Manitoba Municipal Heritage Site No. 198


Davidson House
344 Main Street East,

Davidson House

Designation Date: July 25, 2000
Designation Authority: Town of Neepawa
Present Owner: privately owned

This impressive structure has been home to two of Neepawa's most prominent families. John A. Davidson, businessman, mayor, Member of the Legislative Assembly and Provincial Treasurer, built the house in 1887. It remained in the Davidson family until 1917 when it was bought by W.H. Guinn, who established the Guinn Brothers Marble and Granite Works. The present form of the house is largely the result of alterations carried out around 1901, when the original two-storey frame structure was enlarged and covered in brick. The result is a local landmark, with a picturesque roofline marked by gables, turrets and a high tower.

Return to Municipal Heritage Sites List