BSCP accueil - Renseignements sur les pensions - Grandes lignes de la législation

Cessation d'emploi


L'objectif principal de la Loi sur les prestations de pension (la Loi) est de protéger les droits des employés à toucher les prestations qui leur sont promises en vertu des régimes de retraite privés. Vous trouverez ci dessous des réponses aux questions les plus souvent posées au sujet de la législation sur les pensions au Manitoba. Pour en savoir davantage à ce propos, nous vous invitons à consulter la Loi. Pour connaître les détails concernant le régime de retraite auquel vous participez (qui peut être plus généreux que ce que la Loi prévoit), vous devrez communiquer avec l'administrateur du régime.

NOTA - Vous trouverez des définitions des différentes options de régime de retraite et modalités abordées ci dessous au bas de cette page.

Quelles sont mes options si mon emploi prend fin?

Régimes à prestations déterminées

Si vous participez à un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées, vous avez le droit de recevoir des prestations de pension selon les modalités du régime. Toutes les sommes qui ne sont pas immobilisées peuvent être retirées.

Si vous n'avez pas atteint l'âge de la retraite anticipée établi dans le régime, vous devez pouvoir choisir ce que vous voulez faire, soit :

  • laisser l'argent dans le régime de retraite de l'employeur;
  • transférer les sommes immobilisées dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI).

Le participant à un régime à prestations déterminées qui a atteint l'âge de la retraite anticipée établie dans le régime pourrait n'avoir d'autre choix que de transférer les sommes immobilisées dans un compte de retraite immobilisé, si le régime le permet.

Régimes à cotisations déterminées

Si vous participez à un régime de retraite à cotisations déterminées, vous avez le droit de recevoir vos propres cotisations (le cas échéant) et celles versées par votre employeur en votre nom, plus les intérêts. Toutes les sommes qui ne sont pas immobilisées peuvent être retirées.

Vous devez pouvoir choisir ce que vous voulez faire, soit :

  • laisser l'argent dans le régime de retraite de l'employeur;
  • transférer les sommes immobilisées dans un compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI).

Exemple

Alfonso a commencé à participer à un régime de retraite à cotisations déterminées dès son embauche. Il a démissionné 18 mois après avoir commencé à Travailler. Alfonso aura droit à ses cotisations et à celles versées par son employeur.

Qu'est-ce qu'une cotisation excédentaire?

Si vous participez à un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées, vos prestations mensuelles sont établies par une formule en fonction de critères comme les gains et les années de service. Si vous devez verser des cotisations au régime, l'employeur doit verser au moins 50 % de la valeur des prestations de pension que vous avez accumulées après le 1er janvier 1985.

Exemple

Coût du régime de retraite.....................4 700 $
Cotisations de l'employé avec les intérêts (du 01-01-1985 jusqu'à la cessation d'emploi).....................4 000 $
Cotisation excédentaire : 4 000 $ - (4 700 $ x 50 %) = 1 650 $

Vous avez droit à une pension immobilisée de 4 700 $. Cette pension provient des cotisations égales de l'employé et de l'employeur (2 350 $ chacun), plus la cotisation excédentaire de l'employé.

La cotisation excédentaire peut :

  • être prise comme remboursement en argent;
  • servir à augmenter la pension du participant;
  • être transférée à un REER si la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu du Canada le permet pour votre régime.

Qu'est-ce qu'un déficit de transfert?

Il existe un déficit de transfert lorsque le participant au régime de retraite à prestations déterminées de son employeur est autorisé à transférer la valeur de ses prestations de pension à l'extérieur du régime de l'entreprise, mais que ce régime n'est pas entièrement capitalisé.

Qu'arrive-t-il en cas de déficit de transfert?

En cas de déficit de transfert, un montant initial de votre pension, basé sur le pourcentage de l'actif du régime, vous sera transféré. L'employeur aura alors cinq ans pour verser le reste des fonds au régime de retraite et combler ainsi le déficit de transfert, puis vous transférer par la suite le reliquat de votre pension plus les intérêts.

Exemple

Votre régime de retraite est financé à 90 % et le total des prestations auxquelles vous avez droit s'élève à 100 000 $.
La prestation initiale s'élèvera à 100 000 $ x 90 % = 90 000 $.
Le reliquat de votre pension s'établira à 100 000 $ - 90 000 $ = 10 000 $ plus les intérêts.

Quelles sont les règles régissant les relevés de mes prestations?

En vertu de la législation provinciale, lorsque votre emploi prend fin, l'administrateur du régime a 60 jours (ou 60 jours suivant la date à laquelle il prend connaissance de la cessation d'emploi) pour produire un relevé de vos prestations.

De combien de temps je dispose pour décider de la façon dont je veux recevoir mes prestations?

À titre de participant au régime, vous avez 90 jours pour décider de la manière dont vous voulez recevoir vos prestations.

Combien de temps faut-il prévoir pour le transfert des prestations?

Si vous choisissez de transférer vos prestations à l'extérieur du régime, l'administrateur du régime doit effectuer le paiement dans les 90 jours suivant la réception des documents nécessaires.

For more information, or if you have more questions about the act or regulations, contact the Office of Superintendent - Pension Commission at (204) 945-2740 in Winnipeg; 1-800-282-8069, extension 2740 toll free; or go to www.gov.mb.ca/labour/pension/index.fr.html.

Definitions

Compte de retraite immobilisé (CRI) : Placement qui permet à votre argent (prestations de pension) de continuer à fructifier et à accumuler des intérêts en étant maintenu (ou immobilisé) jusqu'au moment de la retraite. Les CRI remplacent les régimes enregistrés d'épargne retraite (REER) immobilisés, bien qu'ils fonctionnent de la même façon. Le CRI est une forme de REER régie par la législation provinciale. On y conserve les actifs des caisses de retraite immobilisées jusqu'au moment de la retraite.

Régime de retraite à cotisations déterminées : Régime en vertu duquel vous touchez, au moment de la retraite, une pension qui repose sur la valeur des cotisations que vous (si le régime l'exige) et votre employeur ont versées, plus les intérêts.

Régime de retraite à prestations déterminées : Régime en vertu duquel vous, en votre qualité de participant, touchez une pension calculée selon vos années de service et vos gains. Ce type de régime peut être contributif (l'employé doit verser des cotisations) ou non contributif (seule l'entreprise verse des cotisations).

Régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) : Régime d'épargne-retraite personnel régi par la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu du Canada.

Haut de page

OSPC - FAQS - Overview of Manitoba Pension Laws

Termination and ending employment


The main objective of The Pension Benefits Act (the act) is to protect employees' rights to the benefits that are promised under private pension plans.  The following are answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) about Manitoba's pension laws.  You should refer to the act for further information on Manitoba's pension laws.  To find out the details of your particular pension plan (the terms of your plan may be more generous than required by the act), you should contact the plan administrator.

NOTE: Descriptions of the various pension plan options and terms discussed in these answers can be found at the bottom of the page.

What are my options when my employment ends?

Defined Benefit Plans

If you are a member of a defined benefit pension plan, you are entitled to the pension benefits under the terms of the plan. Any funds not locked in are available as a cash withdrawal.

If you have not reached the early retirement age stated in the plan, you must be allowed to choose what you want to do, either:

  • leave the money in your employer's pension plan
  • transfer your locked-in funds to a Locked-in Retirement Account or
  • transfer your locked-in funds to a Pooled Registered Pension Plan.

A member of a defined benefit plan, who has reached the plan's early retirement age, may only transfer the locked-in funds to a Locked-in Retirement Account or Pooled Registered Pension Plan, if the plan allows it.

Defined Contribution Plans

If you are a member of a defined contribution pension plan, you are entitled to receive your own contributions (if any) and the contributions your employer made on your behalf, with interest. Any funds that are not locked in are available as a cash withdrawal.

You must be allowed to choose what you want to do, either:

  • leave the money in your employer's pension plan
  • transfer your locked-in funds to a Locked-in Retirement Account (LIRA) or
  • transfer your locked-in funds to a Pooled Registered Pension Plan.

For example:

Alfonso became a member of a defined contribution pension plan when he joined his company. He left the company 18 months after he started work. Alfonso will be entitled to his contributions and the contributions made for him by his employer.

What are excess contributions?

If you are a member of a defined benefit pension plan, your monthly pension is set by a formula, usually based on salary and years of service. If you are required to make contributions to the plan, your employer must pay at least 50 percent of the value of the pension benefits you earned after January 1, 1985.

For example:

Pension Cost.....................$4,700
Employee Contribution (from Jan. 1/85 to end date) with interest.....................$4,000
Excess Contribution: $4,000 - ($4,700 x 50%) = $1,650

You are entitled to a locked-in pension of $4,700. This is made up of equal contributions from you and your employer ($2,350 each), plus the excess employee contribution.

Excess contributions can:

  • be taken as a cash refund
  • used to increase your pension or
  • transferred to a Registered Retirement Savings Plan if the federal Income Tax Act allows it under your plan

What is a transfer deficiency?

A transfer deficiency occurs when you, as a member of your company's defined benefit pension plan, are entitled to transfer the value of your pension benefits out of the company plan, but the plan is not fully funded at the time.

What happens if there is a transfer deficiency?

When a transfer deficiency exists, an initial amount of your benefit will be transferred, based on the percentage of funding the plan has. Within five years, your employer must contribute the rest of the funds owning to the pension plan to cover the remainder (called the transfer deficiency) of your benefit. Then the plan administrator must transfer the remainder of the benefit, plus interest, to you.

For example:

The plan is 90 percent funded and your total benefit entitlement is $100,000.
Your initial benefit will be $100,000 x 90% = $90,000
The remaining benefit owing will be $100,000 - $90,000 = $10,000 plus interest

What are the rules for providing information on my benefits?

Under the provincial act, when your employment ends, the plan administrator has 60 days (or 60 days after the administrator becomes aware that your employment has ended) to provide a statement of your benefits.

How long do I have to decide how I want to receive my benefits?

You, as a plan member, have 90 days to choose how you want to receive your benefits.

How long does it take to transfer benefits?

If you are transferring your benefits out of the plan, the plan administrator must make the transfer within 90 days after the administrator has received all the necessary documents to do it.

For information on termination benefits and options under your pension plan, contact your plan administrator.

If you have more questions about the act or regulations, contact the Office of Superintendent - Pension Commission at (204) 945-2740 in Winnipeg; 1-800-282-8069, extension 2740 toll free; or go to www.gov.mb.ca/labour/pension.

Definitions

Defined benefit pension plan is a plan in which you as a member earn a pension based on service and earnings. These plans can be contributory (employees must make contributions) or non-contributory (only the company makes contributions).

Defined contribution pension plan is a plan in which you receive, at retirement, the pension that can be bought, based on the value of the contributions you (if required by the plan) and your employer made, plus interest.

Locked-in Retirement Account (LIRA) is an investment that allows your money (pension benefits) to continue to grow and accumulate interest while being held (or locked in) in the fund until you retire. LIRAs replace locked-in, Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs), although they operate in the same way. A LIRA is a RRSP that is governed by the provincial act and holds locked-in pension funds until they are used for retirement.

Pooled Registered Pension Plan (PRPP) is a defined contribution-style plan that is set up and administered by a licensed provider and administered by the financial institution.

Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP) is a personal retirement savings plan governed by the federal Income Tax Act (Canada).

Top of page