

## PRAYER

## 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petition was presented and read:

Mr. EWASKO – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government and the Minister of Health to ensure that the Beausejour District Hospital and Primary Care Centre have a primary care physician available on weekends and holidays to better provide area residents with this essential service. (D. Dawson, L. Tomasson, R. Bonneteau and others)

Hon. Mr. ASHTON presented:

Supplementary Information for Legislative Review 2014-2015 – Departmental Expenditure Estimates – Infrastructure and Transportation.

(Sessional Paper No. 24)

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Messrs. PIWNIUK, CALDWELL, EICHLER, NEVAKSHONOFF and PEDERSEN made Members' Statements.

Hon. Mr. SWAN presented:

Sequence for consideration of the Estimates by the Committee of Supply, both in the Chamber and outside the Chamber.

(Sessional Paper No. 25)

In accordance with Rule 31(8), the Government House Leader announced that the JUNO Awards Resolution will be considered next Tuesday, March 25, 2014.

By leave, it was agreed for the Leader of the Official Opposition and critics to have staff members join them in the Chamber during Estimates.

The House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Motion of Hon. Ms. HOWARD:

THAT this House approves in general the budgetary policy of the Government.

And the proposed amendment moved by Mr. PALLISTER as follows:

THAT the motion be amended by deleting all of the words after "House" and substituting:

therefore regrets that this budget neglects the priorities of Manitobans by:

- a) failing to repeal the massive tax and fee increases imposed in Budget 2012 and Budget 2013 including the PST hike the Provincial Government previously referred to as "ridiculous" and promised never to impose; and
- b) disrespecting Manitobans by refusing to hold the legally required referendum before increasing the PST and going to court in 2014 to permanently remove the rights of Manitobans to vote on major tax increases; and
- c) breaking the promise to eliminate the structural deficit of nearly \$400 million created by years of government mismanagement and overspending despite record federal transfers, historically low interest rates and record government revenues; and
- d) failing to address the growing threat to services Manitobans count on such as health and social supports which are severely impacted by the more than \$32 billion provincial debt, a debt which was created by overspending even with record federal transfers, historically low interest rates and record government revenues; and
- e) breaking the promise to seniors by failing to provide promised tax relief; and
- f) neglecting vulnerable Manitobans by ignoring repeated calls from the Official Opposition and anti-poverty coalitions to immediately raise the Employment and Income Assistance rental allowance rates to 75% of median market rents; and
- g) failing to relieve the income tax burden for low income families; and
- h) ignoring repeated calls from the Official Opposition and independent experts to review the Provincial Government's \$25 billion Manitoba Hydro expansion gamble which has already resulted in dramatic hydro rate increases for Manitoba families and will continue to impose dramatic hydro rate increases for generations to come; and
- i) failing to encourage business confidence by stifling economic growth through excessive red tape and worsening the already uncompetitive tax environment by raising the PST; and
- j) continuing the Provincial Government's isolationist trade policies by failing to act on the repeated calls of the Official Opposition, leading employers and industry groups to join the New West Partnership.

As a consequence, the Provincial Government has thereby lost the confidence of this House and the people of Manitoba.

And the debate continuing on the amendment,

And Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Ms. SELBY, Mrs. ROWAT, Hon. Mr. SELINGER, Mr. FRIESEN and Hon. Ms. HOWARD having spoken.

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was negatived, on the following division:

## YEA

Briese	MITCHELSON
Cullen	PALLISTER
Driedger	Pedersen
Eichler	Piwniuk
Ewasko	Rowat
Friesen	SCHULER
GOERTZEN	Smook
GRAYDON	STEFANSON
Helwer	WISHART19
MARTIN	

#### NAY

Allan	MALOWAY
ALLUM	MARCELINO (Logan)
ALTEMEYER	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
ASHTON	Melnick
BLADY	NEVAKSHONOFF
CALDWELL	OSWALD
CHIEF	Pettersen
Сноміак	Robinson
CROTHERS	Rondeau
DEWAR	SARAN
GAUDREAU	Selby
GERRARD	SELINGER
HOWARD	STRUTHERS
IRVIN-ROSS	SWAN
JHA	WHITEHEAD
Kostyshyn	WIEBE
Lemieux	WIGHT
Mackintosh	

And the Question being put on the main motion. It was agreed to, on the following division:

# YEA

Allan	Maloway
Allum	MARCELINO (Logan)
Altemeyer	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
ASHTON	Melnick
Blady	NEVAKSHONOFF
CALDWELL	OSWALD
CHIEF	Pettersen
Сноміак	Robinson
CROTHERS	Rondeau
DEWAR	SARAN
Gaudreau	Selby
Howard	Selinger
IRVIN-ROSS	STRUTHERS
JHA	SWAN
Kostyshyn	WHITEHEAD
Lemieux	WIEBE
Mackintosh	WIGHT

# NAY

BRIESE	MARTIN
Cullen	MITCHELSON
Driedger	PALLISTER
Eichler	Pedersen
Ewasko	Piwniuk
Friesen	Rowat
GOERTZEN	SCHULER
Gerrard	Smook
GRAYDON	STEFANSON
Helwer	WISHART20

The House then adjourned at 5:10 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 19, 2014.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.