

# PRAYER

### 9:30 O'CLOCK A.M.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed to have two sections of Committee of Supply to meet to consider the concurrence motion in the Chamber and in Room 255 for the afternoon of Monday, September 29, 2003.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed that the quorum requirements and any recorded votes arising in Room 255 be waived for the afternoon of Monday, September 29, 2003.

The House resolving into Committee of Supply. The Proceedings were interrupted at 12:00 p.m. with the understanding that the Committee of Supply would resume following Routine Proceedings.

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Health to consider enhancing training programs for dialysis nurses in Manitoba, such that staffing shortages in this area are filled and to consider the importance of providing short-term dialysis services for out-of-province visitors to Manitoba. (B. Dolinski, J. Vagi, B. Smith and others)

Mr. DYCK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Family Services and Housing to consider changes to the departmental policy that pays family members a reduced amount of money for room and board when they care for their special needs dependents at home versus the amount paid to a non-parental care provider outside the family home and to consider examining on a case-by-case basis the merits of paying family members to care for special needs dependents at home versus paying to institutionalize them. (F. Billaney, V. Ksiazek, J. Fisher and others)

Mr. GOERTZEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Conservation to consider implementing a Conservation Closure for Lake Sturgeon in the Red River including its tributaries from the St. Andrews Locks to Lake Winnipeg. (N. Claydon, D. Houston, A. Shewchuk and others)

Mr. REID, Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Crown Corporations, presented its First Report, which was read as follows:

### Meetings:

Your Committee met on Wednesday, September 24, 2003 at 6:30 p.m. in Room 255 of the Legislative Building.

### Matters under Consideration:

- Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2002
- Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2003

## **Committee Membership:**

Your Committee elected Mr. REID as the Chairperson.

Your Committee elected Ms. MELNICK as the Vice-Chairperson.

Substitutions received prior to commencement of the meeting:

- Mr. DEWAR for Mr. MALOWAY
- Hon. Mr. SMITH for Ms. KORZENIOWSKI
- Hon. Mr. SALE for Hon. Mr. SELINGER
- Mr. REID for Mr. SCHELLENBERG
- Mr. BJORNSON for Mr. STRUTHERS
- Mrs. MITCHELSON for Mr. REIMER
- Mr. TWEED for Mrs. STEFANSON

### **Officials Speaking on Record:**

- Mr. Bob Brennan, President and Chief Executive Officer
- Mr. Vic Schroeder, Chairman

### **Reports Considered and Adopted:**

Your Committee considered the Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2002 and has adopted the same as presented.

On motion of Mr. REID, the Report of the Committee was received.

Hon. Mr. SELINGER presented:

Annual Report of The Property Registry Agency for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003.

(Sessional Paper No. 56)

Annual Report of the Companies Office for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003. (Sessional Paper No. 57)

Annual Report of the Vital Statistics Agency for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003. (Sessional Paper No. 58)

Annual Report of the Automobile Injury Compensation Appeal Commission for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003.

(Sessional Paper No. 59)

Annual Report of the Residential Tenancies Commission for the year ending December 31, 2002. (Sessional Paper No. 60)

Annual Report of the Residential Tenancies Branch for the year ending December 31, 2002. (Sessional Paper No. 61)

Annual Report of the Manitoba Securities Commission for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003. (Sessional Paper No. 62)

Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK presented:

Annual Report of the Department of Intergovernmental Affairs for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003.

(Sessional Paper No. 63)

Annual Report of The Manitoba Water Services Board for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003. (Sessional Paper No. 64)

Annual Report of the Conservation Districts of Manitoba for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003.

(Sessional Paper No. 65)

Hon. Mr. ROBINSON presented:

Annual Report of the Manitoba Film and Sound Development Corporation for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003.

(Sessional Paper No. 66)

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Messrs. RONDEAU, DERKACH, ALTEMEYER and GOERTZEN and Ms. IRVIN-ROSS made Members' Statements.

The House resolving into Committee of Supply.

### IN THE COMMITTEE

In the combined sections of Committee of Supply meeting in the Chamber on September 29, 2003, a voice vote was held, whereupon a formal vote was requested and held on the motion previously moved by Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH on September 25, 2003, "THAT the Committee of Supply concur in all supply resolutions relating to the Estimates of Expenditure for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2004, which have been adopted at this session, whether by a section of the Committee of Supply or by the full Committee". The motion was carried (28-20).

Hon. Mr. ASHTON moved:

THAT this House concur in the report of the Committee of Supply respecting concurrence in all supply resolutions relating to the estimates of expenditure for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2004.

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

#### YEA

Aglugub	MALOWAY
Allan	MARTINDALE
ALTEMEYER	Melnick
ASHTON	NEVAKSHONOFF
BJORNSON	OSWALD
Brick	Reid
CALDWELL	Robinson
Сноміак	Rondeau
DEWAR	SANTOS
DOER	SCHELLENBERG
IRVIN-ROSS	SELINGER
Jennissen	Smith
ЈНА	STRUTHERS
Korzeniowski	WOWCHUK
LEMIEUX	

# NAY

CUMMINGS	MAGUIRE
DERKACH	MITCHELSON
Driedger	MURRAY
Dyck	Penner
Eichler	Reimer
Faurschou	Rocan
Gerrard	Rowat
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON
LAMOUREUX	TAILLIEU
Loewen	TWEED

The report of the Committee was accordingly concurred in.

The House then adjourned at 5:25 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, September 30, 2003.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.