Manitoba Municipal Heritage Site No. 67

Knox Bellafield Presbyterian Church
SE 3-5-17 WPM
Ninette area

Knox Bellafield Presbyterian Church
Designation Date: August 15, 1991
Designation Authority: Riverside (R.M.)
Present Owner: The Trustees of the Presbyterian Congregation of Bellafield

Knox Bellafield Presbyterian Church, once known locally as the Gaelic Church, is a direct link to the Crofters, a group of settlers from the Western Isles of Scotland who came to the Pelican Lake area in 1888. They brought their Gaelic language and Presbyterian beliefs to a place they called Bellafield (Bella is Gaelic for “beautiful”) and by 1890 had erected a church from local fieldstone. Rebuilt of wood in 1906 incorporating the foundation and roof of its predecessor, the structure is a typical but charming example of a modest Gothic Revival-style rural church, one that is still used on special seasonal occasions.