OSPC: About Pension Legislation in MB

Pension Commission of Manitoba

The Pension Commission of Manitoba is an independent, decision-making body who hears appeals of orders of the Superintendent of Pensions. It also sets the rules that govern the hearing process. The commission also reviews applications for surplus refunds under the act and advises the Minister of Manitoba Finance on pension policy matters.

Commission Members

The commission has at least five and not more than nine members, including a chair and vice-chair. Commission members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. The commission has exclusive authority to exercise the powers conferred under The Act.

The Commission

Commission members

Chair: Tim McGorman has 30 years of experience as a consultant and actuary and is responsible for actuarial and investment consulting in all types of pension and other retirement programs. Tim was appointed to the Manitoba Pension Commission in 2010 and currently serves as the Chair of the Manitoba Pension Commission. Tim is a member of CFA Society Winnipeg and is the Chair of the Prairie Regional Council of the Association of Canadian Pension Management (ACPM). He is a past member of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) Pension Plan Financial Reporting Committee (PPFRC) and currently serves on the Designated Group that is reviewing the CIA's Commuted Value Standards of Practice. Tim Graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons.) degree and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, and has also obtained the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Vice-Chair: Michelle Redekopp is a partner with MLT Aikins practising in the area of corporate and commercial law. She was called to the bar in 1994 and has served on several boards including the Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute Board of Directors, the Manitoba Chamber Small Business Committee and the Pension Commission of Manitoba (1997-1999).

Greg Gillis provides family and business wealth management and financial planning services at Lawton Partners Wealth Management Ltd. as well as actuarial and pension consulting services through Lawton Partners Pension & Actuarial Services Ltd. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and the Society of Actuaries, and holds the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation. Prior to joining Lawton Partners in 2004, Greg was a vice president with a global actuarial and benefits consulting firm, where he provided pension, actuarial, and investment services to organizations of all sizes.

Barbara Hanchard is responsible for the management and administration of the University of Manitoba's group insurance plans and three pension plans covering a total of 5,200 active members. She is secretary to the University Pension Committee and Staff Benefits Committee. Before joining the University in 1988, Barbara worked for a major life insurance company.

Kevin Harold started his career in 2007 as an advisor and senior manager with a leading Canadian financial services institution. From 2012 to 2015 he was vice-president of business development covering Manitoba and Saskatchewan for two of the largest insurance brokerage firms in the country. In 2015, he joined Crescent Financial Group as a Managing Partner. He is an active member of the community. His volunteer experience includes serving as a director of the Guyanese Association of Manitoba, a Folklorama volunteer/emcee, and a member of the Rady JCC Sports Dinner committee. He currently sits on the Advocis (the Financial Advisors Association of Canada) board as Past President of the Winnipeg chapter, as well as on the National Advisory Council of his insurance brokerage firm representing Western Canada.

Craig Sheldon CPA, CA is the Executive Vice President, Finance & Chief Financial Officer at Richardson International. He has served on various boards including the Victoria General Hospital Foundation, Richmond Kings Community Centre and Southwood Golf and Country Club.

Top of page