

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 57

FOURTH SESSION, THIRTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The Clerk formally advised the Assembly that Mr. Speaker was unavoidably absent and called upon the Deputy Speaker to take the Chair pursuant to the Statutes. The Deputy Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. Driedger – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Provincial Government consider immediately providing Revlimid as a choice to patients with Multiple Myeloma and their health care providers in Manitoba through public funding. (T. Delaronde, T. Epier, A. Halliday and others)

Mr. BRIESE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to consider proceeding with the cheaper, shorter and more logical east side route, subject to necessary regulatory approvals, to save ratepayers hundreds of millions of dollars during these challenging economic times. (A. Bates, S. Mathison, W. L. Fraser and others)

Mr. LAMOUREUX – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Provincial Government consider immediately providing Revlimid as a choice to patients with Multiple Myeloma and their health care providers in Manitoba through public funding. (J. A. Beaton, E. Fuhro, M. Laing and others)

Mr. REID, Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Social and Economic Development, presented its First Report, which was read as follows:

Meetings:

Your Committee met on the following occasions in Room 254 of the Legislative Building:

- June 2, 2010
- June 3, 2010

Matters under Consideration

• **Bill (No. 31)** – The Budget Implementation and Tax Statutes Amendment Act, 2010/Loi d'exécution du budget de 2010 et modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière de fiscalité

Committee Membership

Committee membership for the June 2, 2010 meeting:

- Mr. Briese
- Mr. CULLEN
- Mr. Goertzen
- Hon. Ms. MARCELINO
- Mr. Martindale
- Mr. Nevakshonoff
- Mr. REID (Chairperson)
- Mr. SARAN
- Mrs. Stefanson
- Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS
- Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK

Your Committee elected Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF as the Vice-Chairperson.

Committee membership for the June 3, 2010 meeting:

- Mr. Borotsik
- Ms. Brick
- Mr. Dewar
- Mrs. Driedger
- Mr. Jennissen
- Hon. Mr. LEMIEUX
- Mr. MAGUIRE
- Mr. REID (Chairperson)
- Mrs. Stefanson
- Mr. WIEBE
- Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK

Your Committee elected Mr. WIEBE as the Vice-Chairperson.

Public Presentations

Your Committee heard the following 30 presentations on **Bill (No. 31)** – The Budget Implementation and Tax Statutes Amendment Act, 2010/Loi d'exécution du budget de 2010 et modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière de fiscalité:

June 2, 2010 meeting

Paul Cenerini Private Citizen

Shannon Martin Canadian Federation of Independent Business

Ernest Muswagon Private Citizen
Randy Porter Private Citizen
Sean Palsson Private Citizen
Pat Bowslaugh Private Citizen
Ray Sitter Private Citizen

Monday, June 7, 2010

Kevin Rebeck MB Federation of Labour
Colin Craig Canadian Taxpayer's Federation
Chuck Davidson (by leave) Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce

Mary Johnson Private Citizen

Cy Fien Gendis

Tara Walker & Steven Morrison (by leave) On. Screen Manitoba

David Sanders Private Citizen
Wayne Anderson Private Citizen

Kathy Litton Joint Canadian Tanning Association

Andrew Nichol Private Citizen
Michael Willcock Private Citizen
Michael Silicz Private Citizen
Darren Penner Private Citizen
Kyle Mirecki Private Citizen
Marty Morantz Private Citizen

June 3, 2010 meeting

George Gamby Private Citizen Peggy Prendergast Private Citizen Rick Negrvch Private Citizen Braydon Mazurkiewich Private Citizen Howard Rybuk Private Citizen **David Enns** Private Citizen Paula Havinxbeck Private Citizen Steven Penner Private Citizen

Written Submissions

Your Committee received three written submissions on **Bill (No. 31)** – The Budget Implementation and Tax Statutes Amendment Act, 2010/Loi d'exécution du budget de 2010 et modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière de fiscalité, from:

Peter John Clements Private Citizen

Richard Benoit Retired Teachers' Association of Manitoba (RTAM)

Pat Isaak Manitoba Teachers' Society

Bills Considered and Reported

• **Bill (No. 31)** – The Budget Implementation and Tax Statutes Amendment Act, 2010/Loi d'exécution du budget de 2010 et modifiant diverses dispositions législatives en matière de fiscalité

Your Committee agreed to report this Bill without amendment.

Mr. REID moved:

THAT the Report of the Committee be received.

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

ALLAN	MARCELINO
ALTEMEYER	Martindale
ASHTON	McGifford
BLADY	MELNICK
BLAIKIE	NEVAKSHONOFF
BJORNSON	OSWALD
Braun	Reid
CALDWELL	ROBINSON
CHOMIAK	RONDEAU
DEWAR	SARAN
HOWARD	SELBY
IRVIN-ROSS	SELINGER
JENNISSEN	STRUTHERS
JHA	SWAN
Korzeniowski	Wiebe
Lemieux	WOWCHUK33
MACKINTOSH	
NAY	Y
BOROTSIK	Lamoureux

BOROTSIK LAMOUREUX
BRIESE MAGUIRE
CULLEN MCFADYEN
DRIEDGER MITCHELSON
DYCK PEDERSEN
EICHLER ROWAT

GERRARD SCHULER
GOERTZEN STEFANSON

HAWRANIK

·

During Oral Questions, Hon. Mr. GERRARD rose on a Matter of Privilege regarding issues with the Children's Advocate and moved:

THAT this Matter be referred to a Standing Committee of this Legislature.

And Hon. Mr. BLAIKIE, Mr. HAWRANIK and Mr. LAMOUREUX having spoken.

WHEREUPON Madam Deputy Speaker informed the House she would take the matter under advisement.

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Hon. Mr. BLAIKIE, Mr. DYCK, Ms. KORZENIOWSKI, Mr. BRIESE and Ms. BLADY made Members' Statements.

Monday, June 7, 2010

Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK moved:

THAT Bill (No. 17) – The Biofuels Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les biocarburants, be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee of this House.

(Recommended by His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor)

And a debate arising.

spoken,	And Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK, Mr. BOROTSIK, Hon. Mr. GERRARD and Mr. LAMOUREUX having
	The debate was allowed to remain open.
	Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK presented:
revenue	Message from His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor recommending the disposition of public for Bill (No. 17).
	(Sessional Paper No. 63)
	The House then adjourned at 5:00 n m, until 10:00 a m. Tuesday, June 8, 2010

The House then adjourned at 5:00 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, June 8, 2010.

Marilyn BRICK, Deputy Speaker.