Printer Friendly

Wildlife Branch

To view PDF files, you must have a copy of the Adobe Acrobat Reader which is available as a free download.

Get  Acrobat Reader


Special SD Areas

Special SD Areas are designated to protect unique species during critical times of the year and are posted annually. Five SCA's exist in Manitoba: 

  • Walter Cook SCA (163 ha)
  • Clandeboye Bay SCA (176 ha)
  • Grand Marais SCA (12 ha)
  • Sandy Bar SCA (18 ha)
  • Churchill SCA (35,823 ha)

Churchill SCA was created to protect Ross' Gull nests. The other four SCA's were created to protect nesting Piping Plovers.