

PRAYERS

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented:

Mr. DYCK – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (M. Martens, B. Martens, R. Clark and others)

Mr. PENNER (Steinbach) – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (E. Giesbrecht, I. Bergen, I. Doerksen and others)

Mr. HELWER – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (P. Plett, M. Penner, R. Reimer and others)

Mr. ROCAN – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (E. Kroeker, H. Kroeker, B. Kroeker and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (M. Jones, I. Skibitzky, W. Levasseur and others)

Mr. ENNS – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (C. Horst, D. Muir, D. Wimmer and others)

Mr. PITURA – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (R. Waldner, D. Eiose, P. Friesen, and others)

Mr. FAURSCHOU – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (E. Wiebe, L. Wiebe, K. Grift and others)

Mr. PENNER (Emerson) – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (M. van Velthuizen, C. van Velthuizen, W. van Velthuizen and others)

The following petitions were read and received:

Mrs. SMITH (Fort Garry) – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (L. Cook, R. Bell, S. Jackson and others)

Mr. PENNER (Steinbach) – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (R. Chorney, D. Chorney, R. Anderson and others)

Mr. FAURSCHOU – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act. (D. Friesen, T. Friesen, D. Friesen and others)

Mr. PITURA – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act. (M. Siemens, S. Siemens, J. Siemens and others)

Mr. HELWER – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (G. Rempel, H. Kornelsen, E. Dueck and others)

Mr. DYCK – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (D. Byers, J. Byers, S. Legary and others)

Mr. ENNS – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act. (M. Reimer, M. A. Unger, M. Wall and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (A. Johnson, G. Klusowski, R. Klusowski and others)

Mr. ROCAN – Minister of Education and Training to withdraw Bill 12 – The Public Schools Amendment Act (H. Dyck, J. Dyck, S. Dyck and others)

Hon. Mr. DOER, the First Minister, made a statement regarding the 41st Annual Premiers' Conference which was held in Winnipeg during August 9 to 11, 2000.

Mrs. MITCHELSON and, by leave, Hon. Mr. GERRARD commented on the statement.

Hon. Mr. SELINGER presented:

Preliminary Financial Report for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2000.

(Sessional Paper No. 209)

Pursuant to Rule 23(1), Ms. ALLAN, Mrs. SMITH (Fort Garry), Messrs. AGLUGUB, DYCK and MARTINDALE made Members' Statements.

On motion of Mr. DYCK:

ORDERED that the composition of the Standing Committee on Industrial Relations be amended as follows:

Mrs. SMITH (Fort Garry) for Mr. FAURSCHOU, Mr. LOEWEN for Mr. PITURA, Mr. ENNS for Mr. TWEED.

The House resumed the Adjourned Debate on the Proposed Motion of Hon. Mr. SELINGER:

THAT Bill (No. 38) – The Statute Law Amendment (Taxation) Act, 2000/Loi de 2000 modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière de fiscalité, be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee of this House.

And the debate continuing,

And Mr. LOEWEN having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was agreed to.

The Bill was accordingly read a Second Time and referred to a Committee of this House.

Hon. Mr. SELINGER delivered to Mr. Speaker a message from His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Manitoba as follows:

PETER LIBA Lieutenant Governor

The Lieutenant Governor transmits to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, revised Estimates of sums required for the services of the Province for Capital Expenditures, and recommends these revised Estimates to the Legislative Assembly.

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA July 11, 2000

(Sessional Paper No. 210)

On motion of Hon. Mr. SELINGER, the said message, together with the estimates accompanying the same, be referred to the Committee of Supply for consideration and report.

Mr. Speaker having left the Chair and the House resolving itself into a Committee to consider of the Supply to be granted to Her Majesty;

And the House continuing in Committee.

By leave, Mr. SANTOS, Chairperson of the Committee of Supply, presented the Report of the Proceedings of the Committee of August 14, 2000 as follows:

CAPITAL SUPPLY

The following resolution was adopted:

RESOLVED that there be granted to HER MAJESTY a sum not exceeding ONE BILLION, THIRTY MILLION Dollars (\$1,030,000,000.00) for CAPITAL SUPPLY, for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2001.

SCHEDULE A

Incremental Capital Authority Requirements For Non-Budgetary Programs, 2000/2001

Health Capital Program	\$ 480,000,000
Manitoba Lotteries Corporation	195,000,000
The Manitoba Agricultural Credit Corporation	169,500,000
The Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board	133,500,000
Manitoba Industrial Opportunities Program	16,500,000
Communities Economic Development Fund	10,800,000
The Manitoba Water Services Board	7,400,000
Special Operating Agencies Financing Authority	
- Fleet Vehicles Agency	6,300,000
Manitoba Housing and Renewal Corporation	5,000,000
Economic Development Initiatives	5,000,000
The Manitoba Film and Sound Recording Development Corporation	 1,000,000

<u>\$1,030,000,000</u>

Resolution was reported.

Report was received and the Committee of Supply obtained leave to sit again.

The House then adjourned at 6:00 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, August 15, 2000.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.