Council then discussed how best to present the discussion paper at the May 8th public consultation event.  It was agreed that the background section on legislation in Manitoba is very helpful as an introduction to the purpose and scope of law in the province.  It will also help in clarifying the end goal of the Council’s initial recommendations.

The Council agreed that a cut-off date should be set, up to which questions and comments from the public would be considered prior to finalizing the recommendations of the Council.  The date agreed upon was June 5th, 2012.  While comments received after that date may still be brought to the attention of the Council, this cannot be assured due to the June 16th deadline for the final report.

The Chairperson has begun the process of consolidating previous Council recommendations into what will form the basis of the report on the Council’s initial recommendations.  Future meeting dates were set up to the 2nd full week in June.

Share This