OSPC: About Pension Legislation in MB

Pension Commission of Manitoba

The Pension Commission of Manitoba is an independent, decision-making body who hears appeals of orders of the Superintendent of Pensions. It also sets the rules that govern the hearing process. The commission also reviews applications for surplus refunds under the act and advises the Minister of Manitoba Finance on pension policy matters.

Commission Members

The commission has at least five and not more than nine members, including a chair and vice-chair. Commission members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. The commission has exclusive authority to exercise the powers conferred under The Act.

The Commission

Commission members

Chair: Michelle Redekopp is a partner/lawyer specializing in corporate and commercial law with MLT Aikins. She was recognized in Best Lawyers for Mergers & Acquisitions Law in 2020 and Real Estate Law in 2019 and is a leading practitioner in the Canadian Legal Expert Directory. She is the former director of the Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute, Chair of the Business Law Subsection for the Manitoba Bar Association among many others. Ms. Redekopp holds a LLB from the University of Manitoba and a BA from the University of Winnipeg and was called to the bar in 1994.

Vice-Chair: Kevin McFadden is the President of McFadden Benefits, Pension & Wellness. He serves as a member of the Ducks Unlimited Canada National Board of Directors and has been Chair of the Health Sciences Centre Foundation Board of Directors and President of the Ronald McDonald House Board of Directors. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Manitoba.

Greg Gillis provides family and business wealth management and financial planning services at Lawton Partners Wealth Management Ltd. as well as actuarial and pension consulting services through Lawton Partners Pension & Actuarial Services Ltd. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and the Society of Actuaries, and holds the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation. Prior to joining Lawton Partners in 2004, Greg was a vice president with a global actuarial and benefits consulting firm, where he provided pension, actuarial, and investment services to organizations of all sizes.

Tim Kurbis is the Managing Partner with Taylor McCaffrey LLP. He has been a member of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection Board of Directors, Downtown Business Improvement Zone and Past Chair of the Fort Whyte Foundation Executive Committee. He holds a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Manitoba and was called to the Manitoba Bar in 1991.

Tim McGorman has 30 years of experience as a consultant and actuary and is responsible for actuarial and investment consulting in all types of pension and other retirement programs. Tim was appointed as Vice-Chair on the Manitoba Pension Commission and has served since 2010. Part of this has been as Chair. He is a member of the Designated Group that is reviewing the CIA’s Commuted Value Standards of Practice. Tim graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons.) degree and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, and has also obtained the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Carla Milne is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA) with MNP’s Assurance and Business Advisory team working in Real Estate and Construction and Succession. She has served as President of Construction Association of Rural Manitoba, Government Relations Chair Brandon Chamber of Commerce and currently on Board of Governors of Assiniboine Community College. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Business/Commerce from Brandon University and holds a Chartered Accountant Designation.

Top of page