Manitoba
Version imprimable

Parcs et Réserves Naturelless

Trouvez votre parc préféré

Parcs de la région d’Entre-les-Lacs

Parc provincial d’Hecla / Grindstone
Sentier auto-guidé du village d'Hecla

fishing boat

g

Introduction

  1. Entrepôt de glace – La république de 12 ans
  2. Plaques commémoratives – La colonie de peuplement d’Hecla  
  3. Scierie – La foresterie
  4. Bateaux de pêche – Les pêcheries du lac Winnipeg  
  5. Église d’Hecla
  6. Maison de Vilhjalmur Sigurgeirsson – La vie sur le homestead
  7. Magasin général – Le commerce
  8. Maison-musée du patrimoine de l’île d’Hecla – La vie communautaire
  9. École d’Hecla – Le déclin de la colonie
  10. Salle communautaire – Le parc provincial d’Hecla / Grindstone

Bateau de pêche





  gvillage
Église d’Hecla, restauration terminée. 1973-1975
Introduction

Le sentier auto-guidé du village d’Hecla vous donne un aperçu du passé de l’île. Vous pouvez stationner à côté du quai du village ou derrière la salle communautaire, et visiter la pension Tomasson et le poste de débarquement du poisson avant de vous engager sur le sentier. Le sentier commence près de l’entrepôt de glace au nord du quai, longe le bord du lac jusqu’à l’église, puis revient au point de départ en passant devant le magasin et l’école.

Une exposition des outils de tous les jours utilisés par les habitants de l’île d’Hecla des années 1870 jusqu’à aujourd’hui a été aménagée dans le deuxième entrepôt de glace. La Direction des parcs et des réserves naturelles remercie M. Binnie Sigurgeirson, qui s’est procuré les artéfacts et a préparé l’exposition. L’exposition d’outils et l’intérieur des bâtiments historiques peuvent être visités lors de visites guidées. Veuillez consulter les affiches indiquant les activités d’interprétation ou demander l’heure des visites guidées à un interprète du parc.


Carte du village d'Hecla

map
Cliquer pour agrandir

-- haut de la page --


1. Entrepôt de glace
La république de 12 ans

villageLes colons islandais de l’île d’Hecla n’avaient pas la vie facile dans leur pays d’origine. Pour plusieurs, la perspective d’une meilleure vie en Amérique du Nord l’a emporté sur les dangers du voyage et l’hésitation à laisser leur famille et leurs amis derrière.

Car bien que ce ne soit pas le climat qui les pousse à chercher d’autres habitations, il y a d’autre raisons non moins urgentes. Les fréquentes pénuries de morue, récemment devenues un fléau alarmant, l’activité volcanique et l’impossibilité de jamais même parvenir à l’indépendance, peu importe l’énergie et le labeur consacrés, les ont mûris complètement pour une vaste émigration.
- Wm. C. Krieger, Report of the Icelandic Immigration Agent (25 mars 1976), traduction libre.

Le gouvernement canadien a établi la république de la Nouvelle-Islande en 1875 à l’intention exclusive des colons islandais. Elle leur offrait l’espoir d’une meilleure vie et leur permettait de pêcher et de faire de l’agriculture à temps partiel, comme la plupart d’entre eux le faisaient en Islande.

Leur vie en Nouvelle-Islande était différente à bien des égards. Ils ont dû construire des entrepôts de glace parce que les Nord-Américains préféraient le poisson frais plutôt que le traditionnel poisson séché prisé en Islande. Comme il était rare que l’océan autour de l’Islande gèle, ils ont aussi dû apprendre à pêcher sur l’épaisse glace d’hiver du lac Winnipeg.


Map of Iceland

-- haut de la page--


2. Plaques commémoratives
La colonie de peuplement d'Hecla

Nous en sommes arrivés à la conclusion qu’il sera à notre avantage de nous installer si près du bord du lac que chaque lot ne pourra être large que de 20 chaînes, et nous vous demandons par conséquent de faire en sorte que les lots donnant sur le lac du côté est de l’île aient une largeur de 20 chaînes et se prolongent vers l’arrière sur une distance suffisante pour que chacun contienne 160 acres.
- Lettre des colons de l’île d’Hecla au gouvernement canadien, 30 janvier 1877 (traduction libre)

Le côté ouest marécageux de l’île d’Hecla n’était pas un bon endroit où s’installer à cause des fréquentes inondations. La plupart des colons se sont donc établis sur la terre plus haute du côté est de l’île.

Chaque homestead a été nommé par son propriétaire, qui est vite devenu mieux connu par le nom de son homestead que par son nom de famille. Helgi Tomasson, par exemple, était le plus souvent appelé Helgi de Reynistad.

Les communications dans la colonie étaient remarquablement bonnes compte tenu de la difficulté des déplacements. En septembre 1877, le premier journal islandais a été publié à Riverton, alors appelé Lundi, et distribué partout dans la colonie.

-- haut de la page --


3. Scierie
La foresterie

Les chaudières et le moteur à vapeur qui rouillent au centre du village ont déjà fait fonctionner une scierie. La scierie qui était exploitée ici en 1876 était une des principales raisons pour lesquelles tant d’Islandais ont décidé de s’installer sur Hecla. En travaillant à la scierie ou en coupant des arbres, ils espéraient gagner l’argent nécessaire pour acheter le matériel de pêche et d’agriculture dont ils avaient grandement besoin.

La scierie a toutefois d’abord été décevante, changeant souvent de propriétaire et restant inutilisée pendant de longues périodes. En 1881, tout le bois facilement accessible près du village d’Hecla ayant été coupé, l’équipement original a été transféré à Gull Harbour. Ce déménagement n’a toutefois pas réussi, et l’équipement a été vendu et transporté à l’extérieur de l’île.

En 1913, cette scierie a été établie dans le village d’Hecla. Elle a été exploitée jusqu’en 1947, année où elle a été détruite par un incendie.

Sawmill equipment

-- haut de le page --


Fishing fleet
4. Bateaux de pêche
Les pêcheries du lac Winnipeg

Ce sont des pêcheurs islandais comme ceux de l’île d’Hecla qui ont développé la pêche commerciale sur le lac Winnipeg. Les poissons les plus en demande étaient le grand corégone, la laquaiche aux yeux d’or et, plus tard, le doré jaune. Les prises étaient bonnes au début, mais le nombre croissant de pêcheurs sur le lac a entraîné l’épuisement des stocks. En 1969, les prises de ces espèces avaient baissé à un niveau inquiétant et, quand la pêche a été interdite dans le lac entre 1970 et 1972 à cause de la pollution au mercure, bon nombre ont quitté l’industrie pour de bon.


Remorquage d’une flottille de pêche, vers 1907. (Collection des transports : bateau - Manitou 2) Archives du Manitoba


-- haut de la page --


village
Église originale de Hecla, s.d.
Collection Nouvelle-Islande 53
 Archives du Manitoba
5. Église d'Hecla

La religion jouait un rôle important dans la collectivité. Quand les Islandais sont arrivés, l’île a été desservie par deux pasteurs qui sillonnaient la Nouvelle-Islande et qui tenaient des services dans les maisons des habitants, jusqu’à ce que les églises soient construites. Un vif désaccord sur la doctrine de l’Église et le potentiel de la colonie régnait cependant entre les deux pasteurs, le révérend Thorlakson et le révérend Bjarnson. En 1878, convaincu que la colonie finirait par échouer, le révérend Thorlakson a mené un grand nombre de colons jusqu’à la région qui est maintenant le Icelandic State Park près de Cavalier, dans le Dakota du Nord. Seulement huit des 26 homesteads originaux d’Hecla sont demeurés occupés après l’exode, mais de nouveaux arrivants d’Islande ont pris la place de ceux qui étaient partis et l’Église est devenue une force vitale qui a aidé la collectivité à surmonter l’adversité de la vie de pionnier.

-- haut de la page --



6. Maison de Vilhjalmur Sigurgeirsson
village
La vie sur le homestead

Une fois surmontées les difficultés initiales de l’établissement d’un homestead, plusieurs ont été capables de se construire de confortables maisons en rondins. La culture du blé et de l’orge dans la colonie n’a pas réussi à cause des inondations et du gel précoce, mais en élevant du bétail et en pêchant, les gens parvenaient à se débrouiller.

Les familles étaient souvent séparées pendant des mois. Ce sont les femmes qui s’occupaient du homestead, puisque les hommes étaient partis à la pêche pendant la plus grande partie de l’année. Les hommes vivaient pendant des mois dans des camps de pêche dans le nord du lac où les corégones étaient plus abondants.


Labourage avec des bœufs, vers 1915
(Collection Nouvelle-Islande 312)
 Archives du Manitoba

-- haut de la page --


7. Magasin général
Le commerce

À part les quelques nécessités que les habitants de l’île obtenaient du magasin, la collectivité était en grande partie autonome. Le magasin fournissait les choses qu’on ne pouvait pas fabriquer sur le homestead, comme le sucre, la farine, le café, le tissu et la vaisselle. Plusieurs troquaient les légumes de leur potager ou du poisson pour ces produits, car peu d’habitants avaient de l’argent comptant au début de la colonie. Un des premiers magasins était situé à côté de la pension Tomasson. L’un comme l’autre étaient des attractions importantes, servant autant les voyageurs que les habitants.

Hecla's general store

-- haut de la page --


8. Maison-musée du patrimoine de l'île d'Hecla
La vie communautaire

Le village d’Hecla a atteint le sommet de sa prospérité dans les années 1920, époque où des maisons comme celle de Sigurgeir Sigugeirson ont été construites. Le musée est géré par la Hecla Island Heritage Society, une organisation sans but lucratif, qui aide Conservation Manitoba à interpréter le patrimoine islandais d’Hecla.

La Nouvelle-Islande a cessé d’être une colonie auto-administrée en 1887, année où elle s’est intégrée au Manitoba, mais la collectivité islandaise a continué de prospérer. La colonie était toutefois encore isolée sur l’île, ce qui était parfois un inconvénient considérable. Quand les habitants de l’île étaient gravement malades, il fallait les amener à l’hôpital de Gimli, car il n’y avait pas de médecin sur Hecla. C’était un voyage pénible et dangereux sur la glace mince de l’automne ou la glace incertaine du printemps.

village
Île d’Hecla, vers 1920 (Collection Nouvelle-Islande 52) – Archives du

-- haut de la page --


village
9. École d’Hecla
Le déclin de la colonie

Bien qu’Hecla ait réellement prospéré pendant de nombreuses années, la colonie a lentement décliné. La coupe du bois a cessé parce que le meilleur bois d’œuvre sur les bords du lac Winnipeg avait été épuisé. La pêche commerciale, principale source de revenu pour les insulaires, a cessé d’être rentable à cause de la concurrence et de la faiblesse des prix, et les terres agricoles ne s’étaient jamais avérées très productives. Quand l’école d’Hecla a fermé en juin 1970 dans le cadre du programme de regroupement des écoles, la plupart des dernières familles qui avaient des enfants d’âge scolaire ont quitté l’île elles aussi.


Fin de la journée scolaire à l’école d’Hecla, 1954 (1291-38645)
Western Canada Pictorial Index


-- haut de la page--



10. Salle communautaire
Le parc provincial d'Hecla / Grindstone

villageÀ la fin des années 1960, pour sauver leur collectivité et fournir de l’emploi, les habitants ont fait des démarches auprès du gouvernement provincial pour que l’île d’Hecla devienne un parc provincial. Le parc a été officiellement désigné en 1969 et aménagé grâce au Fonds de développement économique et rural (FODER), un fonds provincial et fédéral conjoint. Le village d’Hecla a maintenant été revitalisé pour montrer ce qu’il était en Nouvelle-Islande, de 1876 à aujourd’hui.

Suite aux changements de désignation prévus dans la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs provinciaux, les parcs d’Hecla et de Grindstone ont été fusionnés en 1997 pour former le nouveau parc provincial d’Hecla / Grindstone.


Helgi Tomasson (1916-2000), dont la famille a été parmi les premiers colons de l’île d’Hecla, a animé de nombreuses démonstrations de pêche commerciale pour les visiteurs du parc.

-- haut de la page--



fisherman

Manitoba
Printer Friendly

Parks and Protected Spaces

Find Your Favourite Park

Interlake Parks

Hecla / Grindstone Provincial Park
Hecla Village Self-guiding Trail
fishing boat g Introduction

  1. Ice House - The 12-Year Republic
  2. Memorial Plaques - Hecla Settlement
  3. Sawmill - Forestry
  4. Fishing Boats - Lake Winnipeg Fishery
  5. Hecla Church
  6. Vilhjalmur Sigurgeirsson House - Life on the Homestead
  7. General Store - Commerce
  8. Hecla Island Heritage Home Museum - Community Life
  9. Hecla School - Decline of the Settlement
  10. Community Hall - Hecla/Grindstone Provincial Park

Fishing boat



  gvillage
Hecla Church, restoration complete. 1973-1975
Introduction

Hecla Village Self-guiding Trail provides a glimpse of the island's past. Parking is provided next to the village wharf and behind the community hall, so you can visit the Tomasson's Boarding House and the Dockside Fish Station before starting out on the trail. It begins near the ice house north of the dock, follows the lakeshore as far as the church, and then returns past the store and school.

An exhibit of day-to-day tools used by the people of Hecla Island from the 1870s to the present day is located inside the second ice house. Parks and Protected Spaces Branch is grateful to Mr. Binnie Sigurgeirson who obtained the artifacts and prepared the display. The tools exhibit and the interiors of the historic buildings are accessible during guided tours. Please check interpretive event posters or ask a park interpreter for tour times.

Hecla Village Map

map
Click for larger map

-- top --


1. Ice House
The 12-Year Republic

villageLife in their homeland had not been easy for the Icelandic settlers of Hecla Island. For many, the prospects for a better life in North America outweighed the hazards of the journey and the reluctance to leave family and friends behind.

For while it is not the climate that compels them to seek other habitations, there are other and not less urgent reasons. The frequent failure of the cod, that lately has become an alarming evil, the volcanic action, and the impossibility of ever even acquiring an independence, no matter how much energy and labour is employed has ripened them completely for a heavy emigration.
- Wm. C. Krieger, Report of the Icelandic Immigration Agent. (March 25, 1976)

The Republic of New Iceland was established by the Canadian Government for exclusive settlement of Icelanders in 1875. It offered hope for a better life and enabled them to fish and farm part-time as most of them had done in Iceland.

Life in New Iceland was different in many ways. Ice houses had to be built because North Americans preferred fresh fish to the traditional dried fish popular in Iceland. Since the ocean around Iceland seldom froze over, people also had to learn how to fish through the thick winter ice on Lake Winnipeg.

Map of Iceland

-- top --


2. Memorial Plaques
Hecla Settlement

We have come to the conclusion that it will be to our advantage to settle so closely to the lakeshore as to leave each lot only 20 chains wide, and we do therefore apply to you to arrange that the lots fronting on the lake on the east side of the island be laid out to 20 chains wide extending so far back from the shore as is required to have them contain 160 acres each.
- Letter from the settlers of Hecla Island to the Canadian Government, January 30, 1877.

The marshy western side of Hecla Island was a poor place to homestead because of frequent floods. Therefore, most settled on the higher ground along the eastern side of the island.

Each homestead was named by its owner, who soon became better known by the name of the homestead than his last name. Helgi Tomasson, for example, was most often referred to as Helgi at Reynistad.

Communication in the settlement was remarkably good considering the difficulties of travel. In September 1877 the first Icelandic newspaper was published in Riverton, then known as Lundi, and distributed throughout the settlement.

-- top --


3. Sawmill
Forestry

The rusting boilers and steam engine lying in the centre of the village once powered a sawmill. The sawmill operating here in 1876 was a major reason why many Icelanders decided to settle on Hecla. By working at the mill or by cutting trees they hoped to earn money for the much-needed fishing and farming equipment.

However, the sawmill was initially a disappointment because its ownership changed frequently and it often lay unused for long periods. By 1881 all the readily available timber near Hecla Village had been used, so the original equipment was moved to Gull Harbour. The move was unsuccessful, though, and the equipment was sold and taken off the island.

In 1913, this sawmill was established in Hecla Village. It operated until 1947 when it was destroyed by fire.

Sawmill equipment

-- top --


Fishing fleet
4. Fishing Boats
Lake Winnipeg Fishery

Commercial fishing on Lake Winnipeg was pioneered by Icelandic fishermen like those on Hecla Island. Whitefish, goldeye and, later, walleye (pickerel) were the most sought-after fish. Catches were initially good but the stocks became depleted as more and more fishermen worked the lake. By 1969 catches of these species were alarmingly poor and, when the lake was closed to fishing between 1970 and 1972 due to mercury pollution, many left the industry for good.


Fishing fleet in tow, c. 1907. (Transportation collection: Boat - Manitou 2) Manitoba Archives


-- top --


village
Hecla's original church, n.d.
New Iceland collection 53
Manitoba Archives
5. Hecla Church

Religion played an important role in the community. When the Icelanders first arrived the island was served by two ministers who travelled throughout New Iceland and held services in homes until the churches were built. However, the two ministers, Reverend Thorlakson and Reverend Bjarnson, disagreed strongly on church doctrine and the potential of the colony. In 1878, convinced that the colony would eventually fail, Reverend Thorlakson led a large number of settlers to the area around what is now Icelandic State Park near Cavalier North Dakota. Only eight of the original 26 homesteads on Hecla remained occupied after the exodus, but new arrivals from Iceland took the place of those who had left and the church became a vital force in helping the community overcome the hardships of pioneer life.

-- top --



6. Vilhjalmur Sigurgeirsson House
village
Life on the Homestead

Once the initial hardship of establishing a homestead was overcome, many were able to build comfortable log homes. The cultivation of wheat and barley in the settlement was not successful due to floods and early frosts, but by raising livestock and by fishing they managed to get by.

Families were often separated for several months. The women looked after the homestead since the men were away fishing most of the year. The men lived for months at a time in fishing camps at the northern end of the lake where whitefish were more plentiful.


Ploughing with Oxen, c. 1915
(New Iceland Collection 312)
Manitoba Archives

-- top --


7. General Store
Commerce

Apart from the few necessities the islanders obtained from the store, the community was largely self-sufficient. The store supplied items that were not made on the homestead, such as sugar, flour, coffee, cloth and dishes. Many bartered their garden produce or fish for these goods as few had cash in the early days of the settlement. One of the first stores was located next to Tomasson's boarding house. Both the store and boarding house were important attractions, serving travellers and residents alike.

Hecla's general store

-- top --


8. Hecla Island Heritage Home Museum
Community Life

Hecla Village was at the peak of its prosperity in the 1920s when homes like that of Sigurgeir Sigugeirson were built. The museum is operated by Hecla Island Heritage Society, a not-for-profit organization, which assists Manitoba Conservation to interpret Hecla's Icelandic heritage.

New Iceland ceased to be a self-governing colony in 1887 when it became part of Manitoba, but the Icelandic community continued to thrive. The settlement was still isolated from the mainland, however, which occasionally proved to be a considerable disadvantage. When islanders were seriously ill they had to be taken to the hospital in Gimli as there was no doctor at Hecla. This was a difficult and dangerous journey over thin ice in the fall or uncertain ice in the spring.

village
Hecla Island, c. 1920 (New Iceland Collection 52) - Manitoba Archives

-- top --


village
9. Hecla School
Decline of the Settlement

Although Hecla did prosper for many years the settlement slowly declined. Logging ceased because the best timber along the shores of Lake Winnipeg had been used up. Commercial fishing, the main source of income for the islanders, became unprofitable due to competition and low prices, and the farmland never proved very productive. When Hecla School was closed in June 1970, as part of the school consolidation program, most remaining families with school-age children also left the island.


Children leave Hecla school, 1954 (#1291-38645)
Western Canada Pictorial Index


-- top --



10. Community Hall
Hecla/Grindstone Provincial Park

villageIn order to save their community and provide employment, the residents approached the provincial government in the late 1960s to have Hecla Island developed as a provincial park. The park was officially designated in 1969, and developed under the joint federal and provincial governments' Fund for Rural Economic Development (FRED). Hecla Village has now been revitalized to demonstrate what it was like in New Iceland, from 1876 until today.

As part of changes in designation under the new Provincial Parks Act, Hecla and Grindstone parks were combined as the new Hecla/Grindstone Provincial Park, in 1997.


Helgi Tomasson (1916-2000) whose family was among the first settlers on Hecla Island, provided many comercial fishing demonstrations for park visitors

-- top --



fisherman