Back to Conservation Districts

The district was initially formed as the Turtle Mountain Resource Conservation District in 1973, and officially became the Turtle Mountain Conservation District in 1978. The district is located along the international boundary in Southwestern Manitoba and covers 4,518 km². The CD includes all or part of the municipalities of Two Borders, Brenda-Waskada, Grassland, Deloraine-Winchester, Boissevain-Morton, and Killarney-Turtle Mountain.

Sustainable soil and water management is the primary objective of the district. The CD offers the following programs: abandoned well sealing, salinity seed assistance, grassed waterways, remote watering systems, small dam construction, wildlife habitat preservation, watershed management education and an annual water festival. Two completed watershed management plans for the East Souris River and Pembina River Watersheds guide the primary programming and activities for the district.

102 Broadway Street South, Box 508,
Deloraine, Manitoba, R0M 0M0
204.747.2530 (P)
204747.2956 (F)