

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 24

SECOND SESSION, FORTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE

PRAYER AND LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

10:00 O'CLOCK A.M.

MLA CROSS moved:

THAT Bill (No. 208) – The Manitoba Small Business Month Act (Commemoration of Days, Weeks and Months Act Amended)/Loi sur le Mois de la petite entreprise au Manitoba (modification de la Loi sur les journées, les semaines et les mois commémoratifs), be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee of this House.

And a debate arising,

And MLA CROSS having spoken,

And Mr. PERCHOTTE, MLA PANKRATZ, Messrs. NARTH and WHARTON and Mrs. HIEBERT having questioned the Member,

And the debate continuing,

And Messrs. PERCHOTTE and NARTH and Mrs. HIEBERT having spoken,

And Mr. WHARTON speaking at 11:00 a.m. The debate was allowed to remain in their name.

Pursuant to Rule 34, the Deputy Government House Leader announced that the Private Member's resolution titled "Encouraging Manitobans to Support Local" will be considered on the next Tuesday of Private Members' Business.

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

Pursuant to sub-rule 28(1), Hon. Min. FONTAINE, Messrs. PIWNIUK, BLASHKO, GOERTZEN and MLA LOISELLE made Member's statements.

The following petitions were presented and read to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba:

MLA LAMOUREUX – To urge the Provincial Government to recognize Little Mountain Park as an at-risk ecosystem and as a potential ecosystem preservation zone; to recognize the impact of the proposed route on Little Mountain Park, The Players Course, the neighbouring Little Mountain Sportsplex, and the citizens and tourists who use and visit them; and to seek an alternate route that would avoid the area while still providing adequate ingress and egress to the CentrePort Canada Way, such as the old Sturgeon Road route, and avoid expropriating land unnecessarily.

MLA BEREZA – To urge the Provincial Government to support the investment and placement of an MRI machine in the Portage Regional Health Facility in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba.

Ms. BYRAM – To urge the Provincial Government to address the conditions of Provincial Trunk Highway 34, making the necessary upgrades to RTAC standard and to resurface the road once the new bridge has been completed.

Mrs. COOK – To urge the Provincial Government to proceed with the planned renovation and expansion of Phoenix School without further delay.

Mr. EWASKO – To urge the Provincial Government to remove the federal carbon tax on home heating bills for all Manitobans to provide them much needed relief.

Mr. NARTH – To urge the Minister of Education and Early Childhood Learning to immediately bring back the three portable classrooms to help alleviate the stress and overcrowding classrooms; and to urge the Provincial Government to reinstate the expansion project for Green Valley School.

Mr. JACKSON – To urge the Minister of Education and Early Childhood Learning to reverse recent amendments to the Teaching Certificates and Qualifications Regulation that weaken subject-area requirements for teacher certification, and to reinstate teachable majors and minors and early-middle years requirements, which are essential for ensuring teachers have strong knowledge in core subject areas; and to urge the Provincial Government to address teacher shortages through alternative measures that uphold rigorous subject-area standards, which are critical for providing quality education to all Manitoba students.

93

By leave, the House agreed to amend the debate provisions in the Ethics Report motion process, initially agreed to on October 2, 2024, replacing the original debate rotation with the following:

All Members may speak to the motion, in the following sequence:

- first, the subject of the complaint, or a member of their party;
- followed by the complainant, or a member of their party;
- followed by a rotation between speakers from each recognized party;
- followed by an independent Member;
- followed by any Members wishing to speak, repeating this rotation.

In accordance with the provisions agreed to by the House on October 2, 2024, and subsequently amended, the House considered the following motion:

THAT the Legislative Assembly accept the Report of the Ethics Commissioner regarding the Honourable Member for Fort Rouge, dated February 19, 2025, and approve the recommendation contained therein.

And a debate arising,

And Hon. Min. FONTAINE and Mr. WASYLIW having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was agreed to.

The House resumed the debate on the proposed resolution of Hon. Min. FONTAINE:

WHEREAS the tariffs by U.S. President Donald Trump threaten Canada's sovereignty and economic security; and

WHEREAS Manitoba is a powerhouse of clean hydroelectricity, critical minerals, and brilliant, hardworking people who drive innovation and prosperity; and

WHEREAS Manitobans look out for each other as it is the Manitoba way; and

WHEREAS now more than ever, the people of this province need to stick together, stand up for each other, and take decisive action to fight for Manitoban jobs, industries and resources; and

WHEREAS Manitobans are stronger standing together; and

WHEREAS Manitobans love Canada; and

WHEREAS Canada will never become the 51st state.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba stands united in defense of the province, its workers, and its industries against President Donald Trump's tariff tax and threats, which threaten Canada's sovereignty and economic security.

And the debate continuing,

And leave having been denied to have the matter remain in the name of Hon. Min. ASAGWARA,

And Mr. SCHULER, Hon. Mr. MOSES, Mr. GOERTZEN, MLA PANKRATZ and Mr. PIWNIUK having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

AYE

ASAGWARA	LATHLIN
BALCAEN	LOISELLE
BEREZA	MALOWAY
BLASHKO	MARCELINO
Brar	Moroz
BUSHIE	Moses
BYRAM	MOYES
Cable	NARTH
CHEN	NAYLOR
COMPTON	NESBITT
Соок	OXENHAM
CROSS	PANKRATZ
DELA CRUZ	PERCHOTTE
DEVGAN	PIWNIUK
EWASKO	REDHEAD
FONTAINE	SALA
GOERTZEN	SANDHU
GUENTER	SCHMIDT
HIEBERT	SCHOTT
JACKSON	SCHULER
KENNEDY	SIMARD
Khan	SMITH
Kinew	STONE
King	WHARTON
Kostyshyn	Wiebe
LAMOUREUX	WOWCHUK52
	NAY
	2
	0

The House then adjourned at 5:00 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 12, 2025.

Hon. Tom LINDSEY, Speaker.