BSCP : Administration des pensions au Manitoba

Commission manitobaine des pensions


La Commission manitobaine des pensions est une instance décisionnelle indépendante qui entend les appels ayant trait aux ordres donnés par le surintendant des pensions. Elle établit aussi les règles régissant le processus d'audience. En outre, la Commission examine les demandes afférentes au remboursement du surplus en vertu de la Loi et conseille le ministre du Travail et de l'Immigration sur les enjeux politiques en matière de pension.

Membres de la Commission

La Commission compte de cinq à neuf membres, dont un président et une vice-présidente. Les membres de la Commission sont nommés par le lieutenant gouverneur. C'est le seul organisme habilité à exercer les pouvoirs conférés en vertu de la Loi.

La Commission

Membres de la Commission

Président: Tim McGorman possède 30 ans d'expérience à titre de consultant et d'actuaire et est responsable de la consultation en actuariat et en placements pour tous les types de régimes de retraite et autres programmes de retraite. Il a été nommé à la Commission manitobaine des pensions en 2010 et il occupe actuellement le poste de président de la Commission. Il est membre de la CFA Society Winnipeg et président du Conseil régional des Prairies de l'Association canadienne des administrateurs de régimes de retraite (ACARR). Il a été membre de la Commission des rapports financiers des régimes de retraite (CRFRR) de l'Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA) et fait actuellement partie du groupe désigné qui examine les normes de pratique de l'ICA sur la valeur actualisée. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat spécialisé en commerce de l'Université du Manitoba, Fellow de la Society of Actuaries et Fellow de l'Institut canadien des actuaires, et il a également obtenu le titre d'analyste financier agréé.

Vice-Présidente: Michelle Redekopp est associée au sein du cabinet MLT Aikins et pratique dans le domaine du droit des sociétés et du droit commercial. Elle a été admise au barreau en 1994 et a siégé à plusieurs conseils d'administration, dont celui du Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute, le Manitoba Chamber Small Business Committee et la Commission manitobaine des pensions (1997-1999).

Greg Gillis

Barbara Hanchard est responsable de la gestion et de l'administration des régimes d'assurance collective et de trois régimes de retraite de l'Université du Manitoba couvrant un total de 5 200 participants actifs. Elle est secrétaire du comité des avantages sociaux du personnel et du comité de retraite de l'Université. Avant de se joindre à l'Université en 1988, elle a travaillé pour une grande compagnie d'assurance-vie.

Kevin Harold a commencé sa carrière en 2007 à titre de conseiller et de cadre supérieur au sein d'une importante institution canadienne de services financiers. De 2012 à 2015, il a été vice-président du développement des affaires couvrant le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan pour deux des plus grandes firmes de courtage d'assurance au pays. En 2015, il a rejoint Crescent Financial Group en tant qu'associé directeur. Il est actif au sein de la communauté. Il a notamment été administrateur bénévole de la Guyanese Association of Manitoba, bénévole et maître de cérémonie pour Folklorama et membre du comité du Rady JCC Sports Dinner. Il siège actuellement au conseil d'administration d'Advocis (l'Association des conseillers en finances du Canada) à titre d'ancien président de la section de Winnipeg, ainsi qu'au conseil consultatif national de sa firme de courtage d'assurance représentant l'Ouest canadien.

Craig Sheldon comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CA), est vice-président exécutif, Finances et chef de la direction financière chez Richardson International. Il a siégé à divers conseils d'administration, dont ceux de la Fondation de recherche de l'hôpital Victoria, du Richmond Kings Community Centre et du Southwood Golf and Country Club.

Haut de page

OSPC: About Pension Legislation in MB

Pension Commission of Manitoba


The Pension Commission of Manitoba is an independent, decision-making body who hears appeals of orders of the Superintendent of Pensions. It also sets the rules that govern the hearing process. The commission also reviews applications for surplus refunds under the act and advises the Minister of Manitoba Finance on pension policy matters.

Commission Members

The commission has at least five and not more than nine members, including a chair and vice-chair. Commission members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. The commission has exclusive authority to exercise the powers conferred under The Act.

The Commission

Commission members

Chair: Tim McGorman has 30 years of experience as a consultant and actuary and is responsible for actuarial and investment consulting in all types of pension and other retirement programs. Tim was appointed to the Manitoba Pension Commission in 2010 and currently serves as the Chair of the Manitoba Pension Commission. Tim is a member of CFA Society Winnipeg and is the Chair of the Prairie Regional Council of the Association of Canadian Pension Management (ACPM). He is a past member of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) Pension Plan Financial Reporting Committee (PPFRC) and currently serves on the Designated Group that is reviewing the CIA's Commuted Value Standards of Practice. Tim Graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons.) degree and is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, and has also obtained the Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Vice-Chair: Michelle Redekopp is a partner with MLT Aikins practising in the area of corporate and commercial law. She was called to the bar in 1994 and has served on several boards including the Mennonite Brethren Collegiate Institute Board of Directors, the Manitoba Chamber Small Business Committee and the Pension Commission of Manitoba (1997-1999).

Greg Gillis provides family and business wealth management and financial planning services at Lawton Partners Wealth Management Ltd. as well as actuarial and pension consulting services through Lawton Partners Pension & Actuarial Services Ltd. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and the Society of Actuaries, and holds the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation. Prior to joining Lawton Partners in 2004, Greg was a vice president with a global actuarial and benefits consulting firm, where he provided pension, actuarial, and investment services to organizations of all sizes.

Barbara Hanchard is responsible for the management and administration of the University of Manitoba's group insurance plans and three pension plans covering a total of 5,200 active members. She is secretary to the University Pension Committee and Staff Benefits Committee. Before joining the University in 1988, Barbara worked for a major life insurance company.

Kevin Harold started his career in 2007 as an advisor and senior manager with a leading Canadian financial services institution. From 2012 to 2015 he was vice-president of business development covering Manitoba and Saskatchewan for two of the largest insurance brokerage firms in the country. In 2015, he joined Crescent Financial Group as a Managing Partner. He is an active member of the community. His volunteer experience includes serving as a director of the Guyanese Association of Manitoba, a Folklorama volunteer/emcee, and a member of the Rady JCC Sports Dinner committee. He currently sits on the Advocis (the Financial Advisors Association of Canada) board as Past President of the Winnipeg chapter, as well as on the National Advisory Council of his insurance brokerage firm representing Western Canada.

Craig Sheldon CPA, CA is the Executive Vice President, Finance & Chief Financial Officer at Richardson International. He has served on various boards including the Victoria General Hospital Foundation, Richmond Kings Community Centre and Southwood Golf and Country Club.

Top of page