House Sitting Information

Le Palais législatif du Manitoba

Members of the Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly is composed of 57 Members, each elected in a riding under the single-member constituency plurality system. The Elections Act was amended in 2008 to provide a fixed date for provincial general elections. On September 5, 2023, the Forty-Second Legislative Assembly was dissolved and a provincial election called for Tuesday, October 3, 2023.

Candidates who are elected to the Legislative Assembly remain Members-elect until their election is certified pursuant to the provisions of The Elections Act.  The seventh day after a candidate is declared elected, the returning officer must certify which candidate has been elected on the back of the writ of election and return it to the Chief Electoral Officer.

Upon receiving the return of the writ, Chief Electoral Officer must provide the Clerk of the Assembly with the name of the elected candidate.  Members may then be sworn in and may take their seats in the House.

At dissolution on September 5, 2023, the standings in the House were:

Number of Members
PC - Progressive Conservative Party
NDP - New Democratic Party
LIB - Liberal Party
Total Ridings

For information on the election please go to Elections Manitoba:

General Info

Sitting periods
The House may meet at any time during the following sitting periods, except during the Spring Sittings when the House must begin to meet on the first Wednesday in March:

November Sittings
From Tuesday following the Remembrance Day week to the first Thursday in December.

Spring Sittings
From the first Wednesday in March to the first sitting day in June.

Fall Sittings
From the first Wednesday in October to Thursday of the week prior to the Remembrance Day Week.

Private Members' Hour is held from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Schedule of Hours

Monday 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon*
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon*
1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Friday 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.**

* Except during Throne Speech and Budget Debates.

** Only during Throne Speech, Budget Debates and Committee of Supply.