

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 1

FIRST SESSION, THIRTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

This being the first meeting of the Thirty-Seventh Legislature for the dispatch of business pursuant to a Proclamation of His Honour PETER LIBA, Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Manitoba, W.H. Remnant, Esquire, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, laid upon the Table of the House three reports submitted by the Chief Electoral Officer, pursuant to subsection 142(1) of The Elections Act, a Roll and a list, returned at the General Election held on September 18, 1999, to serve in this Legislature, and having been authorized to administer the Oath to the Members present who, after having taken the Oath and subscribed the Roll, took their seats in the House.

ELECTORAL DIVISION	MEMBER ELECTED	RETURNING OFFICER
Arthur-Virden	MAGUIRE, Larry	Cole, Fred
Assiniboia	RONDEAU, Jim	Bartlett, Fran
Brandon East	CALDWELL, Drew	Couturier, Cheryl
Brandon West	SMITH, Scott	Edwards, Don G.
Burrows	MARTINDALE, Doug	Reimer, Emily
Carman	ROCAN, Denis	Rheault, Evelyn
Charleswood	DRIEDGER, Myrna	Gillespie, Grace
Concordia	DOER, Gary	LaFrance, Verna
Dauphin-Roblin	STRUTHERS, Stan	Tycholis, Erv
Elmwood	MALOWAY, Jim	Janzen, Carla
Emerson	PENNER, Jack	Friesen, Wilbert
Flin Flon	JENNISSEN, Gerard	Munro, Bill
Fort Garry	SMITH , Joy	Motheral, Violet
Fort Rouge	SALE, Tim	Trueman, Bob
Fort Whyte	LOEWEN, John	Chevrier, Pierre
Gimli	HELWER, Ed	Strachan, Evelyn
Inkster	BARRETT, Becky	Michie, Petrusia
Interlake	NEVAKSHONOFF , Thomas G.	Sigurdson, Ingrid
Kildonan	CHOMIAK, David Walter	Hayes, George
Kirkfield Park	STEFANSON, Eric	Archer, Linda
La Verendrye	LEMIEUX, Ron	Saindon, Lucie
Lac du Bonnet	PRAZNIK, Darren	Koss, Doris
Lakeside	ENNS, Harry J.	Boyd, Robert
Lord Roberts	McGIFFORD, Diane	Johnson, Craig

NC 1	CHARGHANDED H. 11	D 1 D '	
Minnedosa	GILLESHAMMER, Harold	Peckover, Dennis	
Minto	MIHYCHUK, MaryAnn	Bettof, Betty	
Morris	PITURA, Frank	McCrady, Larry	
Pembina	DYCK, Peter George	Fingas, Irene	
Point Douglas	HICKES, George	McLauchlan, Tom	
Portage La Prairie	FAURSCHOU, David	Waldvogel, Glenn	
Radisson	CERILLI, Marianne	Yasinski, Lorraine	
Riel	ASPER, Linda	Snodgrass, Huguette	
River East	MITCHELSON, Bonnie	Kenning, Carole	
River Heights	GERRARD, Jon	Paterson, Lynne	
Rossmere	SCHELLENBERG, Harry	Lazaruk, Vicki	
Rupertsland	ROBINSON, Eric	Boyce, Caron	
Russell	DERKACH, Len	Fulton, Verna	
Seine River	DACQUAY, Louise M.	Wilford, Donna	
Selkirk	DEWAR, Gregory	Gillespie, Fay	
Southdale	REIMER, Jack	Krahn, Rosaline	
Springfield	SCHULER, Ron	Chernetz, Louise	
St. Boniface	SELINGER , Gregory F.	Johnson, Gisele	
St. James	KORZENIOWSKI, Bonnie	Yewdall, Bronwen	
St. Johns	MACKINTOSH, Gord	Heide, Dan	
St. Norbert	LAURENDEAU, Marcel	Sitarz, Lorna	
St. Vital	ALLAN, Nancy	Pfaff, Margaret	
Ste. Rose	CUMMINGS, Glen	Bohn, Gerrine	
Steinbach	PENNER, Jim	Janzen, Helen	
Swan River	WOWCHUK, Rosann	Farguson, Judith M.	
The Maples	AGLUGUB, Cris L.	Tokar, Vera	
The Pas	LATHLIN, Oscar	Hyde, Hazel	
Thompson	ASHTON, Steve	Pronyk, Margaret	
Transcona	REID, Daryl Gary	Paskaruk, Patricia	
Turtle Mountain	TWEED, Mervin C.	Dearsley, Sheila	
Tuxedo	FILMON, Gary	Peever, Carol	
Wellington	SANTOS, Conrad	Vader, Margaret	
Wolseley	FRIESEN, Jean Myfanwy	Barringer, Bev	
<i>J</i>	, J · · J	3 , ·	

(Sessional Paper No. 1)

And the House having met,

His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor having entered the House, took his seat on the Throne.

Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH then said:

"I am directed by His Honour the Lieutenant Governor to inform you that he will not declare the causes of calling this Legislature until a Speaker has been elected in accordance with the law."

His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor was then pleased to retire.

Pursuant to the provision of Rule 7, the House proceeded to the Election of Speaker.

The Clerk informed the House that the following Members declared their intention to stand as candidates for the Election of Speaker:

Mr. George HICKES, Member for the Electoral Division of Point Douglas

Mr. Conrad SANTOS, Member for the Electoral Division of Wellington

Mr. Denis ROCAN, Member for the Electoral Division of Carman

Mr. Marcel Laurendeau, Member for the Electoral Division of St. Norbert

Members then proceeded to cast their ballots.

The Clerk, being satisfied that the voting procedure had been completed, proceeded with the counting of the ballots.

The House recessed during the counting of the ballots.

The House resumed and the Clerk informed the House that Mr. George HICKES, Member for the Electoral Division of Point Douglas, had been duly elected to the Office of the Speaker.

And the Clerk having declared Mr. George HICKES, duly elected, he was conducted to the Chair by Hon. Mr. DOER and Mr. FILMON, and invested with the Speaker's robes of office, when he returned his acknowledgements to the House as follows:

"Honourable Members of the Thirty-Seventh Legislative Assembly:

I wish to thank the Members for the high honour the House has conferred on me. I leave the floor of this House to take the Speaker's Chair. I leave behind all political and partisan feelings and I intend to carry out the important duties of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly with impartiality and to the best of my ability."

Thursday, November 18, 1999

And thereupon took his seat in the Speaker's Chair.

And the Mace was laid upon the Table.
His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, having re-entered the House, took his seat on the Throne.
Mr. Speaker then spoke to the following effect:
"Your Honour, the Legislative Assembly has elected me as its Speaker. On behalf of the Assembly, it is my duty to claim all the Assembly's traditional rights and privileges, especially the privilege of freedom of speech in debate and access to your Honour when required. I ask you to give the most favourable consideration to the Assembly's proceedings."
Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH then said:
"Mr. Speaker:
His Honour is confident that the Assembly's proceedings will be conducted with wisdom and prudence. In addition, His Honour grants the Assembly's claim to its traditional rights and privileges. His Honour will declare the causes of calling of this Legislative Assembly on Thursday, November 25th at 1:30 p.m."
His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor was then pleased to retire.
MR. SPEAKER IN THE CHAIR
PRAYERS
On motion of Hon. Mr. DOER:
ORDERED that Conrad SANTOS, Member for the Electoral Division of Wellington, be Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House and Deputy Speaker.
On motion of Hon. Mr. DOER:
ORDERED that Harry SCHELLENBERG, Member for the Electoral Division of Rossmere, be Deputy Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House.
On motion of Hon. Mr. DOER:
ORDERED that Bonnie KORZENIOWSKI, Member for the Electoral Division of St. James, be Deputy Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House.

Thursday, November 18, 1999

	On motion of Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH:		
Noven	ORDERED that when the House adjourns today it shall stand aber 25, 1999 at 1:30 p.m.	adjourned until	Thursday,
	Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH moved:		
	THAT this House do now adjourn.		
	And the Question being put,		
	It was agreed to.		
	The House then adjourned at 2:18 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov	vember 25, 1999.	
		Hon. Georg	ge HICKES, Speaker.