Bulletin #2020-38

MUNICIPAL RELATIONS

Important Notice to Elected Officials and Chief Administrative Officers

EXTENSION OF DIFFERENTIAL MILL RATE AUTHORITY

Differential mill rate authority will be extended until December 31, 2024 for municipalities that currently have this authority until December 31, 2022.

This extension recognizes that some municipalities have experienced more difficulty in making the transition to a single mill rate, and that the COVID-19 pandemic may have disrupted some municipalities' transitional plans.

Municipalities are still expected to transition during this time and align with the taxation framework and tools used by all municipalities to ensure transparency and accountability.

Municipal Relations staff will continue to provide transitional support to municipalities that are still using differential mill rates to allow them to successfully transition to a single mill rate. Department staff are available to provide analytical support for municipalities as tax policy options are considered. Assistance may also be provided with developing a transition plan that addresses the needs of your citizens.

If you have any inquiries, please contact a Municipal Services Officer at 204-945-2572 or email mrmca@gov.mb.ca.

Department of Municipal Relations

508 – 800 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg MB R3G 0N4