Age-Friendly Manitoba Milestones Program

Age-Friendly communities can apply to be officially recognized by the Province of Manitoba, the Public Health Agency of Canada and the World Health Organization for achieving the Age-Friendly Milestones. 

The five Age-Friendly Milestones to achieve are: 

  1. Community Engagement Milestone:
    Establish an Age-Friendly Committee that includes the active engagement of older adults.
  2. Municipal Council Resolution Milestone:
    Secure a local municipal council resolution to actively support, promote and work toward becoming Age-Friendly.
  3. Action Plan Milestone:
    Establish a robust and concrete plan of action that includes a community consultation developed with older adults.
  4. Public Awareness Milestone:
    Demonstrate commitment to action by publicly posting the action plan.
  5. Measuring Outcomes Milestone:
    Commit to measuring activities and reporting publicly on action plan outcomes.

Once a community has completed the five Age-Friendly Community Milestones, they can apply to the government of Manitoba for official recognition.

Manitoba’s Recognized Communities

Since 2011, 28 Manitoba communities have achieved the Age-Friendly Milestones.


Emerson-Franklin, Municipality Stuartburn, RM Winkler, City


Beausejour , Town Brokenhead, RM Carman, Town
Cartwright, Village* Dufferin, RM Roblin, RM*
Selkirk, City Treherne, Town * Winnipeg, City


Gimli, RM Gladstone, Town* Hamiota, Town*
Harrison, RM* Killarney-Turtle Mountain, RM  Minitonas, RM and Town*
Rossburn, Town* Stonewall, Town Teulon, Town
Victoria, RM    


Dunnottar, Village Pinawa, LGD Portage la Prairie, City
Springfield, RM  Steinbach, City The Pas, Town

* These communities received recognition prior to municipal amalgamation in 2015. See this listing of Manitoba Municipalities for more information.

How to Apply for Age-Friendly Milestones:

Please contact the Department of Health, Seniors and Active Living at for more information.