

PRAYER

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Transportation consider the immediate installation of traffic signals at the intersection of PTH #15 and Highway #206 in Dugald and to recognize the value of the lives and well-being of the students and citizens of Manitoba. (D. Raynard, L. Bass, J. Hartmann and others)

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Minister of Health to consider rethinking her refusal to allow an ophthalmologist to practice in Swan River and to consider working with the community to provide this service without further delay. (D. Driedger, L. Grieger, M. Blythe and others)

Mr. GRAYDON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister responsible for the administration of The Liquor Control Act to consider working with MLCC to find alternate means of addressing rising administrative costs; and to consider working with MLCC to revise the decision to implement a significant annual license fee increase; and to consider ensuring that the unique challenges faced by small businesses are better taken into account in the future. (G. Hoffmann, R. Greaves, L. Kaartinen and others)

Mr. BOROTSIK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Education Citizenship and Youth consider removing education funding by school tax or education levies from all property in Manitoba and consider finding a more equitable method of funding education such as general revenue following the Constitutional funding of education by the Province of Manitoba. (M. Malcolm, L. Brown, M. Harding and others)

Mr. LAMOUREUX – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Premier of Manitoba consider how important it is to have the Seven Oaks Hospital provide full emergency services seven days a week 24 hours a day. (A. Allard, V. Allard, L. Agapito and others)

Mr. DERKACH, Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts, presented its First Report, which was read as follows:

Your Committee met on December 14, 2009 in Room 255 of the Legislative Building.

Matters under Consideration

• To consider the election of a new Vice-Chairperson

Committee Membership

- Mr. BOROTSIK
- Ms. BRAUN
- Ms. BRICK
- Mr. DERKACH (Chairperson)
- Mr. DEWAR
- Mr. JHA
- Mr. LAMOUREUX
- Mr. MAGUIRE
- Mr. MARTINDALE
- Mrs. Stefanson
- Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK

Your Committee elected Mr. DEWAR as the Vice-Chairperson.

On motion of Mr. DERKACH, the Report of the Committee was received.

Ms. BRICK, Vice-Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Legislative Affairs, presented its First Report, which was read as follows:

Meetings:

Your Committee met on December 14, 2009 at 4:00 p.m. in Room 255 of the Legislative Building.

Matters under Consideration

• The appointment of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner

Committee Membership

- Ms. BLADY
- Ms. BRAUN
- Ms. BRICK
- Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK
- Mr. CULLEN
- Mr. GOERTZEN
- Mr. HAWRANIK
- Hon. Ms. HOWARD
- Mr. JENNISSEN
- Mr. PEDERSEN
- Mr. REID

Your Committee elected Ms. BLADY as the Chairperson.

Your Committee elected Ms. BRICK as the Vice-Chairperson.

Motions

Your Committee agreed to the following motions:

• THAT the Committee recommends to the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council that Mr. Ron Perozzo be appointed as the Conflict of Interest Commissioner for a term not to exceed three years from date of commencement.

On motion of Ms. BRICK, the Report of the Committee was received.

Hon. Ms. MCGIFFORD presented:

Annual Report of the Red River College for the year ending June 30, 2009.

(Sessional Paper No. 13)

Annual Report of the Assiniboine Community College for the year ending June 30, 2009.

(Sessional Paper No. 14)

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Mrs. MITCHELSON, Messrs. WHITEHEAD, PEDERSEN and JENNISSEN and Mrs. ROWAT made Members' Statements.

The House resumed the Adjourned Debate on the Proposed Motion of Mr. WHITEHEAD:

THAT the following address be presented to His Honour the Lieutenant Governor:

We, the Members of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba thank your Honour for the gracious speech addressed to us at this Fourth Session of the Thirty-Ninth Legislature of Manitoba.

And the debate continuing,

And Ms. BRAUN, Mr. BOROTSIK, Hon. Mr. ASHTON, Messrs. GOERTZEN, SARAN and DERKACH and Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK having spoken,

And the Question being put on the main motion. It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

Allan	Lemieux
ALTEMEYER	Mackintosh
ASHTON	Marcelino
BLADY	Martindale
Bjornson	McGifford
BRAUN	NEVAKSHONOFF
BRICK	OSWALD
CALDWELL	Reid
Сноміак	Rondeau
DEWAR	SARAN
HOWARD	Selby
IRVIN-ROSS	STRUTHERS
Jennissen	SWAN
JHA	WHITEHEAD
Korzeniowski	WOWCHUK
NAY	
Borotsik	GRAYDON
BRIESE	HAWRANIK
Cullen	LAMOUREUX
DERKACH	MAGUIRE
DRIEDGER	MCFADYEN
EICHLER	MITCHELSON
Faurschou	
	PEDERSEN
	PEDERSEN SCHULER
GERRARD GOERTZEN	Pedersen Schuler Stefanson18

The House then adjourned at 4:40 p.m., Tuesday, December 15, 2009.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.