

Manitoba

OPENING DAY

PROCEDURE

for the

Third Session of the Forty-Second

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Wednesday, October 7, 2020

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ADAMS, Danielle	NDP	Thompson
ALTOMARE, Nello	NDP	Transcona
ASAGWARA, Uzoma	NDP	Union Station
BRAR, Diljeet	NDP	Burrows
BUSHIE, Ian	NDP	Keewatinook
CLARKE, Hon. Eileen	PC	Agassiz
Cox, Hon. Cathy	РС	Kildonan-River East
CULLEN, Hon. Cliff	PC	Spruce Woods
DRIEDGER, Hon. Myrna B.	РС	Roblin
EICHLER, Hon. Ralph	РС	Lakeside
EWASKO, Wayne	РС	Lac du Bonnet
FIELDING, Hon. Scott	PC	Kirkfield Park
FONTAINE, Nahanni	NDP	St. Johns
FRIESEN, Hon. Cameron	РС	Morden-Winkler
GERRARD, Hon. Jon	LIB	River Heights
GOERTZEN, Hon. Kelvin	РС	Steinbach
GORDON, Audrey	PC	Southdale
GUENTER, Josh	PC	Borderland
GUILLEMARD, Hon. Sarah	PC	Fort Richmond
HELWER, Hon. Reg	PC	Brandon West
ISLEIFSON, Len	PC	Brandon East
JOHNSON, Derek	PC	Interlake-Gimli
JOHNSTON, Scott	PC	Assiniboia
KINEW, Wab	NDP	Fort Rouge
LAGASSÉ, Bob	PC	Dawson Trail
LAGIMODIERE, Alan D.	PC	Selkirk
LAMONT, Dougald	LIB	St. Boniface
LAMOUREUX, Cindy	LIB	Tyndall Park
LATHLIN, Amanda	NDP	The Pas-Kameesak
LINDSEY, Tom	NDP	Flin Flon
MALOWAY, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARCELINO, Malaya	NDP	Notre Dame
MARTIN, Shannon	PC	McPhillips
MICHALESKI, Brad	PC	Dauphin
MICKLEFIELD, Andrew	PC	Rossmere
MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice	PC	Seine River
MOSES, Jamie	NDP	St. Vital
NAYLOR, Lisa	NDP	Wolseley
NESBITT, Greg	PC	Riding Mountain

PALLISTER, Hon. Brian	PC	Fort Whyte
PEDERSEN, Hon. Blaine	PC	Midland
PIWNIUK, Doyle	PC	Turtle Mountain
REYES, Jon	PC	Waverley
SALA, Adrien	NDP	St. James
SANDHU, Mintu	NDP	The Maples
SCHULER, Hon. Ron R.	PC	Springfield-Ritchot
SMITH, Andrew	PC	Lagimodière
SMITH, Bernadette	NDP	Point Douglas
SMOOK, Dennis	PC	La Vérendrye
SQUIRES, Hon. Rochelle	PC	Riel
STEFANSON, Hon. Heather	PC	Tuxedo
TEITSMA, James	PC	Radisson
WASYLIW, Mark	NDP	Fort Garry
WHARTON, Hon. Jeff	PC	Red River North
WIEBE, Matt	NDP	Concordia
WISHART, Ian	PC	Portage la Prairie
WOWCHUK, Rick	PC	Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant Mr. Tim Abbott, Clerk Assistant Ms. Katerina Tefft, Clerk Assistant Mr. Dave Shuttleworth, Sergeant-at-Arms Mr. Ray Gislason, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE THIRD SESSION OF THE FORTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE OCTOBER 7, 2020

- 1. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk and the Pages enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Private Secretary delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary.

ALL MEMBERS STANDING.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the songs "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be played without vocal accompaniment.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, be taken into consideration tomorrow."

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

12. ALL MEMBERS STANDING.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks and Pages, exits the Chamber.