

Manitoba

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

Fourth Session of the Forty-Second

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ADAMS, Danielle **NDP** Thompson ALTOMARE, Nello **NDP** Transcona ASAGWARA, Uzoma NDP Union Station BRAR, Diljeet **NDP** Burrows BUSHIE, Ian **NDP** Keewatinook PC CLARKE, Hon. Eileen Agassiz Cox, Hon. Cathy PC Kildonan-River East CULLEN, Hon. Cliff PC Spruce Woods DRIEDGER, Hon. Myrna B. PC Roblin EICHLER, Hon. Ralph PC Lakeside EWASKO, Hon. Wayne PC Lac du Bonnet PC Kirkfield Park FIELDING, Hon. Scott FONTAINE, Nahanni **NDP** St. Johns FRIESEN, Hon. Cameron PC Morden-Winkler GERRARD, Hon. Jon LIB River Heights GOERTZEN, Hon. Kelvin PC Steinbach GORDON, Hon. Audrey PC Southdale PC Borderland **GUENTER**, Josh GUILLEMARD, Hon. Sarah PC Fort Richmond PC **HELWER**, Hon. Reg Brandon West PC ISLEIFSON, Len Brandon East JOHNSON, Hon. Derek PC Interlake-Gimli PC Assiniboia JOHNSTON, Scott KINEW, Wab **NDP** Fort Rouge LAGASSÉ, Bob PC Dawson Trail LAGIMODIERE, Hon. Alan D. PC Selkirk LAMONT, Dougald LIB St. Boniface Tyndall Park LAMOUREUX, Cindy LIB LATHLIN, Amanda NDP The Pas-Kameesak **NDP** Flin Flon LINDSEY, Tom NDP Elmwood MALOWAY, Jim **NDP** Notre Dame MARCELINO, Malaya MARTIN, Shannon PC **McPhillips** MICHALESKI, Brad PC Dauphin MICKLEFIELD, Andrew PC Rossmere PC Seine River MORLEY-LECOMTE, Janice St. Vital Moses, Jamie **NDP** NAYLOR, Lisa **NDP** Wolseley NESBITT, Greg PC Riding Mountain

	PEDERSEN,	Blaine	PC	Midland
--	-----------	--------	----	---------

PIWNIUK, DoylePCTurtle MountainREYES, Hon. JonPCWaverleySALA, AdrienNDPSt. JamesSANDHU, MintuNDPThe Maples

SCHULER, Hon. Ron R.PCSpringfield-RitchotSMITH, AndrewPCLagimodièreSMITH, BernadetteNDPPoint DouglasSMOOK, DennisPCLa Vérendrye

SQUIRES, Hon. RochellePCRielSTEFANSON, Hon. HeatherPCTuxedoTEITSMA, JamesPCRadissonWASYLIW, MarkNDPFort GarryWHARTON, Hon. JeffPCRed River North

WIEBE, Matt NDP Concordia

WISHART, Ian PC Portage la Prairie
WOWCHUK, Rick PC Swan River
Vacant - Fort Whyte

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Ms. Patricia Chaychuk, Clerk

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Ms. Monique Grenier, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Tim Abbott, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Katerina Tefft, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Vanessa Gregg, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Dave Shuttleworth, Sergeant-at-Arms

Mr. Cam Steel, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms

THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOURTH SESSION OF THE FORTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE NOVEMBER 23, 2021

- 1. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All Members of the Legislative Assembly proceed to their seats in the Chamber and remain standing. All Members of the Legislative Assembly participating virtually must remain seated.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk, the Clerk Assistant and the Pages enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Private Secretary delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then reads the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire, accompanied by the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary.

ALL MEMBERS STANDING.

Prior to exiting the Chamber, the songs "God Save the Queen" and "O Canada" will be played without vocal accompaniment.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

10. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, be taken into consideration tomorrow."

11. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

12. ALL MEMBERS STANDING.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks and Pages, exits the Chamber.