Site provincial du patrimoine du Manitoba n° 30

 

Édifice de la société A.E. McKenzie
30, 9e Rue,
Brandon

Édifice de la société A.E. McKenzie

Date de désignation : le 25 janvier 1988
Autorité responsable de la désignation : Mme Judy Wasylycia-Leis,
ministre de la Culture, du Patrimoine et des Loisirs
Propriétaire actuel : Regal Greetings & Gifts Inc.

Francis Bethel McKenzie est mort à Brandon en décembre 1896; il léguait son entreprise à son fils, Albert, qui l’a rebaptisée A.E. McKenzie & Company, en 1897. Homme d’affaires international d’une compétence indiscutable et mécène, Albert E. McKenzie (1870–1964) a géré l’entreprise jusqu’à sa mort. Sous sa direction, McKenzie Seeds est devenue la plus grande entreprises de production et de distribution de graines de l’ouest du Canada. Le Brandon Sun citait : « … graines McKenzie sont des mots courants dans toutes les demeures agricoles de l’ensemble de l’Ouest canadien. »

Le bureau et l’entrepôt de six étages en brique armée sont l’œuvre du célèbre architecte de Brandon, Thomas Sinclair; ils ont été érigés en 1910, pour la somme de 100 000 $, par la Brandon Construction Company sous la direction de Thomas Harrington. Cet édifice utilitaire est orné de touches décoratives telles que les volutes qui soutiennent la corniche du deuxième étage. Un réservoir pour le grain de quatre-vingts pieds ajouté en 1918, a été conçu et construit par la Fegles and Bellows Company.

Très intéressé par l’éducation supérieure, McKenzie a établi le A.E. McKenzie Endowment Fund en 1939, qui appuiera financièrement le Collège de Brandon. En 1941, il a reçu un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université du Manitoba. C’est dans le but d’assurer l’appui financier du collège que le reste des parts de McKenzie ont été remises au gouvernement provincial. A.E. McKenzie Co. est restée une société de la couronne jusqu’en décembre 1994, quand elle est passée au secteur privé.

Retourner à la liste de noms de site ou de régions

Manitoba
Printer Friendly

Explore Our Heritage

Set text to smallest size Set text to normal size Set text to larger size Set text to largest size

Manitoba Provincial Heritage Site No. 30

 

A.E. McKenzie Company Building
30-9th Street,
Brandon

 A.E. McKenzie Company Building

Designation Date: January 25, 1988
Designation Authority: Honourable Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Minister of Culture, Heritage and Recreation
Present Owner: Regal Greetings & Gifts Inc.

Francis Bethel McKenzie died in Brandon in December 1896 and bequeathed his business to his son, Albert, who renamed it A.E. McKenzie & Company in 1897. Dr. Albert E. McKenzie (1870–1964), who operated the company until his death, left a legacy as an eminent international businessman and philanthropist. Under his guidance, McKenzie Seeds became the largest seed production and distribution business in Western Canada. The Brandon Sun commented that "... ‘McKenzie Seeds’ are household words in every agricultural home in all Western Canada."

This six storey reinforced concrete and brick office and warehouse was designed in 1910 by Thomas Sinclair, a prominent Brandon architect, and constructed for $100,000 by the Brandon Construction Company under the supervision of Thomas Harrington. The utilitarian building has decorative highlights such as voluted shield capitals, which support the second-storey cornice. An eighty-foot concrete seed bin added in 1918 was designed and constructed by the Fegles and Bellows Company.

Keenly interested in higher education, McKenzie established the A.E. McKenzie Endowment Fund in 1939 to financially assist Brandon College. In 1941, he was given the honourary degree of Doctor of Laws by the University of Manitoba. To ensure financial support to the College, the balance of McKenzie’s shares in the corporation were turned over to the provincial government. A.E. McKenzie Co. remained a Crown corporation until December 1994, when it was returned to the private sector.

Return to list by Site Name or by Area