

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 56

FOURTH SESSION, THIRTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 10:00 O'CLOCK A.M.

	By leave, it was agreed for the House to deal with Second Reading of Bill (No. 232).
	Mr. GOERTZEN moved:
	THAT Bill (No. 232) – The Employment and Income Assistance Amendment Act (Restricting nce — Outstanding Warrants)/Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'aide à l'emploi et au revenu (restriction de – mandats d'arrestation non exécutés), be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee House.
	And a debate arising,
having	And Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Messrs. SWAN and STRUTHERS, Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF and Ms. BRICK spoken,
	And Mr. MARTINDALE speaking at 11:00 a.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.
Center:	In accordance with Rule 31(9), the Opposition House Leader announced that the Youth for Christ Supporting Winnipeg's Youth Resolution will be considered next Thursday, June 10, 2010.
	Mr. DYCK moved:
	Resolution No. 14: Putting Manitobans First

WHEREAS a 2003 report by the Manitoba Pension Commission included a number of recommendations for reforms to *The Pension Benefits Act*; and

WHEREAS only one of the recommendations outlined in the 2003 Pension Commission's report was implemented as a result of legislation that was passed in 2005; and

WHEREAS the Provincial Government waited until 2010 to prepare regulations to implement other components of the Bill; and

WHEREAS the Minister of Labour's rationale for waiting five long years after the legislation passed to implement the 2005 legislation was the complexity of the implementation; and

WHEREAS the current Provincial Government wastes no time implementing technically complicated legislation that provides a benefit to its party or members, including changes to the balanced budget legislation in 2008, 2009, and recently announced changes for 2010; and

WHEREAS the Provincial Government has passed and implemented other pieces of legislation in recent years that have resulted in a benefit to its party, including Bill 37 that was brought forward in 2008, introducing a new "vote tax" that was indexed to inflation; and

WHEREAS the Provincial Government has been sure to protect its own funding, and yet the Manitoba Teachers' Retirement Allowances Fund is not indexed to inflation, reducing income security for thousands of Manitobans; and

WHEREAS Manitobans deserve a government that is interested in serving all Manitobans, rather than a government that is fixated on its own interests.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Provincial Government to apply the same level of zeal for passing and implementing legislation that protects the interest of pensioners and everyday Manitobans, as it does for passing and implementing legislation that serves its own interests.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. DYCK, Hon. Ms. HOWARD and Messrs. BOROTSIK, WIEBE, DEWAR and CULLEN having spoken,

And Hon. Mr. BJORNSON speaking at 12:00 p.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Provincial Government consider immediately providing Revlimid as a choice to patients with Multiple Myeloma and their health care providers in Manitoba through public funding. (S. Dlot, R. Putzke, B. Murphy and others)

Mr. BRIESE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation to consider making the installation of traffic lights at the intersection of PTH 16 and PTH 5 North a priority project in order to help protect the safety of the motorists and pedestrians who use it. (B. Clark, B. Pedersen, L. Denbow and others)

Mr. DERKACH – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Conservation to consider immediately placing the recent changes to the Onsite Wastewater Management System (OWMS) Regulation under *The Environment Act* on hold until such time that a review can take place to ensure that they are based on sound science and to consider implementing the prohibition on wastewater ejector systems on a case-by-case basis as determined by environmental need in ecologically sensitive areas and to consider offering financial incentives to help affected Manitoba property owners adapt to these regulatory changes. (C. Radford, W. Rushka, W. Melnyk and others)

Hon. Mr. GERRARD— Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Provincial Government consider immediately providing Revlimid as a choice to patients with Multiple Myeloma and their health care providers in Manitoba through public funding. (T. A. Bailey, B. Smirnov, J. T. Mills and others)

Mr. LAMOUREUX – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Premier of Manitoba to consider the important role that community police offices can play in making our communities safer. (R. Villanueva, D. Camila, C. Herrera and others)

During Oral Questions, Mr. Speaker interjected and cautioned all Honourable Members regarding the use of the word "ignorant".

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Ms. BRICK, Mrs. MITCHELSON, Messrs. JHA and BRIESE and Ms. BLADY made Members' Statements.

Mr. GOERTZEN moved the following Opposition Day Motion:

THAT the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Minister of Justice to implement a departmental policy to ensure that every breach of a court order for a high risk offender is reported to police and that the total number of individuals who are in breach of their court orders under the supervision of probation services is reported on a quarterly basis.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Mr. SWAN, Messrs. EICHLER, DERKACH, DYCK, CULLEN, BOROTSIK, LAMOUREUX, MAGUIRE and FAURSCHOU, Mrs. DRIEDGER, Mr. BRIESE and Mrs. ROWAT having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

Thursday, June 3, 2010

YEA

ALLAN	Lamoureux	
ALTEMEYER	LEMIEUX	
ASHTON	MACKINTOSH	
BJORNSON	MAGUIRE	
BLAIKIE	MARCELINO	
BOROTSIK	MARTINDALE	
Braun	McFadyen	
BRICK	McGifford	
Briese	MELNICK	
CALDWELL	MITCHELSON	
СНОМІАК	NEVAKSHONOFF	
CULLEN	OSWALD	
DERKACH	PEDERSEN	
DEWAR	REID	
Driedger	RONDEAU	
DYCK	ROWAT	
EICHLER	SARAN	
FAURSCHOU	SELBY	
Gerrard	SELINGER	
GOERTZEN	STRUTHERS	
GRAYDON	SWAN	
HAWRANIK	WHITEHEAD	
HOWARD	Wiebe	
JENNISSEN	WOWCHUK 49	
Korzeniowski		

NAY

0

The House then adjourned at 5:06 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Monday, June 7, 2010.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.