Apprenticeship Manitoba Awards of Distinction
Each year, Apprenticeship Manitoba hosts the Apprenticeship Manitoba Awards of Distinction. Do you know a deserving employer, journeyperson and/or instructor, who has made an outstanding contribution to the apprenticeship training system and who has made a difference in the skilled trades in our province? We want to hear from you!
Nomination applications can be downloaded for the following categories:
                 ·        Instructor of the Year
                 ·        Employer of the Year
                 ·        Employer of the Year – Internationally Experienced Tradesperson
                 ·        Journeyperson of the Year
Nomination entry deadline for 2023: September 15, 2023
We are also inviting those who wish to be a sponsor of this event to pledge their support. Your sponsorship would be a great opportunity to increase your company’s recognition in the community and to show its commitment to raise the profile of a career within the skilled trades.
Sponsorship applications can be downloaded here.
Sponsorship entry deadline for 2023: September 22, 2023
Details on how to attend the 2023 event will be released at a future date.
Spread the word!”
                                                                                                                                                     May 5, 2023
Manitoba Government Honours
Highest-Achieving New Journeypersons
- - -
Ceremony Recognizes Employers, Skilled Apprentices
Fuelling Manitoba's Economic Growth: Guillemard
The Manitoba government is proud to recognize the hard work and dedication of the highest-achieving new journeypersons, along with the employers who mentored them, Advanced Education and Training Minister Sarah Guillemard announced last night at the Legislative Building during the 31st annual Apprenticeship Highest Achievement Awards ceremony.
“It was a privilege to honour the exemplary achievements of new journeypersons and recognize the ongoing dedication of the employers who supported their learning. Their vital role in meeting skilled labour market demand contributes to the success of Manitoba’s economic growth,” said Guillemard. “Without the commitment of apprentices and employers, we would not have the energetic and prospering apprenticeship system that we have today.”
The ceremony recognized 38 newly certified journeypersons who were the highest-achieving graduates in their respective trades, as determined by on-the-job performance and academic accomplishments.
Three additional awards honoured the highest-achieving individuals who became journeypersons through the trades qualification stream. Gerred Gooch, a concrete finisher, and Lucas Ridley, a partsperson, received the Ron Krishka Memorial Award for their exemplary achievement on the certification exam. Duke Xie, a construction electrician, received the Internationally Experienced Tradesperson Award.
“We believe it is important to maintain the tradition of celebrating our highest-achieving new journeypersons for the dedication and effort that they have maintained in their respective trades,” said Harvey Miller, board chair, Apprenticeship and Certification Board. “Thank you to all of the employers, mentors and parents for your support of apprentices as they work through their trades programs, through in-class learning, skilled technical training and personal growth.”
Apprenticeship is a work-based post-secondary training program that leads to a certificate of qualification in a skilled trade, noted the minister, adding that Apprenticeship Manitoba offers certification in 55 apprentice trades.
For more information, visit http//
- 30 –


·        Agricultural Equipment Technician: Theo Bosc
·        Aircraft Maintenance Journeyperson: Nash Tavares
·        Automotive Painter: Jacob Doerksen
·        Automotive Service Technician: Zachary Giesbrecht
·        Automotive Service Technician (ASEP): Rory Jackson
·        Automotive Service Technician (ASSET): Josh Stanley
·        Boilermaker: Sean Kolomaya
·        Bricklayer: Jason Friesen
·        Cabinetmaker: Kris Nissen
·        Carpenter: Aaron Loeppky
·        Construction Electrician: Philipp Kister
·        Cook: Alex Klassen
·        Domestic Gasfitter: Blake Bergen
·        Esthetician: Danielle Fleury
·        Esthetician Nail Technician: Devin Pointon-Reico
·        Esthetician Skin Care Technician: Phi Quynh Nguyen
·        Gasfitter: David Doerksen
·        Hairstylist: Patricia Trandafir
·        Heavy Duty Equipment Technician: Philip McMurchy
·        Industrial Electrician: Tyler Hunt
·        Industrial Mechanic (Millwright): Brett Pederson
·        Instrumentation and Control Technician: Rowen Kowk
·        Ironworker (Generalist): Graham McCoomb
·        Landscape Horticulturalist: Crystal Stykalo
·        Lather (Interior Systems Mechanic): Riley Peter Melnyk
·        Machinist: Simrandeep Mandal
·        Marine and Outdoor Power Equipment Technician: Stefan Koenig
·        Mobile Crane Operator: Ben Poersch
·        Motor Vehicle Body Repairer (Metal and Paint): Trevor Marshall
·        Plumber: Ian Lodewyks