Health Professions Advisory Council

The Health Professions Advisory Council inquires into and advises the Minister on matters related to The Regulated Health Professions Act and the regulation of Manitoba's health professions, including referrals made by the Minister of applications for designation as a self-regulating profession under the Act.

Members of the Council are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. In formulating its advice to the Minister, the Council seeks information and comment from members of the public, stakeholders, health profession regulatory colleges and associations, and conducts research and engages person or organizations with technical and subject-matter expertise.

The members of the Council are:

  • Neil Duboff (chair) – a commercial law lawyer with Duboff Edwards Haight and Schachter of Winnipeg;
  • David Schellenberg – a professional social worker and community volunteer in Winnipeg;
  • Lynne Fineman – a registered social worker holding a masters degree in social work, with extensive experience in health and social services and patient advocacy
  • Bev Ann Murray – a consultant with broad experience gained in academia, direct service, and middle and senior management in the fields of health care and social services.
  • John Harvie – a partner with the law firm Myers Weinberg LLP, practising in the areas of administrative law, child protection, criminal litigation, civil litigation and Aboriginal law.