Manitoba Municipal Board

About the Municipal Board


The Municipal Board is comprised of a Chair, Vice Chair, and part-time members. The part-time members are appointed by Order-in-Council.

The Board usually sits as a panel of three with a Chair and two members. Some of the members have, by Board Resolution, been appointed as Acting Chairs. Board hearings are public hearings.

Current Board
Chair - Jeff Bereza
Vice-Chair - Lori Lavoie
Board Secretary - Brenda Loewen
Part-time Members:

Matt Allard
Anne Appleby
Denise Carlyle
Gordon Daman, Acting Chair
Marie Elliott, Acting Chair
Patrick Fortier
Robert Hanson
Douglas Houghton
Kathryn Jasienczyk
Steven Lupky
Budd Mager
Herm Martens
Maxine Plesiuk
Tom Raine
John Rudyk
Elisabeth Saftiuk
Maurice Tallarie
Sudesh Treon


The Municipal Board was established under the authority of The Municipal Board Act and is charged with the duty of performing those functions assigned to it under that Act or under any other Act of the Legislature.

A number of Acts of the Legislature, in addition to The Municipal Board Act, impose duties and responsibilities upon the Board. These include:

  • The Municipal Assessment Act
  • The Planning Act
  • The Municipal Act
  • The City of Winnipeg Charter
  • The Water Rights Act
  • The Public Libraries Act
  • The Special Surveys Act
  • The Heritage Resources Act
  • The Real Property Act
  • The Expropriation Act
  • The Highway Traffic Act
  • The Health Services Insurance Act
  • The Regional Waste Management Authorities Act
  • The Water Resources Administration Act
  • The Public Schools Act

The Board is not subject to direction by any Minister, member of the Legislative Assembly, or government official with respect to its quasi-judicial duties.

back to top

Share This