Whitemud Watershed District

Back to Watershed Districts

The Whitemud Watershed District encompasses a 7,115 square km area between Riding Mountain National Park, Spruce Woods Provincial Park and the southern basin of Lake Manitoba. The member municipalities include Alonsa, Carberry, Elton, Glenella-Lansdowne, McCreary, Minto-Odanah, Neepawa, North Cypress-Langford, North Norfolk, Portage la Prairie, Rosedale, and Westlake-Gladstone.

The previous name of the Whitemud Watershed District was the Whitemud Watershed Conservation District, which was established in 1972. On January 1, 2020, through proclamation of the Watershed Districts Act, all of Manitoba’s 18 conservation districts transitioned to 14 new watershed districts, with boundaries based on watersheds.

The district completed the Whitemud River Integrated Watershed Management Plan in 2016 and is currently implementing the plan through a variety of programs and activities. Although the primary focus of the district is waterway maintenance of 1,760 km of drains and associated crossings, the district also delivers the following programs: surface water management (water retention, streambank stabilization, riparian area management, shale traps, ring dykes), soil conservation (shelterbelt planting, grassed waterways, forage seed assistance), pasture management (pipeline plow), groundwater protection (sealing abandoned wells), wildlife habitat protection (wetlands conservation, conservation corridors, wildlands conservation projects), and environmental education (Rosedale Farm, field trips, in-class presentations, Johnny Appleseed). 

Box 130, 41 Main Street East
Neepawa, Manitoba, R0J 1H0
204.476.5019 (P)
204.476.7094 (F)

Whitemud Watershed District Map